Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:33:25 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: to crossfire or not to crossfire  (Read 1773 times)
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 01:53:30 PM
 #1

Is it better to run two 5830's in crossfire mode or individually?
1480912405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912405
Reply with quote  #2

1480912405
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480912405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912405
Reply with quote  #2

1480912405
Report to moderator
1480912405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912405
Reply with quote  #2

1480912405
Report to moderator
1480912405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912405
Reply with quote  #2

1480912405
Report to moderator
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 01:54:45 PM
 #2

Individually.

Trini8ed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375


<3 Bitcoins


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 02:44:37 PM
 #3

Don't do crossfire bottlenecks the cards and if you have issues with windows make a vga dummy plug which all you need is a dvi to vga and a couple of resisters to get it working and it makes windows see the card.

http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html


Everyone Loves Donations: 1PEVhtmnBqiN8rYXLHhtUWAB6q9X63Zm9D
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Trini8ed
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 02:14:41 AM
 #4

Don't do crossfire bottlenecks the cards and if you have issues with windows make a vga dummy plug which all you need is a dvi to vga and a couple of resisters to get it working and it makes windows see the card.

http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html



Yeah, just found out about that last night. I think CCC 11.7 doesn't need dummies though. May try that. I have a 4870 and 5830 in there now. Eventually I'll get 2x5830's. Cheesy
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 02:44:49 AM
 #5

can you confirm in 11.7 indeed no longer needs dummy plugs?

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 05:43:10 AM
 #6

can you confirm in 11.7 indeed no longer needs dummy plugs?

Worked on all of my multi-gpu rigs. No more hassle with monitor cables and dummies.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 02:19:02 AM
 #7

I see a lot of respectable rigs all using crossfire. I'm currently using 2x5830's right now at 307mh/s a piece. I can't imagine beating that just by using crossfire but wanted to check anyway.
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 05:36:30 AM
 #8

can you confirm in 11.7 indeed no longer needs dummy plugs?

Worked on all of my multi-gpu rigs. No more hassle with monitor cables and dummies.

I just put a 5th card in my rigs last night with 11.7 and I also did not need the dummy plugs...OC through AOCLBF.  I read somewhere that you could not software OC without the dummys but it seems to be working for me.
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 02:21:24 PM
 #9

can you confirm in 11.7 indeed no longer needs dummy plugs?

Worked on all of my multi-gpu rigs. No more hassle with monitor cables and dummies.

I just put a 5th card in my rigs last night with 11.7 and I also did not need the dummy plugs...OC through AOCLBF.  I read somewhere that you could not software OC without the dummys but it seems to be working for me.


No doubt, that's working fine for me too. I'm just thinking about trying crossfire to see if I can exceed 614mh/s. I don't think I will but wanted to get opinions.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 07:44:39 PM
 #10

No doubt, that's working fine for me too. I'm just thinking about trying crossfire to see if I can exceed 614mh/s. I don't think I will but wanted to get opinions.

I'm not sure what you're reading, but everything that I've seen shows crossfire hurts performance.  Miners using crossfire are either leaving value on the table, or they're also using their rigs for gaming where crossfire is worthwhile.

Your cards will hash faster isolated.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 05:19:05 AM
 #11

No doubt, that's working fine for me too. I'm just thinking about trying crossfire to see if I can exceed 614mh/s. I don't think I will but wanted to get opinions.

I'm not sure what you're reading, but everything that I've seen shows crossfire hurts performance.  Miners using crossfire are either leaving value on the table, or they're also using their rigs for gaming where crossfire is worthwhile.

Your cards will hash faster isolated.

Sounds good. I've just seen a lot of high performance rigs selling WITH crossfire cables on. (ie looking at the photos)

mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
August 06, 2011, 11:32:37 PM
 #12

Just added a second 5830 to my gaming/miner rig. In CrossFireX running Linuxcoin, 900/300 overclock the primary card has a stable 312 MH/s rate and the secondary card fluctuates from 310 MH/s down to 280 MH/s and back up again. So I see what is meant by losing efficiency. Games nice though.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
August 07, 2011, 02:04:29 AM
 #13

I don't want to use dummy plugs since I lose 3-5 MH/s per dummy plug, so I crossfired a pair of 5770's yesterday.  Now, I can access both DEVICE=0 and DEVICE=1 with no monitors attached (TightVNC), and the pair are hashing along at 220 MH/s each. 

I don't see any wasted performance ... ?

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
RandyFolds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
August 07, 2011, 10:19:42 PM
 #14

I don't want to use dummy plugs since I lose 3-5 MH/s per dummy plug, so I crossfired a pair of 5770's yesterday.  Now, I can access both DEVICE=0 and DEVICE=1 with no monitors attached (TightVNC), and the pair are hashing along at 220 MH/s each. 

I don't see any wasted performance ... ?

I run 3x6970 crossfired with no performance issues. Better than dicking with two non-existant monitors.

▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓ ONEDICE.ME ▓▓▓▓▓ BEST DICE EXPERIENCE ▓▓▓▓ PLAY OR INVEST ▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
August 08, 2011, 04:35:45 PM
 #15

Since I use TightVNC I have never had to "dick with monitor settings", on my other rigs I just walk into the room and physically plug a monitor into the card I want to spin up, then go back to my PC and remotely start the mining shortcut (I've been using shortcuts lately instead of batch files), then go back to the rig and swap the monitor to the next card, and so on.

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!