Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2018, 01:59:57 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to make rig connect to Wi-Fi in case Ethernet fails?  (Read 83 times)
chuckspadina
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 09, 2018, 10:41:06 AM
 #1

I live in a place with 2 wireless routers, 1 of which I have connected my rig directly through Ethernet.

However, sometimes the Ethernet (or the router that provides the connection) dies... and yet, my rig doesn't seem to automatically switch to the available wi-fi connection...

Does anyone know what I can do about this?
1537927197
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537927197

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537927197
Reply with quote  #2

1537927197
Report to moderator
1537927197
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537927197

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537927197
Reply with quote  #2

1537927197
Report to moderator
1537927197
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537927197

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537927197
Reply with quote  #2

1537927197
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537927197
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537927197

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537927197
Reply with quote  #2

1537927197
Report to moderator
1537927197
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537927197

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537927197
Reply with quote  #2

1537927197
Report to moderator
1537927197
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537927197

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537927197
Reply with quote  #2

1537927197
Report to moderator
score1more
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 09, 2018, 01:43:06 PM
 #2

So you have an ethernet bridge between two wifi routers, with a direct, cabled ethernet connection to your miner to the remote side of the bridge.  And you want your miner to connect to the wifi (far side of the bridge) if the bridge goes down?  What kind of miner is this?  You'd probably have to run a scheduled script or have both connections active at the same time.

My recommendation is to always home run a cable to devices that are critical.  Wifi, while it can be reliable, will always have more interference/trouble than a properly cabled connection.
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
January 09, 2018, 05:10:15 PM
 #3

With a proper hard wired network setup you should never have these problems. You should eliminate wifi from your any place between your internet connection and your miner. Antminers will not fail over network connections and also does not support wifi with any onboard hardware.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Scrappy Do
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 10, 2018, 02:36:00 AM
 #4

With a proper hard wired network setup you should never have these problems. You should eliminate wifi from your any place between your internet connection and your miner. Antminers will not fail over network connections and also does not support wifi with any onboard hardware.

 Exactly. You need 1 router that can do the fail-over for you. A good cheap start is the Fortigate 90D. Not sure how big your network is of course, They have much larger if needed.

Scrap'
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!