Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:16:40 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Adjusting voltage with aticonfig for Sapphire 5850 Xtreme works, but!  (Read 4387 times)
BenD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 12:12:33 AM
 #1

Hi @ all.

I just noticed that adjusting the voltage of a Sapphire 5850 Xtreme seems to work correctly with aticonfig. This is what Windows-users without crossfire-bridge dream of.
How I noticed? I use a saved overdrive-profile
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="2" gpu="95000" mem="30000" voltage="1088"/>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="1" gpu="55000" mem="90000" voltage="1038"/>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="0" gpu="15700" mem="30000" voltage="950"/>
  <FAN_SETTING percentage="75"/>
  <FAN_CTRL enabled="no"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_CURVE type="0"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="0" temperature="2000" percentage="0"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="1" temperature="4000" percentage="2500"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="2" temperature="6000" percentage="5000"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="3" temperature="8000" percentage="7500"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="4" temperature="10000" percentage="10000"/>
  <MONITOR_SAMPLE_TIME interval="10"/>
  <COLOR_PROFILE enabled="no" longitude="-13,500000" latitude="52,500000" color_temp_day="6500" color_temp_night="4000" transition="30"/>
  <POWERTUNE percentage="0"/>
</OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>
and played with gpu and mem, because I don't like the GUI. The standard voltage in Performance Level 2 is 1088 (=1.088 V). When I have it like this, while mining, the rig will consume 454 W/h. With these settings, the 1st card gets 75.5 °C, the 2nd card gets 78°C.
Even the slightest change of the voltage, e.g. to 1094 will cause a heavy increase of consumed power: 515 W/h! Card temperatures rise to 78.5 °C and 83 °C.

Maybe someone is interested how this profile is executed. Save the profile as overdrive_settings.ovdr (or else). Create a bash-script named overdrive.sh and put in
Code:
#!/bin/bash
export DISPLAY=:0.0
aticonfig --od-enable
AMDOverdriveCtrl -b -i 0 overdrive_settings.ovdr
AMDOverdriveCtrl -b -i 3 overdrive_settings.ovdr
And run a chmod +x overdrive.sh - voilá. This is not new, found it somewhere in the forum. Interface numbers may vary for you - to check, run export DISPLAY=:0.0 (or what is right for you) and AMDOverdriveCtrl. It will show you which adapters are active.

But I think this is the proof, that voltage adjust works in linux. However increasing consumed watts and heat a lot.

Btw. I am using Linuxcoin 0.2a at this time with smartcoin r370. Combined hashrate with the settings above is between 815 and 940 MHash/s. Average is 860 MHash/s. Just noticed this is wrong. Smartcoin added 2 miners per GPU, the hanging calculation stretched the measured time and so it showed more than it actually hashed at. Configured it correctly now, getting 782,5 MHash/s. Not fluctuating this much anymore. This is still very good at these clockings and stock voltage. Compare the Table.

Good luck.
1481325400
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325400

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325400
Reply with quote  #2

1481325400
Report to moderator
1481325400
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325400

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325400
Reply with quote  #2

1481325400
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481325400
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325400

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325400
Reply with quote  #2

1481325400
Report to moderator
1481325400
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325400

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325400
Reply with quote  #2

1481325400
Report to moderator
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 12:19:16 AM
 #2

Quote
while mining, the rig will consume 454 W/h. With these settings, the 1st card gets 75.5 °C, the 2nd card gets 78°C.
Even the slightest change of the voltage, e.g. to 1094 will cause a heavy increase of consumed power: 515 W/h!
Voltage adjustments upwards increase energy consumption in an exponential scale.

I'm trying to tell this to people volting their cards to 1.2v (your power consumption will go up about 150-200 watts & you will gain maybe 30 mhash more) but nobody seems to care or they get 'free' energy.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!