Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:25:32 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running a 5850 on a 400W PSU? POP!  (Read 2075 times)
Matthew N. Wright
Untrustworthy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Hero VIP ultra official trusted super staff puppet


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 07:53:12 AM
 #1

My power supply popped!

EDIT: I changed it out to an 800W PSU and the 5850 runs fine now.

1481019932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019932
Reply with quote  #2

1481019932
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481019932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019932
Reply with quote  #2

1481019932
Report to moderator
1481019932
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019932

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019932
Reply with quote  #2

1481019932
Report to moderator
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 08:39:52 AM
 #2

Well it's supposed to get hot. My 850w in my gaming computer (not mining) get's that hot too while gaming so it's normal.

Get a new psu Cheesy

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 09:45:00 AM
 #3

Well it's supposed to get hot. My 850w in my gaming computer (not mining) get's that hot too while gaming so it's normal.

Get a new psu Cheesy

I'm dumb. The instructions were in another language so I just winged it, skipping over the section about needing a 500W+ power supply as a minimum. ^_^;;;

It's a recommendation for the whole system. A 5850 consumes ~175 watts at full load and about 200 OC'ed.

Even a 6990 doesn't consume 500+ watts. (In fact only 375 at stock)

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
SmokeAndMirrors
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 12:13:04 PM
 #4

Well it's supposed to get hot. My 850w in my gaming computer (not mining) get's that hot too while gaming so it's normal.

Get a new psu Cheesy

I'm dumb. The instructions were in another language so I just winged it, skipping over the section about needing a 500W+ power supply as a minimum. ^_^;;;

It's a recommendation for the whole system. A 5850 consumes ~175 watts at full load and about 200 OC'ed.

Even a 6990 doesn't consume 500+ watts. (In fact only 375 at stock)

don't forget, 6990's are dual gpu cards. Running a 6990 with a 500 watt PSU is a terribly bad idea. Unless of course, you plan to just surf the webs with it.

Help Bitcoins by buying clothes, technology, books, etc. through people/stores that accept BTC. This will increase overall value of BTC as well as mitigate unnecessary bank transaction fees.

My address -
1EM9HGg1SEa5Bux1rVEPxGqGSfNTTc9EkC
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 12:24:15 PM
 #5

Yes, because the processor, HDD and RAM take some power too.
A 500W psu would be constantly pushed to the max on such a system.

p.s. The motherboard draws 75W for all graphics cards the rest come from 6-8 pin cables

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 05:28:32 PM
 #6

Newegg has a Wattage calculator here. I'm not sure how good it is - haven't used it myself.

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 06:46:25 PM
 #7

Don't rely on power calculators that much though...if you google computer wattage calculator and put in the same things for all of them, you will get different answers for all of them.

Best thing to do is to use a wattage meter and plug your computer into it. If not, add up the recommended wattage of gpu + cpu and then some for headroom, hdds, fans, etc.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
SmokeAndMirrors
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 07:52:13 PM
 #8

800W presently would be more than enough to run a 6990 and everything else without problems. With lesser GPU's you can even manage to fit 2 or 3 cards with an 800W PSU.

By the way, I don't know where you're seeing $300 for an 800W PSU, but I'd be willing to send you an 800W PSU. I'm able to get them as cheap as $130.

Help Bitcoins by buying clothes, technology, books, etc. through people/stores that accept BTC. This will increase overall value of BTC as well as mitigate unnecessary bank transaction fees.

My address -
1EM9HGg1SEa5Bux1rVEPxGqGSfNTTc9EkC
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 08:55:29 PM
 #9

800W presently would be more than enough to run a 6990 and everything else without problems. With lesser GPU's you can even manage to fit 2 or 3 cards with an 800W PSU.

By the way, I don't know where you're seeing $300 for an 800W PSU, but I'd gladly buy a top of the line one for you with and pay for the shipping for $250.

This is Korea. There is an embargo here on computers and parts from overseas as Samsung prefers not to have competition. This means that Samsung products are low quality, normal cost, but anything high quality is obscene. My iPhone was $1,000.


The embargo exists, and it's the reason why DELL and other manufacturers refuse to ship to Korea-- but you can still get away with sending parts. It's one of those barely enforced laws.
samsung makes power supplies?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 10:12:30 PM
 #10

Seasonic has factories in South Korea and sells PSU's there.

It's considered the best PSU brand among Corsair, Silverstone and Enermax.
You pay a price premium but you get a (for all practical purposes) everlasting PSU with the best possible components, japanese solid capacitors, 99.9% pure oxide-free copper coils, ferrite chokes etc.

Never look only at wattage. A 1200W PSU that costs $70 bucks and is made by some noname is guaranteed to be crappy.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 10:40:56 PM
 #11

You pay a price premium but you get a (for all practical purposes) everlasting PSU with the best possible components, japanese solid capacitors, 99.9% pure oxide-free copper coils, ferrite chokes etc.
sounds like monster cable

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
natman3400
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98

firstbits: 1nathana


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 05:58:27 PM
 #12

You pay a price premium but you get a (for all practical purposes) everlasting PSU with the best possible components, japanese solid capacitors, 99.9% pure oxide-free copper coils, ferrite chokes etc.
sounds like monster cable

Except for wall installations, monster cable is the way to go always.

Unless your dealing with anything digital.
Monster rips people off by making them think the quality of a digital signal can be effected by the cable.
Its digital, it either works perfectly, or not at all.
The difference in the power supply is that these things actually provide smoother power, abet this will only matter if your over-clocking or something, or want an insanely long life out of it.

Support the BitClip project:
http://bit.ly/vghQFK
Donate to bitclip: 1BCincd4sHM1ou5QcxZ4vc4hKzsxXCpQT
Dontate to me: 1NathanAubdutd4kW4VwfcEXEWvgkqEq7V
PGP key 1: http://goo.gl/TUIWe
PGP key 2: http://goo.gl/jrfaI
Proof both keys belong to me: http://goo.gl/dQSHl
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 11, 2011, 08:10:57 PM
 #13

Except for wall installations, monster cable is the way to go always.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!