Bitcoin Forum
May 12, 2024, 01:07:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Account names encoding  (Read 1345 times)
tcatm (OP)
Sr. Member
****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 337
Merit: 265


View Profile
January 11, 2011, 04:05:05 AM
 #1

It seems like the RPC interface can't handle account names with non-ASCII characters properly. Copy&paste form listaccount to getaccountaddress will create a new account with yet another name.

Can we restrict accountnames to a limited charset (like [a-zA-Z0-9\-_]) or add UTF-8 support?
1715519225
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715519225

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715519225
Reply with quote  #2

1715519225
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715519225
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715519225

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715519225
Reply with quote  #2

1715519225
Report to moderator
grondilu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1076


View Profile
January 11, 2011, 04:22:06 AM
 #2

I don't use accounts much, but UTF-8 would be cool indeed.   (utf-8 is actually always cool)

davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1007


1davout


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2011, 08:17:33 AM
 #3

I don't use accounts much, but UTF-8 would be cool indeed.   (utf-8 is actually always cool)
It also needs more cowbell

Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 2216


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2011, 03:22:43 PM
Last edit: January 11, 2011, 03:33:42 PM by gavinandresen
 #4

Character set issues give me headaches.

So I just ran a test at the command-line, moving 500 testnet bitcoins to an account named "฿"

The account created is named "\u00E0\u00B8\u00BF", which is not what I intended.  E0 B8 BF is the utf-8 representation of the unicode Thai Baht character.

Thinking this through, trying hard not to get a headache...

My terminal window has:  LC_CTYPE=en_US.UTF-8
So when I copy&paste the Thai baht symbol, it is being encoded as UTF-8.

I pass a UTF-8 string to bitcoind, and it uses the JSON-Spirit library to convert it into a JSON string (which is defined to be Unicode... encoded using backslashes, I think: see http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc4627.txt ).  And there's the bug.  Maybe.  I think?

Command-line bitcoind should be looking at the locale and converting JSON strings to/from that locale.  Anybody motivated enough about internationalized account names (and send comments) to teach it to do that?

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
marcusaurelius
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 11, 2011, 08:42:01 PM
 #5

that is something opaque to john user with the mainline client, right? if not, please point me in the right direction.
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 2216


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2011, 09:25:56 PM
 #6

RE: point you in the right direction:

File rpc.cpp, the CommandLineRPC method:

I suspect what needs to be done is to properly JSON encode any strings passed via the command line.

And then properly decode/recode any strings returned from the JSON RCP call before printing out the result.

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
tcatm (OP)
Sr. Member
****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 337
Merit: 265


View Profile
January 11, 2011, 09:35:13 PM
 #7

It's probably not only the CommandLineRPC method that causes problems. UTF-8 account names created from js-remote are wrong, too.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!