Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:32:45 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dual GPUS, 100% CPU Usage. Windows Only Problem?  (Read 1598 times)
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 09:49:38 AM
 #1

So I've got a couple dual gpu 5970/6990 on the way and I'm wondering if the 100% cpu mining bug is a Windows only problem?
I'm planning to use Ubuntu again for this box and hopefully not fry this poor Sempron.

1481121165
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121165

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121165
Reply with quote  #2

1481121165
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481121165
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121165

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121165
Reply with quote  #2

1481121165
Report to moderator
teukon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 10:16:01 AM
 #2

I don't know so can only provide some data points:

I'm running Linux.  I've never been able to get the CPU to show more than 2% from the mining software, no matter what version of Catalyst or SDK, which miners, kernels, or settings.

A friend of mine is mining in Windows and about 50% of his core i3 processor is in use while mining with a single 6990.  He's not tried to reduce the CPU usage.
haydent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 02:50:15 AM
 #3

i have started a thread at amd dev forum - opencl section about the 100% cpu usage bug with >1 gpu installed. feel free to jump over there and post your support for this issue being addressed...

http://forums.amd.com/devforum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=153211&enterthread=y

2x Gigabyte 6950 OC @ 920/450 w/ ati tray tools (1 shader modded) - 760Mhs on ozco.in 0% fee aus pool
btc: 1HS5Brzcsh7XkJn566XYbvfpa2JuBRBdss
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 01:37:10 PM
 #4

Sorry, I totally forgot about this thread.
Well my gpu's came and I have the rig all setup running ubuntu with 6990's using 11.5 drivers and so far I haven't experienced the 100% cpu bug so I assume its a windows only thing at this point.

MelMan2002
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 03:16:49 PM
 #5

I have seen 100% cpu on ubuntu using 2 gpus - but ONLY when I changed to 11.7 drivers.  I reverted back to 11.6 and things work great again.
teukon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile
August 13, 2011, 09:22:46 AM
 #6

I can confirm this.  The 11.7 drivers caused my system to be come very slow and almost unresponsive.  I went back to 11.6 at once.

11.6 seems to be best for me on Linux because of the extra overclocking potential.

For Windows I gather that 11.4 and 11.7 rule the roost but I believe they all suffer the 100% cpu bug.
sunny day
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 07:15:10 PM
 #7

i get 100% load on my sempron 140 when my miner locks up. im running cgminer 1.5.3 on linux but if its running normally its only about 5%
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 11:17:53 PM
 #8

It's not just a dual GPU problem. Single GPU systems can have the same problem.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!