Bitcoin Forum
November 16, 2018, 03:12:30 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 1200W PSU  (Read 2804 times)
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:31:46 AM
 #21

Nice move. PSUs are even more efficient at 240V  Smiley

Don't get me wrong... I'm running my PSU's at 120V still Sad

But I'll probably move them to 240V circuits once I think it's time to do so.  But definitely, running a PSU at 240V is more efficient and probably less wasted 'heat'.

Cheers,
Kermee
1542381150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542381150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542381150
Reply with quote  #2

1542381150
Report to moderator
1542381150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542381150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542381150
Reply with quote  #2

1542381150
Report to moderator
1542381150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542381150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542381150
Reply with quote  #2

1542381150
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542381150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542381150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542381150
Reply with quote  #2

1542381150
Report to moderator
kloinko1n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 12:30:35 PM
 #22

Nice move. PSUs are even more efficient at 240V  Smiley
If meant in general I doubt the validity of this statement.

DAEX ◄► RELIABLE CLEARING ECOSYSTEM ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ANNWHITEPAPERBOUNTY 
kokojie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:43:45 PM
 #23

You guys in the USA have pretty low rated installations.

This is why we hate 120V Wink

I could of easily run 240V (double-pole) 30A circuits from my breaker but instead I did the equivalent of three 120V (single-pole) 20A circuits that a single 240V 30A circuit would of handled with the same gauge wiring. -- I basically put in nine 120V 20A circuits in the end in which I could of just done three 240V 30A circuits.  For a total of 21.6kW-rated, or 17.28kW @ 80% capacity. (Homes in my area have 200A service).

We get 240V delivered to our homes in the U.S., but U.S. consumer products requiring power are generally 120V.  Generally only large appliances in the U.S. (e.g. clothes dryers) run off 240V.

I was going to run all the mining rig's PSU's at 240V, but decided against it knowing the sooner or later, unless I change the outlet type to something other than standard NEMA 5-15P, I'd end up plugging in a 120V-only device into 240V and instantly fry it... Ended up being more cost effective to just buy the extra Romex and 20A breakers at $2.96 USD a piece then changing out all the AC plugs to 240V plugs.

Cheers,
Kermee

"could have" or "could've"
"would have" or "would've"

btc: 15sFnThw58hiGHYXyUAasgfauifTEB1ZF6
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!