Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 03:10:37 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: My HitBTC account give me a wrong ETH deposit address  (Read 36 times)
adesmedt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2018, 10:54:30 AM
 #1

Hi Peeps,

I'm new here so first of all i would like to say Hi to everyone Wink

I actually have a little problem and i hope you guys can help me or guide me to a solution.

Yesterday i did some transfers from my Bitstamp account to my HitBTC account so i went to my hitbtc account page and copied my ETH address, i pasted it in bitstamp got a confirmation mail accepted and done, this is the TXid https://etherscan.io/tx/0xf350b452d75099c5d791a8b11a2df9244dfd70c34363496f90125f4f6786d416, after 30min i saw that the TxReceipt said "Success" so i assumed that my 1.03 ETH arrived on my HitBTC address but NOTHING, so i did a refresh and still nothing, i checked my ETH deposit address again and realised it was not the same anymore .. in first it seems like i had 0x5af929f48537d667d95a8bc8c110430cb0b594fb and after 30min and refresh i now have 0xfb068043db28c7ff3692ee661a67d16baae005d2 as ETH deposit address... So i decided to check all my public addresses on my HitBTC account to make sure i accidentally did not copied another address, but nothing.

I have no idea where this address came from, i also checked my browsing historic and nothing.

I found this on the web https://medium.com/bitclave/how-we-sent-eth-to-the-wrong-address-and-successfully-recovered-them-2fc18e09d8f6 not sure if this can help to recover ?

Thanks for helping
1539875437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539875437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539875437
Reply with quote  #2

1539875437
Report to moderator
1539875437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539875437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539875437
Reply with quote  #2

1539875437
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539875437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539875437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539875437
Reply with quote  #2

1539875437
Report to moderator
crairezx20
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1021


Hashino Bitcoin


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2018, 12:50:38 PM
 #2

Are you using antivirus in your computer or devices maybe your pc is infected by viruses or any malware activity happen to your devices..
I heard viruses that can auto paste other address when you are copy paste the address from other so i think your machine is infected.. if not the other possibility this is glitch or bug in hitbtc which is i heard few days ago that there are lots of hitbtc customers having  different problem..
The only thing you can do right now is to contact their support and give your proof to them. .

███           ▄▄▄                          ███
███           ███    ▄█                    ███
███ ▄▄▄▄▄▄          ▄██▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄▄     ███        ▄██▄    ▄▄▄         ▄▄▄
███████████▄  ███ ▐████████  ██▄███████▄   ███       ██████    ███       ███▀
███▀    ▀███▌ ███   ███      ███▀    ▀███  ███      ████████    ███     ███▀
███      ▐██▌ ███   ███      ███      ███  ███     ██▀    ▀██    ███   ███▀
███      ▐██▌ ███   ███      ███      ███  ███    ███      ███    ███ ███▀
███▄    ▄███▌ ███   ███▄     ███▄    ▄███  ███   ████▄    ▄████    █████▀
███████████▀  ███   ▀██████  ███████████▀  ███  ████████████████    ███▀
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀    ▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀▀  ███ ▀▀▀▀▀▀    ▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    ███▀
                             ███       ▄▄▄ ▄   ▄  ▄ ▄▄▄          ▄███▀
                             ███      █    █   █  █ █▄▄▀      █████▀
                             ▀▀▀      ▀▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▀▄▄▀ █▄▄█      ▀▀▀















❱❱
❰❰

adesmedt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2018, 03:08:53 PM
 #3

I believe it is more a glitch as i remember seeing this address on the screen, i remembered the 3 first and 2 last digits, also i am using a MAC so usually no much problems with this kind of malware as 99% of malware of this kind in on windows. I filled in a ticket on there website so w8ting now for there feedback.

Also having another deposit problem with OKex but there the the address seems to correspond.. i guess OKex has some problems to
legend018
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 02:46:37 AM
 #4

The first thing I thought of was the clipboard virus I head about. but, if you have MAC I think you could be safe with that.
Maybe look into if it's normal to generate new addresses.  That does make it confusing when your waiting for a transaction to go through. I think it will work out on the end for you. Probably on there side.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!