Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:23:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: External gpu?  (Read 3748 times)
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 03:35:30 AM
 #1

I realize nvidia cards don't do well for mining. That being said they do have an interesting "desktop super computer" that consists of several workstation cards in their own enclosure that can be connected to a host machine with a single interface card.
This is the quadro plex.
 http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadroplex.html
Does amd/ati make an equivalent or is there something generic that is capable of the same thing?

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481178209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178209
Reply with quote  #2

1481178209
Report to moderator
1481178209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178209
Reply with quote  #2

1481178209
Report to moderator
1481178209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178209
Reply with quote  #2

1481178209
Report to moderator
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 08:10:02 AM
 #2

Nope, AMD doesn't have anything similar to whole Quadroplex workstations.

While AMD lacks in distributed computing tasks and single/double-point precision compared to the insanely priced Tesla and Quadro cards, they do have excellent 3d-rendering cards like the FirePro. See the performance below.

http://tech.icrontic.com/files/2010/06/V8800_viewperf_ugnx.png

Neither series are viable for mining though. The Firepro series cards get from 250 to 300mhash/s but cost $1400 dollars.

An nVidia Tesla card can cost $20,000 and yield just a few hundred mhash, they aren't designed for mining.
Great for password cracking on the other hand
http://www.elcomsoft.com/edpr.html#formats

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
swivel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17

0.00000001 BTC at a time


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 08:25:12 AM
 #3

Build your own. You just need a PCI-e expansion chassis. Speaking of has any one used one of these http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/poweredge-c410x/pd

16qMYQq7G14zevVmUMuwF3jNFpka3WjMhQ
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 08:50:18 AM
 #4

Build your own. You just need a PCI-e expansion chassis. Speaking of has any one used one of these http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/poweredge-c410x/pd

That thing is awesome...I am always afraid of "call for pricing" though...makes me think if I have to ask I can't afford it.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 02:27:19 PM
 #5

That may be with a call but I'm afraid with dell on it I have to have a power edge server.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 03:45:49 PM
 #6

Would this possibly work? Looks like a separate PSU would be required.

http://www.buy.com/prod/startech-com-pci-express-to-4-slot-pci-expansion-system-pci-express/q/loc/101/205124277.html

or this with PSU:

http://www.cyclone.com/products/expansion_systems/index.php

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 04:26:51 PM
 #7

Build your own. You just need a PCI-e expansion chassis. Speaking of has any one used one of these http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/poweredge-c410x/pd

4 x 1400W hot-plug, high-efficiency power supplies
N + 1 power supply redundancy
Maximum draw of 3600W

17 amps at 208, 30 amps at 120
that'll make your lights dim

PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 12:13:52 AM
 #8

Looking at those the startech would on handle 2 double slot cards. the other is a bit more interesting however the prices of both seem to put them at a level where building an individual computer for each card would be more price efficent much less building a pc with a custom case risers and a motherboard with several pcie slots...
However it does look like that answers my question with possible not cost effective.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
neotrino
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 01:29:06 PM
 #9

Looking at those the startech would on handle 2 double slot cards. the other is a bit more interesting however the prices of both seem to put them at a level where building an individual computer for each card would be more price efficent much less building a pc with a custom case risers and a motherboard with several pcie slots...
However it does look like that answers my question with possible not cost effective.

Be aware of this:

StarTech.com's innovative PCI Express to PCI Expansion Chassis provides a quick and simple solution to I/O expandability on almost any PCI Express (PCIe) enabled system. Adding external PCI slots to a server/workstation or laptop, this cost-effective and time-saving method of simply adding additional PCI cards to a server/workstation or providing a platform to be able to swap PCI add-in cards between a mobile and desktop setup is the optimal method of maximizing the I/O capabilities of new or existing systems.

The external expansion chassis adds four PCI slots (32-bit/33MHz) to the host computer system, through a single PCI Express connection. Providing total bandwidth of up to 250MBps from the x1 PCIe host controller card, which allows the host computer to function as though the cards in the expansion chassis were connected directly to the motherboard.

For mobile applications, the Expansion Chassis can be connected to an ExpressCard enabled laptop using StarTech.com's ExpressCard connection cable (EC2PCI), which adds the same functionality offered by the Expansion Chassis to a laptop. This eliminates the expense and need of having to purchase different card adapters for the laptop. A dependable I/O expansion solution, the Expansion Chassis is backed by StarTech.com's 2-year warranty and free lifetime technical support.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:08:22 PM
 #10

Yes that model was pci. There is a pci express counterpart

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!