Bitcoin Forum
October 24, 2018, 06:26:17 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Confused due to conflicting platform interpretations of TX status  (Read 119 times)
slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 02:25:55 PM
 #1

I have an Airbitz wallet account that I've been trying to empty since Dec.17, 2017. I accidentally set the fee too low and it has been pending ever since. Block explorer does not list the transaction as being present, while blockchain.info shows it as being unconfirmed. The TX was never dropped and I have been told by people that it's due to the rebroadcasting of the transaction through Airbitz, but Airbitz support says they do not rebroadcast and it's up to be nodes to drop the TX uniformly.

I go to multiple accelerators and I think some of them are clogged or are scams, and I am weary of using them, but one that I wanted to use, Hoolio, doesn't even recognize that the TX is available to accelerate. It simply says that the TX has confirmed. I've also gotten 404 errors on viabtc.

I've reached out to people in PM as a last ditch effort, but I want to understand what the heck is going on with this? Here's the TX ID for review.
vvvv
1540362377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540362377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540362377
Reply with quote  #2

1540362377
Report to moderator
1540362377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540362377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540362377
Reply with quote  #2

1540362377
Report to moderator
1540362377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540362377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540362377
Reply with quote  #2

1540362377
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540362377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540362377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540362377
Reply with quote  #2

1540362377
Report to moderator
1540362377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540362377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540362377
Reply with quote  #2

1540362377
Report to moderator
1540362377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540362377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540362377
Reply with quote  #2

1540362377
Report to moderator
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1094

Somewhat inactive.


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2018, 02:39:49 PM
 #2

I have an Airbitz wallet account that I've been trying to empty since Dec.17, 2017. I accidentally set the fee too low and it has been pending ever since. Block explorer does not list the transaction as being present, while blockchain.info shows it as being unconfirmed. The TX was never dropped and I have been told by people that it's due to the rebroadcasting of the transaction through Airbitz, but Airbitz support says they do not rebroadcast and it's up to be nodes to drop the TX uniformly.
Each node operate independently so its not strange to see differing results. If you don't see it in most of the block explorer, then its probably just Blockchain.info not purging that transaction out. Everyone has different policy. Even if Airbitz don't rebroadcast the transactions, someone else might.
I go to multiple accelerators and I think some of them are clogged or are scams, and I am weary of using them, but one that I wanted to use, Hoolio, doesn't even recognize that the TX is available to accelerate. It simply says that the TX has confirmed. I've also gotten 404 errors on viabtc.

I've reached out to people in PM as a last ditch effort, but I want to understand what the heck is going on with this? Here's the TX ID for review.

f770112d5cd436bed5e279ce5122996dc6b2ea4089d03b5b7eee3bc0d34d4694
Most of the accelerators(especially paid) are scams or are just people submitting them to known accelerators. Can you extract your private key from Airbitz?

AdolfinWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 670



View Profile
January 16, 2018, 02:41:45 PM
 #3

I have an Airbitz wallet account that I've been trying to empty since Dec.17, 2017. I accidentally set the fee too low and it has been pending ever since. Block explorer does not list the transaction as being present, while blockchain.info shows it as being unconfirmed. The TX was never dropped and I have been told by people that it's due to the rebroadcasting of the transaction through Airbitz, but Airbitz support says they do not rebroadcast and it's up to be nodes to drop the TX uniformly.

I go to multiple accelerators and I think some of them are clogged or are scams, and I am weary of using them, but one that I wanted to use, Hoolio, doesn't even recognize that the TX is available to accelerate. It simply says that the TX has confirmed. I've also gotten 404 errors on viabtc.

I've reached out to people in PM as a last ditch effort, but I want to understand what the heck is going on with this? Here's the TX ID for review.

f770112d5cd436bed5e279ce5122996dc6b2ea4089d03b5b7eee3bc0d34d4694

TX ID seems to be dropped by most nodes. It is no longer available on https://btc.com/f770112d5cd436bed5e279ce5122996dc6b2ea4089d03b5b7eee3bc0d34d4694, https://chain.so/BTC?error=1 returns an error aswell.

I'd say that Airbitz's recrediting ( or rather how the system determines how you have balance..) system is bugged/not working. Not sure how their wallet works. Therefore i'd recommend you export your private keys out of your wallet[1], and import them in a wallet such as electrum[2]

[1] https://airbitz.co/go/faq/how-do-i-get-my-private-key/

[2] https://electrum.org/#home

Then once you're in electrum you should see your balance, and try to doublespend the original transaction maybe?


slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 02:44:59 PM
 #4

Thank you so much for the recommendations and explanations! I'm going to try those things now.
slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 17, 2018, 12:06:16 PM
 #5

Update: retrieved all my private keys, but I haven't tried to double spend yet since electrum is showing that my coins are available for me to use, so I think one of the previous responses indicating it may be an Airbitz app problem may be correct.

Thank you again for your help folks.
slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 02:10:40 PM
 #6

Ok, so I've moved all my coins to Electrum app through private key, and everything was fine and I was going to attempt a double spend to clear the previous tx attempt, but VERY SUDDENLY, Electrum is displaying that i am attempting to move the coins so i am facing the same problem as when I had my coins on Airbitz. It's indicating an unconfirmed transaction from Dec. 17 originally, only this time, my receiving address is finally indicating an unconfirmed tx.

It's almost as though the broadcast never worked in the first place (receiving address never picked up an unconfirmed tx) due to low fee...but now that the mempool is clearing up, it's rebroadcasting again?? Would this be the case? It's such an old tx though.
buwaytress
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 714


I bit, therefore I am


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 02:38:49 PM
 #7

Ok, so I've moved all my coins to Electrum app through private key, and everything was fine and I was going to attempt a double spend to clear the previous tx attempt, but VERY SUDDENLY, Electrum is displaying that i am attempting to move the coins so i am facing the same problem as when I had my coins on Airbitz. It's indicating an unconfirmed transaction from Dec. 17 originally, only this time, my receiving address is finally indicating an unconfirmed tx.

It's almost as though the broadcast never worked in the first place (receiving address never picked up an unconfirmed tx) due to low fee...but now that the mempool is clearing up, it's rebroadcasting again?? Would this be the case? It's such an old tx though.

I guess what happened was, like others said, only a few nodes had that transaction still - it is old. When you used Electrum, it synced, picked the tx up and rebroadcast (that's what happens when your Electrum client is connected to the network). As long as you keep it connected, it keeps rebroadcasting.

The earlier broadcast worked, that's why the tx is in the mempool, and will continue to be there as long as you're broadcasting. If you're also the recipient of these unconfirmed outputs, in the same wallet, which is what you seem to suggest, then you can help this confirm via a CPFP tx.

There's some help on how to do this and calculate the fees, just Google. Basically, you use the same outputs to make another spend (the child), including a fee enough for both the child and parent (the unconfirmed tx). If a miner picks it up, both txs will confirm in the same block.

It's quite easy to do this in Electrum... just only choose to SPEND:
1M2gjWLikYqKxx4aKoKTgh5FBv1rXSNtWd - 0.07962544 BTC
and
37nMuvRCD7Gdk1Pyc2i47kg9b3cLE4bzw5 - 0.308577 BTC

you can post further if you need help.

TheQuin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 700
Merit: 672


Freebitco.in Forum Dude https://bit.ly/2I9BVS2


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2018, 02:39:26 PM
 #8

It's almost as though the broadcast never worked in the first place (receiving address never picked up an unconfirmed tx) due to low fee...but now that the mempool is clearing up, it's rebroadcasting again?? Would this be the case? It's such an old tx though.

I think what has happened is that as the mempool became full through most of December, low fee transactions were kicked out by most nodes. The size of the mempool is configurable (default 300Mb) but some nodes run much larger than that. Now the backlog is clearing out the transaction has been rebroadcast by a node with a large mempool and there is now space for the other nodes to accept it.

Only one of 2 things can happen, either it gets confirmed or it will get dropped again and you'll be able to spend it in Electrum. If the second scenario happens, make sure you spend it again as soon as you can so you don't go around this loop again.

slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 02:56:16 PM
 #9

It's almost as though the broadcast never worked in the first place (receiving address never picked up an unconfirmed tx) due to low fee...but now that the mempool is clearing up, it's rebroadcasting again?? Would this be the case? It's such an old tx though.

I think what has happened is that as the mempool became full through most of December, low fee transactions were kicked out by most nodes. The size of the mempool is configurable (default 300Mb) but some nodes run much larger than that. Now the backlog is clearing out the transaction has been rebroadcast by a node with a large mempool and there is now space for the other nodes to accept it.

Only one of 2 things can happen, either it gets confirmed or it will get dropped again and you'll be able to spend it in Electrum. If the second scenario happens, make sure you spend it again as soon as you can so you don't go around this loop again.


Thank you so much for the insight. I will keep an eye on the account as much as possible. I'll keep everyone abreast of the events.
TheQuin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 700
Merit: 672


Freebitco.in Forum Dude https://bit.ly/2I9BVS2


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2018, 03:12:17 PM
 #10

Thank you so much for the insight. I will keep an eye on the account as much as possible. I'll keep everyone abreast of the events.

You're welcome. In case you missed it, buwaytress' post above mine mentioned that you could use child pays for parent to get your transaction through. Basically, if you spend the change input (just send it to another of your own addresses) then miners will calculate the combined fee of both transactions. This is an effective but expensive way to bump a fee up.

Thirdspace
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 604


Mixing reinvented for your privacy | chipmixer.com


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 04:01:41 PM
 #11

Relay time   Sunday, January 21st 2018, 9:03:54 +07:00
as buwaytress said, your tx gets rebroadcasted when you imported to electrum
you can try double spend with higher tx fee or the easier way is by doing CPFP with one of the output
but I urge you to do it now and quickly, take advantage while the network fee is quite low
I just checked ~100s/B based on btc.com but with 70s/B should do allright

slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 10:30:38 PM
 #12

Relay time   Sunday, January 21st 2018, 9:03:54 +07:00
as buwaytress said, your tx gets rebroadcasted when you imported to electrum
you can try double spend with higher tx fee or the easier way is by doing CPFP with one of the output
but I urge you to do it now and quickly, take advantage while the network fee is quite low
I just checked ~100s/B based on btc.com but with 70s/B should do allright

Hello! Yes, I saw the previous poster but because I'm a newb account I couldn't respond.

I want to try CPFP but I don't know how on the Electrum mobile app. Plus, I'm kind of scared to fang jangle it too much as the app keeps crashing when I select the "address" tab. I've already reported it.

The tx isn't urgent, I just wanted to understand what was going on so I can know what these softwares are doing.

If you have a small guide on CPFP for Electrum mobile, I would welcome it.

Thank you everyone in advance for your help!
TheQuin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 700
Merit: 672


Freebitco.in Forum Dude https://bit.ly/2I9BVS2


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2018, 07:33:00 AM
 #13

Hello! Yes, I saw the previous poster but because I'm a newb account I couldn't respond.

I want to try CPFP but I don't know how on the Electrum mobile app. Plus, I'm kind of scared to fang jangle it too much as the app keeps crashing when I select the "address" tab. I've already reported it.

The tx isn't urgent, I just wanted to understand what was going on so I can know what these softwares are doing.

If you have a small guide on CPFP for Electrum mobile, I would welcome it.

Thank you everyone in advance for your help!

I'm not using the mobile app but I'd think it will be similar to the desktop version. Under Tools > Preferences > Transactions make sure 'Spend only confirmed coins' is not checked. Then go to Addresses and switch Filter from Receiving to Change. Then you should be able to select the change address used and 'Spend from'.

If it is not urgent I would just hold on for a bit. The mempool has been slowly clearing out for a few days now. If it doesn't get confirmed in the next few days it will probably get kicked out of the mempool again anyway.

slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 22, 2018, 02:32:06 PM
 #14

Hello! Yes, I saw the previous poster but because I'm a newb account I couldn't respond.

I want to try CPFP but I don't know how on the Electrum mobile app. Plus, I'm kind of scared to fang jangle it too much as the app keeps crashing when I select the "address" tab. I've already reported it.

The tx isn't urgent, I just wanted to understand what was going on so I can know what these softwares are doing.

If you have a small guide on CPFP for Electrum mobile, I would welcome it.

Thank you everyone in advance for your help!

I'm not using the mobile app but I'd think it will be similar to the desktop version. Under Tools > Preferences > Transactions make sure 'Spend only confirmed coins' is not checked. Then go to Addresses and switch Filter from Receiving to Change. Then you should be able to select the change address used and 'Spend from'.

If it is not urgent I would just hold on for a bit. The mempool has been slowly clearing out for a few days now. If it doesn't get confirmed in the next few days it will probably get kicked out of the mempool again anyway.


Thank you! I'll just wait. I don't think there's a replace by fee option on mobile (I checked all the options unless it's something cryptic like long pressing the corner pixel on some page). In any case, I'm just thrilled about the mempool clearing. Thank you again everyone!
TheQuin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 700
Merit: 672


Freebitco.in Forum Dude https://bit.ly/2I9BVS2


View Profile WWW
January 26, 2018, 06:17:05 AM
 #15

Thank you! I'll just wait.

Lucky you, it confirmed.
https://btc.com/f770112d5cd436bed5e279ce5122996dc6b2ea4089d03b5b7eee3bc0d34d4694

slopey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 04:38:03 PM
 #16

Very Lucky!!! Grin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!