Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:27:58 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running without -v -w128 significant heat reduction  (Read 2729 times)
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
July 10, 2011, 09:37:12 PM
 #1

I've noticed on my 6950 miners, running poclbm without -v -w128 gives about 10% lower hash, but significantly reduces the heat output.  This is helpful to keep my workshop under 100 F during the hottest part of the day (highs around 100 F most days), because I have 8 miners going and two 12,000 btu air conditioners, which is the max air conditioning I can feasibly install.

I haven't calculated the heat reduction, but I think it is about 20%.  Does anyone have accurate numbers from testing different command line arguments v. heat exhaust?

I'm also thinking about returning all cards to stock clocks.  Most are already at stock clocks, which reduced heat alot.  The real question is whether you get a better heat reduction from no arguments or stock clocks.  That way I can choose between increasing hashrate via overclocking or increasing hashrate via -v -w128.  10% higher clock = ? higher heat v. -v -w128 10% higher hashrate = ? higher heat.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Reckman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 09:40:33 PM
 #2

 Even at stock core clocks, I would still lower the memory to 300.
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
July 11, 2011, 06:33:47 AM
 #3

I wish I could.  I can lower mem clocks to 300 with MSI afterburner on my 5830 but not my 6970 or 6950 cards, can't find a program to support it.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
khamark
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 12:42:16 PM
 #4

http://www.sapphireselectclub.com/ssc/TriXX/TriXX.aspx

Trixx buddy, that's the program for your 6970 and 6950 (leave afterburner for the 5830)

















Donations: 1PZNCveKFsar8b69gMKmWZp5yovtnMuTzH
OCedHrt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 09:10:13 PM
 #5

TRIXX doesn't work for my 6870. Card won't go lower than 800 for mem, and it runs slower at 800 mem vs 1050.
triforcelink
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
July 11, 2011, 09:34:11 PM
 #6

Try lowering the clock, applying the settings, and then closing and reopening the program. This allows me to lower the clock even further.

marvinmartian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
July 11, 2011, 10:04:12 PM
 #7

Try lowering the clock, applying the settings, and then closing and reopening the program. This allows me to lower the clock even further.

Why would you want to lower the clock ... other than to reduce heat by dropping your speed?

Also, which clock?  Core or Memory?

EDIT:  I hate my 6950s.  They run hotter than all my other cards and are a royal pain to keep stable at the higher end of overclock.  My 6870s were a better investment.

"... and the geeks shall inherit the earth."
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
July 11, 2011, 10:19:30 PM
 #8

I've scoured the forums for info on how to use Trixx across 4 gpus or trixx with multiple gpus and found not one answer.  Trixx only sees the first gpu afaik.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016


Powered by NastyFans


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2011, 10:20:40 PM
 #9

TRIXX doesn't work for my 6870. Card won't go lower than 800 for mem, and it runs slower at 800 mem vs 1050.

I can't find anything to work with my 6870 either.  It's quite frustrating because I would love to lower my mem to 300 just for the temperature.  However, at 800 mem vs 1050 mem, 800 runs quite a bit cooler, and no slower.  I guess that will have to be good enough until someone solves the 6870 memory not wanting to go lower than 800 issue (unless you lower the core speed to lower than 900).

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
triforcelink
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 01:30:35 AM
 #10

Try lowering the clock, applying the settings, and then closing and reopening the program. This allows me to lower the clock even further.

Why would you want to lower the clock ... other than to reduce heat by dropping your speed?

Also, which clock?  Core or Memory?

EDIT:  I hate my 6950s.  They run hotter than all my other cards and are a royal pain to keep stable at the higher end of overclock.  My 6870s were a better investment.

I ment to say the mem clock, lower mem clock = less heat = more stable core overclock
I've scoured the forums for info on how to use Trixx across 4 gpus or trixx with multiple gpus and found not one answer.  Trixx only sees the first gpu afaik.
did you check the settings? I recall seeing a sync box that you can check off, maybe I'm thinking of afterburner

Jazkal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 01:47:39 AM
 #11

Have you tried clocktweak?

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9982.0
irishmick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:26:56 AM
 #12

As far as Afterburner, I have 2 6950's and a single 6770 in the same box. If I closed afterburner memory clocks would default to stock, but if I lowered card 1 memory clock to lowest, clicked settings and chose card 2, lowered mc, settings, card 1, my mc would let me go lower.

Closing and reopening despite me following the "yes i agree OC'ing may cause my card to fry" would always default to stock.

http://doge.crypto49er.com:9555         http://doge-eu.crypto49er.com:9555
Pool donations: DTPgwgDvyDL3vcnJFf33nkhBm6o2ZxVT6G
triforcelink
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 05:46:38 AM
 #13

Make sure you hit apply before closing and reopening the program.

wahbasah
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 06:40:01 AM
 #14

so it's not like you can turn off  -w
even if you dont use -w 128, poclbm will still use -w 256 as default

CMIIW
n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 10:05:48 AM
 #15

Install Rivatuner, then use RBE (no need to modify or flash bios) to make Rivatuner work with your 5000 and 6000 series cards. You can also modify the clocks of your other gpus of your multi-gpu system. Unfortunately, Rivatuner can only lower your mem clocks to half of the default clocks. But you can trick Rivatuner to lower the mem clock of your primary card even more by using afterburner or trixx first to lower mem clock then exit, open Rivatuner, detect clocks and Rivatuner will see the lower clock as default. Enable "Apply overclocking at windows startup". Make sure afterburner and trixx are not loaded at windows startup.
psychok9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:04:28 PM
 #16

I wish I could.  I can lower mem clocks to 300 with MSI afterburner on my 5830 but not my 6970 or 6950 cards, can't find a program to support it.
Edit MSIAfterburner.cfg:
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!