Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2021, 01:42:01 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how get zcash to mine with eth bios modded cards??  (Read 124 times)
wtfonly16
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 105


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 09:34:49 PM
 #1

 Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh
nothing but crashing, instability, and 240sol..... (all rx570)

all eth operation solid no crashing many dayz standalone!

ye i aint bares
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1632318121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632318121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632318121
Reply with quote  #2

1632318121
Report to moderator
1632318121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632318121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632318121
Reply with quote  #2

1632318121
Report to moderator
smoolae
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 106



View Profile
January 19, 2018, 09:40:58 PM
 #2

Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh
nothing but crashing, instability, and 240sol..... (all rx570)

all eth operation solid no crashing many dayz standalone!

Also have one R9 290 with R9 390 BIOS (has double BIOS switch, so really easy to operate between original and flashed BIOS). When using this GPU with modded BIOS it crashes but when with original BIOS, everything works. Equihash seems to be really selective about modifications with BIOS...

DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1034



View Profile
January 19, 2018, 09:54:00 PM
 #3

If you have a dual Bios card as smoolae suggested you could flip back to the stock bios and should have no problems. Equihash is going to use more power and thus produce more heat (since it uses the core moreso than Ethash). You either need to go to lower mem clocks or you'll just have to flash back to looser mem timings.

███████████████████████████
██████████▄▄███▄▄██████████
████████▄█████████▄████████
██████▄█████████████▄██████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████▄███████████████▄█████
███████████████████████████
█████▀███████████████▀█████
███████▀███████████▀███████
█████████▀███████▀█████████
███████████▀███▀███████████
███████████████████████████
.
.BITAMP..
   BITAMP BITCOIN WALLET   
Easy to use, client-side, &
open-source Bitcoin wallet
███████████████████████████
████████▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄████████
████▄▀▀▀   ▄▄█▄▄   ▀▀▀▄████
█████ ▀▄▄▀▀     ▀▀▄▄▀ █████
█████  █    ███    █  █████
█████  █   ▄███▄   █  █████
█████  █  ███████  █  █████
████▀▄ ▀▄ ███████ ▄▀ ▄▀████
█████▀▄ ▀▄       ▄▀ ▄▀█████
██████▀▄  ▀▄▄ ▄▄▀  ▄▀██████
████████▀▄   █   ▄▀████████
██████████▀▀▄▄▄▀▀██████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████▄▀▀▀▄  ▄███▄  ▄▀▀▀▄████
█████   █ ▐█████▌ █   █████
███▄▄▀ ▀▄  ▀███▀  ▄▀ ▀▄▄███
██      ▄██▀▀▀██▄      ███
██     ███▄███ ███     ███
███▄▄▄▄ █████▄▄████ ▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████████████████▄▄▄▄█▄████
███████████████████████▀███
█████▀▀▀▀██▀▀▀▀▀▄▄████████
███████▄▀  ▄█▄█▄  ▀▄███████
██████▄▀   █    █  ▀▄██████
███████    █▀▀▀▀▄   ███████
██████▀▄   █    █  ▄▀██████
███████▀▄  ▀█▀█▀  ▄▀███████
████████▀▀▄▄▄▄▄██▄▄▄▄█████
███▄███████████████████████
████▀█▀▀▀▀█████████████████
███████████████████████████
|SECURE
ANONYMOUS
INSTANT
Marvell2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 132


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 10:16:46 PM
 #4

If you have a dual Bios card as smoolae suggested you could flip back to the stock bios and should have no problems. Equihash is going to use more power and thus produce more heat (since it uses the core moreso than Ethash). You either need to go to lower mem clocks or you'll just have to flash back to looser mem timings.
personally i just use eth settings, yeah its lower hash rate by say 5 to 10 percent
but also alot less power than the high stock cores of a stock card.  If anything
i just lower the mem clock via software.
Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 602



View Profile
January 19, 2018, 10:58:03 PM
Last edit: January 19, 2018, 11:16:47 PM by Vann
 #5

As Equihash is a core dependant algorithm, Bios mods have little effect on the hash rate. If I mine Equihash with RX 570/580's, which is almost never since dual mining ETH is more profitable, I use the same Bios, increasing the core and reducing the memory overclock.

With Powercolor Red Dragon RX 570's with Hynix/Elpidia dual timings Bios on Windows 10 with the AMD blockchain drivers for ZEC I get ~315 H/s with a 1325 MHz core clock, 1950 MHz memory clock, -96 mV undervolt and -15% power limit in Afterburner. On RX 580's I get 325 - 330 H/s with the same settings.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2273535.msg23161266#msg23161266

wtfonly16
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 105


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 04:51:40 AM
 #6

As Equihash is a core dependant algorithm, Bios mods have little effect on the hash rate. If I mine Equihash with RX 570/580's, which is almost never since dual mining ETH is more profitable, I use the same Bios, increasing the core and reducing the memory overclock.

With Powercolor Red Dragon RX 570's with Hynix/Elpidia dual timings Bios on Windows 10 with the AMD blockchain drivers for ZEC I get ~315 H/s with a 1325 MHz core clock, 1950 MHz memory clock, -96 mV undervolt and -15% power limit in Afterburner. On RX 580's I get 325 - 330 H/s with the same settings.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2273535.msg23161266#msg23161266



thnx was afraid to use high core clock, but thats all it took, now im get 300-315 on all cards

ye i aint bares
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!