Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:17:47 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5830 doesn't respond when mining...  (Read 744 times)
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 09:12:23 PM
 #1

So this only happens with I mine with the first card in the rig, the monitor freezes and Catalyst attempts to reset the card because it isn't responding, but sometimes it isn't successful so I have to restart the whole system.

The other 3 cards work perfectly fine when I start mining with them, the problem only lies in the 1st card.

I set the core to 1000mhz and the memory to 385mhz.

1480861067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861067
Reply with quote  #2

1480861067
Report to moderator
1480861067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861067
Reply with quote  #2

1480861067
Report to moderator
1480861067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861067
Reply with quote  #2

1480861067
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480861067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861067
Reply with quote  #2

1480861067
Report to moderator
1480861067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861067
Reply with quote  #2

1480861067
Report to moderator
1480861067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861067
Reply with quote  #2

1480861067
Report to moderator
hennessy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:43:07 AM
 #2

1000mhz is quiet high... maybe you have reached the cards limits. Every card is different, some can do 1050, some only 900. One of mine only does 950.
Try with normal memory clocks and see if that helps. You can check for artifacts with OCCT or any other tool (They may give different results). If you get any artifact, thats probably the card's limit.
You could also try moving the problem card to the best-vented slot to get it cooler. This also has the advantage that it's not the primary display and crashes may recover easier.

If I was of any help, donations are appreciated - 1FrCtiQsVoy2YTTYqgjsvVvdgvHS4Umah4
8x Sapphire 5830 @950/300 in 2 dedicated mining rigs -> 2500Mhash/s
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:40:47 PM
 #3

1000mhz is quiet high... maybe you have reached the cards limits. Every card is different, some can do 1050, some only 900. One of mine only does 950.
Try with normal memory clocks and see if that helps. You can check for artifacts with OCCT or any other tool (They may give different results). If you get any artifact, thats probably the card's limit.
You could also try moving the problem card to the best-vented slot to get it cooler. This also has the advantage that it's not the primary display and crashes may recover easier.

You're right, I put it to 980 and it does quite well.

pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:21:36 AM
 #4

1000mhz is quiet high... maybe you have reached the cards limits. Every card is different, some can do 1050, some only 900. One of mine only does 950.
Try with normal memory clocks and see if that helps. You can check for artifacts with OCCT or any other tool (They may give different results). If you get any artifact, thats probably the card's limit.
You could also try moving the problem card to the best-vented slot to get it cooler. This also has the advantage that it's not the primary display and crashes may recover easier.

You may be able to do 1000 if you bump the voltage up a bit. Of course, do so at your own risk.
You're right, I put it to 980 and it does quite well.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!