Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:58:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help! My 6950 and/or miner just died??  (Read 1166 times)
skadoosh00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:21:00 AM
 #1

Was just mining normally with Phoenix miner and all of a sudden I'm getting tonnes of errors about getting stale jobs or something (can't remember). So I shut down my miner and fire it up again.

Now it's giving me the error message "Fatal kernel error: Failed to apply BFI_INT patch to kernel! Is BFI_INT support on this hardware?"

I made absolutely no changes, have done nothing to the miner recently, and all of a sudden I'm getting this message? I updated my card drivers ages ago so I have no idea what's wrong.

Somebody save me! Sad

http://payb.tc/skadoosh00
1481403489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403489
Reply with quote  #2

1481403489
Report to moderator
1481403489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403489
Reply with quote  #2

1481403489
Report to moderator
1481403489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403489
Reply with quote  #2

1481403489
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481403489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403489
Reply with quote  #2

1481403489
Report to moderator
markabark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:42:48 AM
 #2

Are you using poclbm? If you have an old version you might get this. Google it.
skadoosh00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:51:25 AM
 #3

You mean my miner? I'm actually using the Phoenix miner, but I do use the -k poclbm lines in my batch file. Phoenix miner is the latest version (1.50)

My batch file is basically:

phoenix -u -v http://usrname:password@miner:8332/ -k poclbm DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=8

http://payb.tc/skadoosh00
skadoosh00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 03:13:01 AM
 #4

Tried fiddling around with some other miners. It appears that they're not actually detecting any GPUs in my PC whenever the miner loads up. What would be the cause of this? Would it be because my card just fried? It looks to still be working fine in my device manager.

http://payb.tc/skadoosh00
ellipsis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:28:07 AM
 #5

Can you use it successfully for its primary purpose, as a video card, perhaps in a different machine?

https://tmmb2ro3icewhmqz.onion/
skadoosh00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:30:20 AM
 #6

Hmm.. why didn't I think of that...
Will try running a graphics intense game, and failing that I'll see how I go on a different PC.

Many thanks!

http://payb.tc/skadoosh00
nioctib1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:31:00 AM
 #7

Can you get anything else gpu intensive to run. Games, benchmark tests, gpu memtests, etc? It could be some sort of config error, but the fact that it happened mid-mine sounds bad. Were you running any driver, software, kernel updates that could have changed settings? I'm assuming you're in windows. You could try directx diagnostics. idk if that will be of any help. If you have video output though, there is definitely hope. Device manager is crap. Can you see any error messages in the ati drivers. As hardware issues go, is there any possibility the card is not receiving adequate power? Sorry for having more questions than answers, wish i could be of more help.

1CCZRaToU5RH5PWNdSt5b92kDB9SFndiFJ
skadoosh00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:51:14 AM
 #8

No by all means ask away. All the better to troubleshoot.

I'm not actually sitting in front of my pc at the moment, so i'll do some gpu intensive testing when I get home.

Wasn't running any driver, software or kernel updates of any sort. I just left it to mine away while I went off to work. Yes I'm using windows. I DID notice a whole lot of error alert sounds when I remote desktopped in the first time to see why my miner stopped. The error messages were definitely regarding my video card, from what I could see before they disappeared.

My PSU is 650W so there should be adequate power. Never had any issues with it before.

I've shut down my PC for now. Temperature was never really an issue as it was always a stable 73-76 degrees C, so I don't think my card overheated or anything.

http://payb.tc/skadoosh00
skadoosh00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:43:15 AM
 #9

Bit of good news in the end. After shutdown and rested it for a couple hours, everything seems to be back in working order.

That little incident had me pretty worried there for a while. Many thanks to those who helped troubleshoot!

http://payb.tc/skadoosh00
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!