Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:15:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multiple ATI GPUs 4850 X2 & 5830 in same computer?  (Read 1025 times)
Blackout
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 03:50:56 AM
 #1

I know I have heard that this is possible.... does anyone know how to do it?  I currently
have a ati HD 4850 X2 (monster of a card) as my main GPU...  It performs amazingly on almost anything I throw at it but it's not great for mining.  Only 75mhash per core so 150mhash... for this huge boat that's depressing.

My motherboard is a EVGA x58 sli w 12 gigs ram  900 wat power supply... plenty of cooling...

Just got a saphire extreme 5830 today.... I didn't realize it also is a dual slot card. Chucked it in just to see what would happen since I already had catalyst 11.5 on my Win 7 64bit rig..  The system booted up...said your device drivers have been installed correctly...  it powered up.. 5830s fans going... computer is fine using my main 4850 x2 as my normal display...  and I can see the 5830 in the device manager and it says it's working fine.. but in catalyst it shows the 4850 x2 as enabled in crossfire mode, and it shows the 5830 but says it's disabled.

I loaded up the Phoenix GUI (AOCLBF 1.74) miner and can get my 4850 x2 working... and I see (ATI Radeon 5800 series) in the cards in the tabs on the top and can mess with the clock speed and ect, but when I go to add client 3, it doesn't see the card and allow me to select it in the OpenCL Device drop down box.

Is there a way to make this work? I know somewhere I read you could just use the 5830 as a miner and leave your other card as your display device but now I can't find it.

I'm probably getting another 5830 and then I'll just pull the 4850 x2 out and crossfire the two 5830s... but for now I'd like to get the card mining since it pulls another 300mhash till I get the next card.

PS: under the 5800 tab it says Adapter index 0.  OS index 2
is this something I could enter into the manual setting to get the card mining? Or do I need to run something from a command line prompt?

Any help getting this working is appreciated.

- Blackout

http://blackout.com
Insane writings for an Outsane world: http://blackoutsblog.com

Blackout Radio on android or iphone DL TuneIn APP & search for Blackout Radio http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=136506

https://secure.btcontilt.com/register.php?referred=Blackout (BTC Poker)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481339759
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339759

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339759
Reply with quote  #2

1481339759
Report to moderator
1481339759
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339759

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339759
Reply with quote  #2

1481339759
Report to moderator
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 04:10:58 AM
 #2

You don't want or need crossfire for mining. What you do want is a monitor (or a fake monitor plug) hooked up to each card when the computer boots. That should do it. The Catalyst 11.7 early release drivers for Win7 are supposed to not need a monitor connected to each card for OpenCL to work.

Blackout
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
July 14, 2011, 01:35:36 AM
 #3

I put a dvi to vga adapter on it and that worked. Getting 330 mhash with this card it's great.. getting rid of the 4850 x2 and getting another  5830 or 5850.  I would only use the crossfire if I wanted to do a graphic application or games.... (rendering in after effects... photoshoping a massive full hd.. or plugins that can use the gpu).  I would turn off the cross fire if mining.
So I'll probably have one card miningg 24/7 then the other mining at a low aggression.  I may do a dedicated rig I'm not sure yet.


http://blackout.com
Insane writings for an Outsane world: http://blackoutsblog.com

Blackout Radio on android or iphone DL TuneIn APP & search for Blackout Radio http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=136506

https://secure.btcontilt.com/register.php?referred=Blackout (BTC Poker)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!