Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 09:20:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclocking of Antminer S9 with Liquid Cooling  (Read 583 times)
Cheburek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 08:12:18 AM
 #1

Hi,

We have made liquid cooling box for Antminer S9 13,5 TH (autotune freq) and get max temp on chips for 51 C. And we want to try to overclock this model by freq and voltage settings.

Are there ways to unblock Frequency and Voltage settings for this model? (Old Firmware for example?)
1529400006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529400006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529400006
Reply with quote  #2

1529400006
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 558


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 06:13:41 PM
 #2

If you have a newer batch, the older firmware will not work. Overclocking is a very bad idea anyway. By your post focusing on temperatures I dont think you quite understand what an overclock will do to the gear. Temps have little to do with anything when you are trying to put more power through a set of components that it was designed to handle.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
gta3uzi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 06:29:31 AM
 #3

Don't the S9's autotune? Will they not autotune above their "max" rate even if the chips are kept very cold?

Overclocking the freq would be one thing. This should be OK and should not damage a chip directly. It should only damage it via heat. If the chip is kept cool it should be safe to run until the error rate starts to climb.

Overvoltage on this I don't think I'd recommend unless the voltage is out of specification.

I've overclocked Intel, AMD, NVidia, and ATI chipsets for over a decade now both as a professional and a hobbyist.

Intel does not issue lifespan guidance based on freq. They issue it based on heat and voltage. The only reason you can get away with overvolting a CPU is because most are under-volted from the factory to meet production yields, meet heat design specs, and save electricity. I suspect these ASIC chips are already set at their design voltage due to their application.

I can get my S7's to 770mhz with cold enough air. 5.2TH/s+ per box @ 1700W @ 0.03% error if I keep the reported chip temps at 55C or below.

Slushpool reports 4.9TH/s per box 1hr scoring rate @ 700mhz stock freq right now vs 4.73 advertised @ 50C average temp. 0.0130% error rate. 8819 errors for 68,328,478 diff A + diff R + HW. 17hr run time.
Cheburek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 12:43:58 PM
 #4

Don't the S9's autotune? Will they not autotune above their "max" rate even if the chips are kept very cold?

Overclocking the freq would be one thing. This should be OK and should not damage a chip directly. It should only damage it via heat. If the chip is kept cool it should be safe to run until the error rate starts to climb.

Overvoltage on this I don't think I'd recommend unless the voltage is out of specification.

I've overclocked Intel, AMD, NVidia, and ATI chipsets for over a decade now both as a professional and a hobbyist.

Intel does not issue lifespan guidance based on freq. They issue it based on heat and voltage. The only reason you can get away with overvolting a CPU is because most are under-volted from the factory to meet production yields, meet heat design specs, and save electricity. I suspect these ASIC chips are already set at their design voltage due to their application.

I can get my S7's to 770mhz with cold enough air. 5.2TH/s+ per box @ 1700W @ 0.03% error if I keep the reported chip temps at 55C or below.

Slushpool reports 4.9TH/s per box 1hr scoring rate @ 700mhz stock freq right now vs 4.73 advertised @ 50C average temp. 0.0130% error rate. 8819 errors for 68,328,478 diff A + diff R + HW. 17hr run time.

We achieved stable 750 Mh/s with L3+ overvolting and freq settings, and we want to test S9 model, thatswhy we are looking for ways to overvolt S9 too.
bbg169
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 01:15:47 PM
 #5

Hello everyone !!!

for overclock the S9 (tested on the version AntminerS9 14./s
First "up or downgrade" the AntminerS9 version to BMminer v.2.0.0 (Antminer-S9-all-2017705031838-650M-User-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz).
link: https://shop.bitmain.com/support.htm?pid=00720161126080548570Q2tDBXAH065D


after that the version installed is, normal login on the miner (Miner has a new IP)
than you go then "Miner Configuratoin"
you have the option to choose the fixed frequency range of 550-650

to choose a different frequency, You must change the address in your browser from "yourminerip/cgi-bin/minerConfiguration.cgi" to "yourminerip/cgi-bin/minerAdvanced.cgi"
Here then a frequency of 100 MHz to 1000 MHz is selected.

higher frequencies provide higher temperatures!!!!

for a small donation:
BTC: 1NZy31xQ67WmcrdosbAXqxg7KhgrY1YK9i
DASH: Xg1cGwsVaNSnuLj5RZ7aoBYZ491ctvyvd8
BCH: 1CMhnnZ8pka7m16VnGDUpHj1vdJ9y1Ftpz
klondike18
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 03:30:35 AM
 #6

Would you be willing to supply details of the type and quantity of coolant you are using, materials used for the cooling box, and what is dissipating the heat?  Are the miners immersed in coolant, using custom water blocks, or something else?  Working on different ideas for liquid cooling but not decided on a particular design yet.

Thanks.

We have made liquid cooling box for Antminer S9 13,5 TH (autotune freq) and get max temp on chips for 51 C. And we want to try to overclock this model by freq and voltage settings.
Music City Miners
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 06:08:06 AM
 #7

I want to scale operations ASAP. AS I do this, I am tying to understand how much power I will need if I go with the mineral oil cooling system.
I see a few set ups on youtube ,  Antminer S9 submerged mineral oil cooling. But does anyone have data showing  there are significant cost savings in this method ? It looks great,  sounds so much better. but nobody reports real data on power consumption.  Also what about machine depreciation, does this improve or shorten life ,

Share what you know.

Thanks

Jeff
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 25

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 05:57:43 PM
 #8

I want to scale operations ASAP. AS I do this, I am tying to understand how much power I will need if I go with the mineral oil cooling system.
I see a few set ups on youtube ,  Antminer S9 submerged mineral oil cooling. But does anyone have data showing  there are significant cost savings in this method ? It looks great,  sounds so much better. but nobody reports real data on power consumption.  Also what about machine depreciation, does this improve or shorten life ,

Share what you know.

Thanks

Jeff

Back to basics...  Oil immersion is a HEAT solution.  Unless you overclock, your not going to affect your direct mining power consumption.  You could affect your overall power consumption if you were to stop using air conditioning and did your heat rejection outside (e.g.  Had you cooling radiators outside) instead of inside - but few spend the money to recirculate and cool the waste heat - most just eject it outside directly.

That said, the #1 enemy of any electronics is heat (with the possible exception of lightening and other power surge issues).  Keep any electronics cool and they will last longer.  Its why old data centers use to run at 60F... back when power was cheap and computers were expensive.

I mine bitcoin for a living, and I mine at Kano.is!
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
ForumMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 01:54:34 PM
 #9

Hello everyone !!!

for overclock the S9 (tested on the version AntminerS9 14./s
First "up or downgrade" the AntminerS9 version to BMminer v.2.0.0 (Antminer-S9-all-2017705031838-650M-User-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz).
link: https://shop.bitmain.com/support.htm?pid=00720161126080548570Q2tDBXAH065D


after that the version installed is, normal login on the miner (Miner has a new IP)
than you go then "Miner Configuratoin"
you have the option to choose the fixed frequency range of 550-650

to choose a different frequency, You must change the address in your browser from "yourminerip/cgi-bin/minerConfiguration.cgi" to "yourminerip/cgi-bin/minerAdvanced.cgi"
Here then a frequency of 100 MHz to 1000 MHz is selected.

higher frequencies provide higher temperatures!!!!


Loaded this firmware to S9 13,5 THs (build in autumn 2017). Try to change frequency (from 600 to 650, 700, 750 on blade). It changes in settings, but real productivity does not grow!
In monitoring see for example 14 or 15 THs speed. Real on the pool see only 13,5 THs.
Wtf? Changes prohibited by the manufacturer?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!