Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 04:50:42 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Fixed] Wallet, how to move from one internal HDD to another internal HDD??  (Read 68 times)
boxalex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 10:22:36 PM
 #1

Hi all,

i doubt i'am the first asking this, but i was not able to find any topic with the search function.

Case:
I'am aware that the wallet on a desktop PC is located at appdata/roaming on C:/, but having in mind the huge Diskspace a single wallet needs
it doesn't make much sense if someone, like me, wants to have let's say 20 wallets stored on his PC.

Having in mind that most users have at least 2 HDDs, many, again like me, a lot more on their PC, its just logical to move the huge diskspace
wallets internally to another HDD on the very same PC. Or to an external HDD which should be about the same case as mine here with internal
HDDs.

So how to have a wallet moved and have it working and of course updated to another internal HDD, let's say Harddrive E:/

Me personally even wonders why there is no simple "save to ...." option while installing/downloading a given wallet.

Thx in advance for every hint, tip and step by step advice and of course sorry for my bad English, i"am not a native English speaker, obviously :-)
1537807842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537807842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537807842
Reply with quote  #2

1537807842
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537807842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537807842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537807842
Reply with quote  #2

1537807842
Report to moderator
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1104


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 11:02:44 PM
 #2

Assuming you're running windows and using a D drive as an example:
There are a few ways to do this.
The way I'd suggest is to copy everything to a specific folder I.E "D:\bitcoin\data" and then start the next instance by running (using start+r bitcoin-qt datadir=D:\bitcoin\data. And you should be good to go.
Keep running it with that command if possible to ensure there's no issues.

It will have to resync everything fully though.

boxalex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 11:41:20 PM
 #3

Assuming you're running windows and using a D drive as an example:
There are a few ways to do this.
The way I'd suggest is to copy everything to a specific folder I.E "D:\bitcoin\data" and then start the next instance by running (using start+r bitcoin-qt datadir=D:\bitcoin\data. And you should be good to go.
Keep running it with that command if possible to ensure there's no issues.

It will have to resync everything fully though.

Thx a lot for your advice.

Yes, forgot to mention it, Win10 is the operating system.

Do i have to use the commands each time i access, use or sync the wallet or is this a 1x time setup command? Can not try it as i'am still downloading several wallets to C:/ .

Is this the only way or are there other stable easy options to move and have the wallet at D:/ or any other harddrive on the PC?
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1104


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 11:50:10 PM
 #4

Assuming you're running windows and using a D drive as an example:
There are a few ways to do this.
The way I'd suggest is to copy everything to a specific folder I.E "D:\bitcoin\data" and then start the next instance by running (using start+r bitcoin-qt datadir=D:\bitcoin\data. And you should be good to go.
Keep running it with that command if possible to ensure there's no issues.

It will have to resync everything fully though.

Thx a lot for your advice.

Yes, forgot to mention it, Win10 is the operating system.

Do i have to use the commands each time i access, use or sync the wallet or is this a 1x time setup command? Can not try it as i'am still downloading several wallets to C:/ .

Is this the only way or are there other stable easy options to move and have the wallet at D:/ or any other harddrive on the PC?

This is the only option I really know of. Other than just changing datafir at the start and deleting the other directory but that might slow it SLIGHTLY as it has to redownload everything.

And the command can be run once but if it resorts back to using the default datadir you'll notice it'll start resyncing at the bottom so shut it down and rerun the command.
Alternatively in the appdata\bitcoin folder, copy and paste the file path (form the navigation bar of explorer) and run the following:
Press start+r
Notepad [yourpastedtext]\bitcoin.conf
Click"yes" in the dialog box (if one appears).
And add the line datadir=D:\bitcoin\data.

armandoz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 164
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 01:00:29 AM
 #5

you will work in hardware technical step. slave your target hardrive like to transfer your date of bitcoin. copy paste it. but make sure that hard drive has no virus or be better to format  before you transfer your bitcoin to the target hard drive.

HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 925

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 03:10:46 AM
Merited by achow101 (1)
 #6

Me personally even wonders why there is no simple "save to ...." option while installing/downloading a given wallet.
There is... Most of the "QT" wallets (ie the ones based on Bitcoin Core) ask where you want to put all the block data:


You should probably learn to slow down and read what the installers are actually asking rather than just clicking "next-next-next" as fast as possible Tongue Roll Eyes


As for moving your current directory... you can follow this guide: https://bitzuma.com/posts/moving-the-bitcoin-core-data-directory/

As the guide indicates, instead of mucking around trying to use/set the commandline -datadir argument, you can simply "trick" Bitcoin Core into moving it:
- Shutdown Bitcoin Core
- Rename (DO NOT DELETE) the current Data Directory
- Start Bitcoin Core normally and it will think it hasn't run before as it can't find the default data directory and it will ask where you want to save your data to...
- Specify the new (custom) data directory location that you want
- Shutdown Bitcoin Core
- Copy the contents of your OLD renamed data directory to the new data directory
- Start up Bitcoin Core and it'll continue on it's merry way using the new data directory

Alternatively, as you're on Windows... if you're comfortable making registry edits... you can change: Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Bitcoin\Bitcoin-Qt

Look for the "strDatadir" value and simply set it to the new data directory location. Copy all the data over and then start up Bitcoin Core.

boxalex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 10:17:48 AM
 #7

thx for all the answers.

as my question was not only for bitcoin wallets but in general for qt wallets i managed to fix it with a quiet easy solution:

Just in case someone wants to fix it this way, here how i did it:

- first of all go the RUN in windows, type %appdata%, this will bring you to the hidden /appdata/roaming folder.
- here you find the whole data folder, like named "bitcoin", "UniversalCurrency" or whatever currency folder you have.
- move the whole folder to the desired HDD, in my case it was F:
- now go to desktop and create a shortcut
- point the shortcut to your currency wallet .exe file and just add -datadir="the_full_path_to_new_directory",
in my case it looks now: "C:\Wallets\eMark-Qt-1.5.0-win\eMark 1.5.exe" -datadir=F:\eMark"
- Done

At least in my case it works, syncs and everything else works fine with this wallet, trying  now some others too.

Thx to all the other suggestions, advices and tips, pretty sure they work too. But personally for me, this solution was the easiest, even more
if i choose at some time to move things to an external wallet or elsewhere i just have to modify only a simple letter in the shortcut.
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1104


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 02:53:12 PM
 #8

thx for all the answers.

as my question was not only for bitcoin wallets but in general for qt wallets i managed to fix it with a quiet easy solution:

Just in case someone wants to fix it this way, here how i did it:

- first of all go the RUN in windows, type %appdata%, this will bring you to the hidden /appdata/roaming folder.
- here you find the whole data folder, like named "bitcoin", "UniversalCurrency" or whatever currency folder you have.
- move the whole folder to the desired HDD, in my case it was F:
- now go to desktop and create a shortcut
- point the shortcut to your currency wallet .exe file and just add -datadir="the_full_path_to_new_directory",
in my case it looks now: "C:\Wallets\eMark-Qt-1.5.0-win\eMark 1.5.exe" -datadir=F:\eMark"
- Done

At least in my case it works, syncs and everything else works fine with this wallet, trying  now some others too.

Thx to all the other suggestions, advices and tips, pretty sure they work too. But personally for me, this solution was the easiest, even more
if i choose at some time to move things to an external wallet or elsewhere i just have to modify only a simple letter in the shortcut.

Yes the shortcut works as well.

Consider that if you make large numbers of wallets then you may have too many desktop shortcuts available that it makes it difficult to assign any more.
 

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!