Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 10:20:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: plz help n00b getting started mining (Debian VIA C7 ATI 4650)  (Read 3305 times)
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:39:16 PM
 #1

Hi folks!

I heard about bitcoin some weeks ago, read some articles and got interested.
I have some nice little spare hardware on which i want to try mining:

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/content.php?S_ID=470

2GB of RAM and an ATI 4650

Maybe i'll get some bigger hardware later...

I did a basic installation of Debian Squeeze (32bit) without a GUI (just want a dedicated mining machine).
Then i basically followed this guide: http://mlinuxgada.info/content/hack/203

So here is what i did:
- added contrib non-free to my /etc/apt/sources.list
- aptitude update
- aptitude -r install linux-headers-2.6-$(uname -r|sed 's,[^-]*-[^-]*-,,') fglrx-control fglrx-driver (found that on some how to install ATI drivers)
- modprobe -r radeon drm
- aptitude install python-pyopencl subversion (this also installed some nvidia drivers? why?)
- downloaded and unpacked bitcoin: tar xvf bitcoin-0.3.24-linux.tar.gz
- svn checkout http://svn.json-rpc.org/trunk/python-jsonrpc
- cd python-jsonrpc/
- python setup.py install
- cd ..
- mkdir .bitcoin
- echo "rpcuser=myusername" > .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
- echo "rpcpassword=mypasswd" >> .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
- aptitude install git
- git clone https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm.git
- cd poclbm/
- python poclbm.py http://myusername:mypasswd@pit.deepbit.net:8332

now i get:

FATAL: Module nvidia not found.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 35, in <module>
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: invalid/unknown error code
Speicherzugriffsfehler (memory access error, yes, i'm german! Cheesy )

so of course there is no nvidia module, there shouldn't be!
But i read somewhere that without the -d option, poclbm.py would ask me on which device to run on. (anyway with -d 0 i get the same error)

so what have i missed?

i hope someone can help me...

thx!
1511173218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511173218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511173218
Reply with quote  #2

1511173218
Report to moderator
1511173218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511173218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511173218
Reply with quote  #2

1511173218
Report to moderator
1511173218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511173218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511173218
Reply with quote  #2

1511173218
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511173218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511173218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511173218
Reply with quote  #2

1511173218
Report to moderator
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:37:09 PM
 #2

Get a general idea what needs to be installed: https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=26220.msg328027#msg328027
Looks like you are missing SDK (http://developer.amd.com/archive/gpu/ATIStreamSDKv1.4Beta/pages/default.aspx ) and is your X running?


While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 06:21:56 PM
 #3

thank you for your reply!

for the version of fglrx I have installed (10.9) I think SDK 2.2 is the best choice. So I downloaded it here:
http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/pages/AMDAPPSDKDownloadArchive.aspx

now how do i get poclbm to use it?
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 06:48:00 PM
 #4

I am not sure is it going to work in Debian but in Gentoo you have too options:

(adjust those paths for  Debian)  
1) If you get errors about OpenCL programs unable to find libOpenCL.so, simply create a symlink from /opt/amd-app-sdk/lib/x86_64[or32]libOpenCL.so to /usr/lib64[or32]/libOpenCL.so.  Do the same from /opt/amd-app-sdk/lib/x86_64[or32]/libOpenCL.so.1 to /usr/lib64[or32]/libOpenCL.so.1


2) Or you can use: eselect

Code:
$ eselect opencl list

Available OpenCL implementations:
  [1]   ati

$ eselect opencl set 1

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:12:32 PM
 #5

the libs already seem to be there:

/usr/lib# ls -al |grep libO
-rwxr-xr-x  2 root root        16604 12. Jul 20:12 libOpenCL.so
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root           18 12. Jul 11:41 libOpenCL.so.1 -> libOpenCL.so.1.0.0
-rw-r--r--  1 root root        16432  2. Jun 2010  libOpenCL.so.1.0.0
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:36:08 PM
 #6

the libs already seem to be there:

/usr/lib# ls -al |grep libO
-rwxr-xr-x  2 root root        16604 12. Jul 20:12 libOpenCL.so
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root           18 12. Jul 11:41 libOpenCL.so.1 -> libOpenCL.so.1.0.0
-rw-r--r--  1 root root        16432  2. Jun 2010  libOpenCL.so.1.0.0

I am sure those belong to nVidia and not to ATI SDK.
ATI installs to /opt/ 

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:46:54 PM
 #7

there seems to be installed only one of them by ati-stream-sdk:


find /opt -name libO*
/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx32/lib/x86/libOpenCL.so
ellipsis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:29:56 PM
 #8

It looks like there may be two OpenCL distributions installed. As a test:

mv /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.bak
ln -s libOpenCL.so.1 /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so

Then try again. If that doesn't work:

rm /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so
mv /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1 /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1.bak
mv /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1.0.0 /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1.0.0.bak
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx32/lib/x86

Then try again.

https://tmmb2ro3icewhmqz.onion/
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:48:33 PM
 #9

nope, didn't do the trick.

If I get it right, I have installed opencl in the nvidia version and need to overwrite it with the ati version.
So I need to overwrite libOpenCL.so and libOpenCL.so.1 with the ones from ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx3. But libOpenCL.so.1 is missing there?
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:51:16 PM
 #10

you need to link /lib/ stuff to ATI versions 

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
ellipsis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:05:06 PM
 #11

nope, didn't do the trick.

If I get it right, I have installed opencl in the nvidia version and need to overwrite it with the ati version.
So I need to overwrite libOpenCL.so and libOpenCL.so.1 with the ones from ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx3. But libOpenCL.so.1 is missing there?
Did the error change? Do you have your ATI platform files in /etc/OpenCL/vendors/? What is the output of these:

ls -la /usr/lib*/libOpenCL*
ls -la /opt/ati-stream-sdk-*/lib/x86
ldd <the binary file from your pyopencl install>

https://tmmb2ro3icewhmqz.onion/
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 11:19:35 AM
 #12

w00t! \o/

[20.415 MH/s (~22 MH/s)] [Rej: 0/1 (0%)]

I think the speed is ok, for the 4650 I have here is some DELL OEM maybe underclocked version with a tiny cooler.

Problem was pyopencl wasn't compiled and installed properly.
Followed that section in this guide to fix it: http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=7514.0

thx for helping me here!
maybe i'll send you some (m)coins to see how that works... Wink
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 02:05:39 PM
 #13

FYI:


aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 72.50 C



aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-getclocks

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    600           500
             Current Peak :    600           500
  Configurable Peak Range : [300-712]     [500-550]
                 GPU load :    96%
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!