Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 09:56:34 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: plz help n00b getting started mining (Debian VIA C7 ATI 4650)  (Read 3217 times)
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:39:16 PM
 #1

Hi folks!

I heard about bitcoin some weeks ago, read some articles and got interested.
I have some nice little spare hardware on which i want to try mining:

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/content.php?S_ID=470

2GB of RAM and an ATI 4650

Maybe i'll get some bigger hardware later...

I did a basic installation of Debian Squeeze (32bit) without a GUI (just want a dedicated mining machine).
Then i basically followed this guide: http://mlinuxgada.info/content/hack/203

So here is what i did:
- added contrib non-free to my /etc/apt/sources.list
- aptitude update
- aptitude -r install linux-headers-2.6-$(uname -r|sed 's,[^-]*-[^-]*-,,') fglrx-control fglrx-driver (found that on some how to install ATI drivers)
- modprobe -r radeon drm
- aptitude install python-pyopencl subversion (this also installed some nvidia drivers? why?)
- downloaded and unpacked bitcoin: tar xvf bitcoin-0.3.24-linux.tar.gz
- svn checkout http://svn.json-rpc.org/trunk/python-jsonrpc
- cd python-jsonrpc/
- python setup.py install
- cd ..
- mkdir .bitcoin
- echo "rpcuser=myusername" > .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
- echo "rpcpassword=mypasswd" >> .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
- aptitude install git
- git clone https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm.git
- cd poclbm/
- python poclbm.py http://myusername:mypasswd@pit.deepbit.net:8332

now i get:

FATAL: Module nvidia not found.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 35, in <module>
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: invalid/unknown error code
Speicherzugriffsfehler (memory access error, yes, i'm german! Cheesy )

so of course there is no nvidia module, there shouldn't be!
But i read somewhere that without the -d option, poclbm.py would ask me on which device to run on. (anyway with -d 0 i get the same error)

so what have i missed?

i hope someone can help me...

thx!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481061394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481061394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481061394
Reply with quote  #2

1481061394
Report to moderator
1481061394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481061394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481061394
Reply with quote  #2

1481061394
Report to moderator
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:37:09 PM
 #2

Get a general idea what needs to be installed: https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=26220.msg328027#msg328027
Looks like you are missing SDK (http://developer.amd.com/archive/gpu/ATIStreamSDKv1.4Beta/pages/default.aspx ) and is your X running?


While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 06:21:56 PM
 #3

thank you for your reply!

for the version of fglrx I have installed (10.9) I think SDK 2.2 is the best choice. So I downloaded it here:
http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/pages/AMDAPPSDKDownloadArchive.aspx

now how do i get poclbm to use it?
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 06:48:00 PM
 #4

I am not sure is it going to work in Debian but in Gentoo you have too options:

(adjust those paths for  Debian)  
1) If you get errors about OpenCL programs unable to find libOpenCL.so, simply create a symlink from /opt/amd-app-sdk/lib/x86_64[or32]libOpenCL.so to /usr/lib64[or32]/libOpenCL.so.  Do the same from /opt/amd-app-sdk/lib/x86_64[or32]/libOpenCL.so.1 to /usr/lib64[or32]/libOpenCL.so.1


2) Or you can use: eselect

Code:
$ eselect opencl list

Available OpenCL implementations:
  [1]   ati

$ eselect opencl set 1

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:12:32 PM
 #5

the libs already seem to be there:

/usr/lib# ls -al |grep libO
-rwxr-xr-x  2 root root        16604 12. Jul 20:12 libOpenCL.so
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root           18 12. Jul 11:41 libOpenCL.so.1 -> libOpenCL.so.1.0.0
-rw-r--r--  1 root root        16432  2. Jun 2010  libOpenCL.so.1.0.0
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:36:08 PM
 #6

the libs already seem to be there:

/usr/lib# ls -al |grep libO
-rwxr-xr-x  2 root root        16604 12. Jul 20:12 libOpenCL.so
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root           18 12. Jul 11:41 libOpenCL.so.1 -> libOpenCL.so.1.0.0
-rw-r--r--  1 root root        16432  2. Jun 2010  libOpenCL.so.1.0.0

I am sure those belong to nVidia and not to ATI SDK.
ATI installs to /opt/ 

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:46:54 PM
 #7

there seems to be installed only one of them by ati-stream-sdk:


find /opt -name libO*
/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx32/lib/x86/libOpenCL.so
ellipsis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:29:56 PM
 #8

It looks like there may be two OpenCL distributions installed. As a test:

mv /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.bak
ln -s libOpenCL.so.1 /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so

Then try again. If that doesn't work:

rm /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so
mv /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1 /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1.bak
mv /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1.0.0 /usr/lib/libOpenCL.so.1.0.0.bak
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx32/lib/x86

Then try again.

https://tmmb2ro3icewhmqz.onion/
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:48:33 PM
 #9

nope, didn't do the trick.

If I get it right, I have installed opencl in the nvidia version and need to overwrite it with the ati version.
So I need to overwrite libOpenCL.so and libOpenCL.so.1 with the ones from ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx3. But libOpenCL.so.1 is missing there?
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:51:16 PM
 #10

you need to link /lib/ stuff to ATI versions 

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
ellipsis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:05:06 PM
 #11

nope, didn't do the trick.

If I get it right, I have installed opencl in the nvidia version and need to overwrite it with the ati version.
So I need to overwrite libOpenCL.so and libOpenCL.so.1 with the ones from ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx3. But libOpenCL.so.1 is missing there?
Did the error change? Do you have your ATI platform files in /etc/OpenCL/vendors/? What is the output of these:

ls -la /usr/lib*/libOpenCL*
ls -la /opt/ati-stream-sdk-*/lib/x86
ldd <the binary file from your pyopencl install>

https://tmmb2ro3icewhmqz.onion/
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 11:19:35 AM
 #12

w00t! \o/

[20.415 MH/s (~22 MH/s)] [Rej: 0/1 (0%)]

I think the speed is ok, for the 4650 I have here is some DELL OEM maybe underclocked version with a tiny cooler.

Problem was pyopencl wasn't compiled and installed properly.
Followed that section in this guide to fix it: http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=7514.0

thx for helping me here!
maybe i'll send you some (m)coins to see how that works... Wink
magg0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 02:05:39 PM
 #13

FYI:


aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 72.50 C



aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-getclocks

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    600           500
             Current Peak :    600           500
  Configurable Peak Range : [300-712]     [500-550]
                 GPU load :    96%
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!