Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 07:57:22 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to see progress in solo mining?  (Read 1619 times)
BitIsMyName
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 03:09:24 PM
 #1

hi, I just started trying out mining! Smiley
I want to try solo mining for few days before I decide if I go for a pool or not. But the problem is that I don't know how I can see the progress I'm making. The bitcoin client just says "Generating". I downloaded the GUIMiner and there I see speed and something called "Accepted" but when I restart the computer it starts counting again.

Does anyone know how I can see the progress I'm making?

thanks!
1539719842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539719842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539719842
Reply with quote  #2

1539719842
Report to moderator
1539719842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539719842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539719842
Reply with quote  #2

1539719842
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539719842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539719842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539719842
Reply with quote  #2

1539719842
Report to moderator
kidage
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 03:10:44 PM
 #2

You don't.
XIU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 03:11:49 PM
 #3

It's like asking for your progress in winning the lotto Smiley
BitIsMyName
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 03:15:05 PM
 #4

hmm...  so having only around 20 Mhash/s on my computer I may have to wait for up to few years before I know if this is even working ?  Wink
So going for a pool is probably best? Smiley
strictlyfocused
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 03:27:53 PM
 #5

hmm...  so having only around 20 Mhash/s on my computer I may have to wait for up to few years before I know if this is even working ?  Wink
So going for a pool is probably best? Smiley

A 50 GHash/s pool recently took 14 days to find ONE block. You are in for a long haul without a pool Wink
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 03:29:03 PM
 #6

hmm...  so having only around 20 Mhash/s on my computer I may have to wait for up to few years before I know if this is even working ?  Wink
So going for a pool is probably best? Smiley

Yes, that's exactly it. But even with a pool don't expect to earn much at that rate... You can use the available calculators to forecast the number of coins you will get.
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 03:55:02 PM
 #7

Run your setup against the Bitcoin Testnet (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Testnet).  That way you can see what it's supposed to look like.  Then when you're comfortable it's all working, run against the production blockchain.

This will also be good, because the difficulty on Testnet is so much lower, your hashing rate will actually make a difference.


--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
BitIsMyName
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 05:45:10 PM
 #8

Thanks for very quick replies! Smiley

I have decided to go with a pool... at least while I try this out.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!