Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:50:42 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Are unconfirmed transactions ever lasting in the client?  (Read 1105 times)
piotr_n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


aka tonikt


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 05:26:06 PM
 #1

Will my Bitcoin client ever give up broadcasting one of my unconfirmed transactions?

I mean:
Is there some defined number of blocks after which it will just decide that my transaction does not have a chance to get mined? And so it will put the money back into the wallet, so I could spend it otherwise..
Or is it going to keep the unconfirmed amount blocked forever?

Check out gocoin - my original project of a bitcoin client written in Go, with some unique features.
PGP fingerprint: AB9E A551 E262 A87A 13BB  9059 1BE7 B545 CDF3 FD0E
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481403042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403042
Reply with quote  #2

1481403042
Report to moderator
1481403042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403042
Reply with quote  #2

1481403042
Report to moderator
1481403042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403042
Reply with quote  #2

1481403042
Report to moderator
wolftaur
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 05:32:57 PM
 #2

In the current software implementation, the transaction amount will be broadcast forever and the amount will not be spendable.

"MOOOOOOOM! SOME MYTHICAL WOLFBEAST GUY IS MAKING FUN OF ME ON THE INTERNET!!!!"
piotr_n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


aka tonikt


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 07:04:18 PM
 #3

Thanks for the answer.
This saves me a lot of waiting for something that would never happen Smiley

Check out gocoin - my original project of a bitcoin client written in Go, with some unique features.
PGP fingerprint: AB9E A551 E262 A87A 13BB  9059 1BE7 B545 CDF3 FD0E
kwukduck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 07:54:16 PM
 #4

Just restore a backup of your wallet and rescan, it will put your unbroadcasted coins right back to where they belong, in your balance display.

14b8PdeWLqK3yi3PrNHMmCvSmvDEKEBh3E
wolftaur
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:00:53 PM
 #5

Just restore a backup of your wallet and rescan, it will put your unbroadcasted coins right back to where they belong, in your balance display.

His transaction apparently was broadcast, just never accepted into a block. Though if not one single node he was connected to would even RELAY it, and it's not in any memory pools, that might work. Smiley

"MOOOOOOOM! SOME MYTHICAL WOLFBEAST GUY IS MAKING FUN OF ME ON THE INTERNET!!!!"
opticbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677


PGP: 6EBEBCE1E0507C38


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 08:20:24 PM
 #6

I've seen it take almost an hr for 1 block to be found, I've also seen my transactions take a couple blocks before they get accepted.

I've thought about restoring my wallet from back up on some of these

Set up the same thing..
http://bit.ly/btcrefs
Get more bitcoins.
piotr_n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


aka tonikt


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 08:22:14 PM
 #7

that's ok, it was just a tiny amount - probably too tiny Smiley

Check out gocoin - my original project of a bitcoin client written in Go, with some unique features.
PGP fingerprint: AB9E A551 E262 A87A 13BB  9059 1BE7 B545 CDF3 FD0E
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 10:07:15 PM
 #8

This saves me a lot of waiting for something that would never happen Smiley

If your transaction is queued, it will appear here:
 - http://www.bitcoincharts.com/bitcoin

If it already made it into a block, it will appear here:
  - http://www.blockexplorer.com

If you isn't in either, then leave your client running so that it will rebroadcast it ... something that could take tens of minutes, or more.  It will eventually get included into a block.


gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 10:51:57 PM
 #9

that's ok, it was just a tiny amount - probably too tiny Smiley

The software shouldn't have let you make a transaction which had very low chance of near-term success.  Perhaps you've found a bug?
piotr_n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


aka tonikt


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2011, 06:16:34 AM
 #10

How about that, it got confirmed after all!  Smiley
Thanks for your answers, guys - now I see that its possible.

@gmaxwell, the original software indeed wasn't letting me to make that transaction without a fee.
So I had to force it, by some means... Smiley

Check out gocoin - my original project of a bitcoin client written in Go, with some unique features.
PGP fingerprint: AB9E A551 E262 A87A 13BB  9059 1BE7 B545 CDF3 FD0E
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!