Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 05:03:29 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Working with more than 50 Erupters  (Read 2735 times)
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 03:52:05 AM
 #1

I have a massive Erupter rig that I want to run from a single x64 Win7 computer, but I can't for the life of me get any of the mining software to work with them in large numbers.  

Using:
C:\Users\Miner\Desktop\cgminer-3.4.0-windows\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9332 -u xxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxxx

I've been able to get CGMiner to recognize up to ~50, but if I have more than that connected, it blows up with:
USB all: failed, err -8

Even split over different buses, or specifying exactly which USB bus:address to use, or even running multiple instances of CGMiner (10 erupters each), nothing will get past the -8 error if there's more than ~50 erupters registered in the Device Manager




Now I'm going to try out BFGMiner instead using:
C:\Users\Miner\Desktop\bfgminer-3.1.4-win64\bfgminer.exe -o http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9332 -u xxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxxx -S all --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 --disable-gpu

gives me:
All devices disabled, cannot mine!

I tried the -G option, the -S erupter:all option, removing the Icarus stuff, etc.  Nothing works, even if only one device is plugged in.  The erupters all show up in Device manager under the Universal Serial Bus Devices as CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller.  I installed both the ZTex  driver and the CP210x drivers.  Strange thing is, I had a smaller computer as my original miner, and these devices show up as COM ports in that computer, but not on this one, which is probably the issue, but not sure how to correct it.

I am entirely on USB 2.0 (3.0 doesn't seem to work at all with the erupters...)



Any help would be greatly appreciated Smiley
1537722209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537722209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537722209
Reply with quote  #2

1537722209
Report to moderator
1537722209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537722209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537722209
Reply with quote  #2

1537722209
Report to moderator
1537722209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537722209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537722209
Reply with quote  #2

1537722209
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537722209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537722209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537722209
Reply with quote  #2

1537722209
Report to moderator
1537722209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537722209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537722209
Reply with quote  #2

1537722209
Report to moderator
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 09:12:50 AM
 #2


  Strange thing is, I had a smaller computer as my original miner, and these devices show up as COM ports in that computer, but not on this one, which is probably the issue, but not sure how to correct it.

I am entirely on USB 2.0 (3.0 doesn't seem to work at all with the erupters...)


There's something screwed up with your USB drivers.  Some USB3 chips have weird drivers (I never got them working off AsMedia USB3 chip on my AMD machine, but they work perfectly on my Intel machine's H61 chipset USB3).  They work OK on any USB2 I've tried, even when plugged in through the USB2 hub in my monitor.

You should get a COM port assigned if the VCP drivers and USB drivers are working OK.  Then just use the -S erupter:all - works perfectly for me.

Xer0
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000


°^°


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 02:57:45 PM
 #3

use a WR703N with BFGminer, can adrdress up 100 USBttys
and draws only 1/100 the electricity of your PC...
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 01:16:49 PM
 #4


  Strange thing is, I had a smaller computer as my original miner, and these devices show up as COM ports in that computer, but not on this one, which is probably the issue, but not sure how to correct it.

I am entirely on USB 2.0 (3.0 doesn't seem to work at all with the erupters...)


There's something screwed up with your USB drivers.  Some USB3 chips have weird drivers (I never got them working off AsMedia USB3 chip on my AMD machine, but they work perfectly on my Intel machine's H61 chipset USB3).  They work OK on any USB2 I've tried, even when plugged in through the USB2 hub in my monitor.

You should get a COM port assigned if the VCP drivers and USB drivers are working OK.  Then just use the -S erupter:all - works perfectly for me.

I finally managed to get it all working.  Reinstalled the drivers and that fixed the COM ports not registering issue.  Then I had to write custom software to spawn multiple CGMiner instances
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 01:30:56 PM
 #5

use a WR703N with BFGminer, can adrdress up 100 USBttys
and draws only 1/100 the electricity of your PC...

You mean to say that the router is the host of BFGMiner?
JHashYbor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 04:47:20 AM
 #6


  Strange thing is, I had a smaller computer as my original miner, and these devices show up as COM ports in that computer, but not on this one, which is probably the issue, but not sure how to correct it.

I am entirely on USB 2.0 (3.0 doesn't seem to work at all with the erupters...)


There's something screwed up with your USB drivers.  Some USB3 chips have weird drivers (I never got them working off AsMedia USB3 chip on my AMD machine, but they work perfectly on my Intel machine's H61 chipset USB3).  They work OK on any USB2 I've tried, even when plugged in through the USB2 hub in my monitor.

You should get a COM port assigned if the VCP drivers and USB drivers are working OK.  Then just use the -S erupter:all - works perfectly for me.


can anyone else confirm this works??? """"Then just use the -S erupter:all - """""

the reason i asked b.c my first two days of script in i was forced into thinking that I have to do this in the target line...

--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S \\.\COM3 -S \\.\COM13 -S \\.\COM14 -S \\.\COM15 -S \\.\COM15 -S\\.\COM16 -S \\.\COM17 -S \\.\COM 18 -S \\.\COM19 -S \\.\COM 20 -S \\.\COM21 -S \\.\COM 22 -S \\.\COM24 -S \\.\COM25 -S \\.\COM26 -S \\.\COM28 -S \\.\COM30 -S \\.\COM31


im a noob...hows that look??? trying to get 16 erups to run paired with a jally 8.3 gh. i can get them to run on BITMINTER java buttt. trying to find the target code that will work best?

Im on Windows 7 with a intel 2.5 i 5 with 8gb of ram. Its no super computer but im thinking i should have no problem running 17 miners...

Someone wanna give me a target code that works for me with those com ports used above...Im making a shortcut in the program folder where the BFG file exist...clicking properties ...going down to target line box and trying this...someone help..hahah...target line inputted as follows.

"C:\Users\Buddys Adamo\Downloads\bfgminer-3.1.4-win64 (3)\bfgminer-3.1.4-win64\bfgminer.exe" -o pool.50btc.com:8332 -u xxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxxx --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S \\.\COM3 -S \\.\COM13 -S \\.\COM14 -S \\.\COM15 -S \\.\COM15 -S\\.\COM16 -S \\.\COM17 -S \\.\COM 18 -S \\.\COM19 -S \\.\COM 20 -S \\.\COM21 -S \\.\COM 22 -S \\.\COM24 -S \\.\COM25 -S \\.\COM26 -S \\.\COM28 -S \\.\COM30 -S \\.\COM31

Please helpppp =)

xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 06, 2013, 04:55:21 AM
 #7

Xubuntu - plug and play no issues with 30, 48, 70, and then 100 erupters with long runtimes since cgminer 3.1.1.  Currently at 103 on v3.4.2

Only problem I currently have is high HW errors 3 out of 5 reboots.  Once it's running, it'll go indefinitely (2+ weeks before I've tinkered a required reboot).

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
JHashYbor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 05:01:14 AM
 #8

so I just tried that script for the first time...and I only get 3 erups and the jally working...the rest are still all green  Huh? Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh
JHashYbor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 05:25:49 AM
 #9

so now that this works


 "C:\Users\Buddys Adamo\Downloads\bfgminer-3.1.4-win64 (3)\bfgminer-3.1.4-win64\bfgminer.exe" -o pool.50btc.com:8332 -u XXXXXXXX@XXX.XXX -p XXXXXXX --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S erupter:all

Can I add after -S erupter:all

-S erupter -S \\.\COM22

if I know COM 22 is my Jally,would that work???
dresdenreader
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 07:09:18 PM
 #10

so now that this works


 "C:\Users\Buddys Adamo\Downloads\bfgminer-3.1.4-win64 (3)\bfgminer-3.1.4-win64\bfgminer.exe" -o pool.50btc.com:8332 -u XXXXXXXX@XXX.XXX -p XXXXXXX --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S erupter:all

Can I add after -S erupter:all

-S erupter -S \\.\COM22

if I know COM 22 is my Jally,would that work???

I have a similar setup to yours.

This was my solution:
Grabbed zadig from here - http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/zadig/
Grabbed CGMiner 3.4.3 from here - http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/
Grabbed the CP210x USB to UART Bridge VCP Drivers from here - http://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/pages/usbtouartbridgevcpdrivers.aspx

I plugged everything in. I ran the installer for the CP210X USB to UART Bridge VCP Drivers. You may have to restart after this.
I kept everything plugged in.
I ran zadig and chose the "List All Devices" option.
I looked for the BitFORCE SHA256 SC device from the dropdown, I then installed the WinUSB driver. Bare in mind this will probably require a restart.
After the restart, I ran zadig again and looked for CP2012 USB to UART Bridge Controller (You can select any one of your 16 devices, I personally chose the first one.) Again, install the WinUSB driver. This may not require a restart, but if it does, go ahead and restart again. You will most likely only need to do this once, as it will effect all of the devices on the CP2012 USB to UART Bridge Controller.

Now onto CG Miner.
For my specific setup, I wanted to run one worker (with my Jalapeno) for PPLNS and another worker (all my erupters) for PPS on BTCGuild, looks like you would just be using 50BTC in your specific case.
These are my command lines: (these are simple lines on a text file that I turned into batch files)
for the Jalapeno Only - cgminer -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u XXX_1 -p XXX --disable-gpu --usb BFL:1, ICA:0
(Basically, I specify that I only want to run 1 BFL device, my jalapeno, and no icarus devices, the erupters)
for the Erupters Only - cgminer -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u XXX_2 -p XXX --disable-gpu --usb ICA:18

My order of operations is to run the BFL only batch file first, let it connect, let it grab a few shares just to make sure its working.
I then run the Erupters batch file. It then finds everything and I'm good to go.

I've found this specific setup to be FAR MORE reliable and stable than BFG Miner, and I ran BFG Miner for the Jalapeno and erupters for about 2 weeks straight.

Alternatively, if you want to only run one instance of CGMiner, you could use this line in a batch file instead:
cgminer -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u XXX_1 -p XXX --disable-gpu --usb BFL:1, ICA:16

Bare in mind that this exact setup may not work for you, and you may be required to unplug and plug back in the USB miners if you get any errors.

BTC - 16CCpAqNiuqVNkihfEY3UjDsR5UAFYbiMX
DARK LORD CTHULHU BE PRAISED - OFF - QgdYCLwJAE8CA287xUVi5Zkv6NN9PDaA78
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294383.0
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 09:32:35 PM
 #11

I actually use 3.1.1 CGMiner now with very customized sentry software that I wrote that automatically detects errored-out erupters and reconnects them so they can be restarted in CGMiner.  It's a thing of beauty.  242 Erupters all online, full-speed, 1 Quad i5 running the whole show, and about to double the erupter count over the coming weeks Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!