Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:29:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why is my 2nd card slower than my first card?  (Read 1272 times)
noob_jul11
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 11:17:28 PM
 #1

Both cards are 6970s.

My DEVICE 0 is running at 360MH/s and my DEVICE 1 is running at 200MH/s.

aticonfig --odgt shows both are the same.

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    250           150
             Current Peak :    880           1375
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-950]     [1375-1450]
                 GPU load :    0%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    250           150
             Current Peak :    880           1375
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-950]     [1375-1450]
                 GPU load :    0%


PS. Using phoenix 1.50
1481311798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311798
Reply with quote  #2

1481311798
Report to moderator
1481311798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311798
Reply with quote  #2

1481311798
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 12, 2011, 11:23:04 PM
 #2

It doesn't look like you're mining at all.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
xane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 11:34:20 PM
 #3

Also make sure you are starting your second miner on DISPLAY=:0.1 or whatnot.

https://cardsforbitcoins.com - Instantly exchange Bitcoins for Amazon gift cards
noob_jul11
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 12:32:54 AM
 #4

It doesn't look like you're mining at all.

you're right. The copy and paste is when the miner is not working. I turned it off so I can copy and paste without lag. But when it's running, both GPU Loads are at 99%.
noob_jul11
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 12:33:55 AM
 #5

Also make sure you are starting your second miner on DISPLAY=:0.1 or whatnot.

what does DISPLAY=:0.1 do?
kripz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 01:53:03 AM
 #6

Device 0 is the first card, most likely the one on top. I'm guessing its sucking in hot air from the bottom card and is now overheating and throttling.

Code:
aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all

 Merged mining, free SMS notifications, PayPal payout and much more.
http://btcstats.net/sig/JZCODg2
noob_jul11
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 02:46:17 AM
 #7

Device 0 is the first card, most likely the one on top. I'm guessing its sucking in hot air from the bottom card and is now overheating and throttling.

Code:
aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all

I thank you for trying to help; however, I don't think that's the case, unfortunately. In another thread of mine, I had asked for help on controlling both cards' temperature (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28359.0).

The fact is my 1st card (DEVICE 0) is at 77C (with the control of fan speed) and my 2nd card (DEVICE 1) is 91C.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:07:07 AM
 #8

The fact is my 1st card (DEVICE 0) is at 77C (with the control of fan speed) and my 2nd card (DEVICE 1) is 91C.

Motherboard? Case? Airflow?

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
linkme
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:08:27 AM
 #9

The fact is my 1st card (DEVICE 0) is at 77C (with the control of fan speed) and my 2nd card (DEVICE 1) is 91C.

Motherboard? Case? Airflow?

i'd prolly just say airflow !

Tips in moon or sun Smiley
MOON: 2Jw7MyybsQuGmu5ryXLDUHFh1K7vZvuYFX  SUN: SMYNggLsTQo8fgVbjZy7fMbdrEEzt4XFtC
naypalm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1212


AFK :/


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2011, 03:14:07 AM
 #10

I say airflow/lack of fans or crossfire is enabled/plugged in.

organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2011, 03:21:52 AM
 #11

Device 0 is the first card, most likely the one on top. I'm guessing its sucking in hot air from the bottom card and is now overheating and throttling.

Code:
aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all

I thank you for trying to help; however, I don't think that's the case, unfortunately. In another thread of mine, I had asked for help on controlling both cards' temperature (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28359.0).

The fact is my 1st card (DEVICE 0) is at 77C (with the control of fan speed) and my 2nd card (DEVICE 1) is 91C.

So you don't have control of fan speed with your other, hotter 6970? I haven't looked at the other post.

91C is hot enough to throttle the 6970 (done that)

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:29:39 AM
 #12

What kind of power supply you have ?

I did try running 2 cards with a 550W. I was not able to push both of them to 99%. One of the card was going crazy from 60% to 90%. I changed the power supply for a good 850W and I can run both cards at 99% now.
DrKennethNoisewater
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:35:03 AM
 #13

Sounds like your cards are simply to close together.

You need atleast 1/4 inch or so between cards, otherwise one can't breathe.

Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:06:29 PM
 #14

I take it you have the agression level set very high on both cards (11+)? You might try lowering this on one or both cards and see if that helps. I currently have my levels at 7 for GPU 0 and 9 for GPU 1. I've noticed that when I up aggression to 9 on GPU 0, this just lowers the hash rate on GPU 1, and my overall hash rate goes down a little. This is with fastloop left on, which may be a factor (but I wasn't seeing stale shares). I've tried going to 11 (lol, Spinal Tap) on GPU 1 (with fastloop off), and while this increases my hash rate for this worker, it seems to completely choke the share submission rate for the worker. I'm not sure what's going on, maybe I'm just a newb who hasn't yet figured out how to properyly tweak my cards, but I've notice that a higher hash rate (that appears stable) doesn't necessarily lead to a higher share rate. Rather than focusing on hash rate, I've been watching the number of accepted shares produced by each GPU (say over the course of an hour) on different settings, and trying to tweak that way to maximize my share rate. Due to variance, though, an hour may not be enough for reliable data, so eventually I need to start looking at longer time periods. Again, stale shares on not an issue here, I'm just seeing a difference in the rate of submitted shares that doesn't correlate perfectly with hash rate. Also, I don't think temp is a factor, since both cards are reasonably cool (below 80), and running at similar temps. Even if something like this helps, though, it sounds like you have some other issue as well. 
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2011, 03:14:56 PM
 #15

Rather than focusing on hash rate, I've been watching the number of accepted shares produced by each GPU (say over the course of an hour) on different settings, and trying to tweak that way to maximize my share rate. Due to variance, though, an hour may not be enough for reliable data, so eventually I need to start looking at longer time periods.

Just an fyi - plotting the data and using a linear model rather than just getting an average leads to more reliable results. You can do this using deepbit and microsoft excel if they're the only tools you have to hand.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:45:09 PM
 #16

Rather than focusing on hash rate, I've been watching the number of accepted shares produced by each GPU (say over the course of an hour) on different settings, and trying to tweak that way to maximize my share rate. Due to variance, though, an hour may not be enough for reliable data, so eventually I need to start looking at longer time periods.

Just an fyi - plotting the data and using a linear model rather than just getting an average leads to more reliable results. You can do this using deepbit and microsoft excel if they're the only tools you have to hand.

Thanks - I know I've been doing this in a pretty casual way, and need to get more serious about the data. That is, if it doesn't take too much time. For my modest rig, there's definitely a point of greatly diminished return on the amount of time I spend tweaking my cards.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!