Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2018, 07:49:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how can I start only the terminal on Ubuntu 11?  (Read 4623 times)
brunoshady
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 250

Dubs Get


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 10:19:14 PM
 #1

How can I start only the terminal, without the gnome, in Ubuntu 11?


already tried to uninstall gdm but had no success =/

😆
1529653777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529653777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529653777
Reply with quote  #2

1529653777
Report to moderator
1529653777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529653777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529653777
Reply with quote  #2

1529653777
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 10:55:14 PM
 #2

Install the server version.
brunoshady
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 250

Dubs Get


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 11:00:19 PM
 #3

how can I do it with a normal version already installed?

😆
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 12:23:57 AM
 #4

There are several ways.

If you want, you can just remove the entire xserver (package xserver-xorg).

Another way, if you want to keep X installed, is to go to /etc/init.d, and move the files "gdm" and "xorg-common" somewhere else.

Edit: If you're mining with an ATI card, you need the xserver running to mine. In that case, you might want to simply replace GNOME with a more lightweight alternative.

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
brunoshady
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 250

Dubs Get


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 01:27:22 AM
 #5

I don't want to uninstall anything...


for ati mining, the xserver need to be running?

😆
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 04:49:02 AM
 #6

I don't want to uninstall anything...

for ati mining, the xserver need to be running?

Yeah, Nvidia has a set of special scripts that let you run CUDA stuff without the xserver, but for ATI it has to be running. If you just want a more lightweight desktop you could try running LXDE or even just openbox on its own (which is what I do).

If you still want to not start the Xserver at boot, go to /etc/init.d, and move the files "gdm" and "xorg-common" somewhere else. If you do this, you can still start the xserver by running "startx".

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1003


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2011, 01:55:16 PM
 #7

Modify the default runlevel in /etc/inittab if you're using init.
If you're using systemd, change the default target link in /etc/systemd/system

Normally, runlevel 1 is single user mode, 3 is full multi-user, and 5 is multi-user with GUI. So you should change 5 to 3.

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:46:19 PM
 #8

Modify the default runlevel in /etc/inittab if you're using init.
If you're using systemd, change the default target link in /etc/systemd/system

Normally, runlevel 1 is single user mode, 3 is full multi-user, and 5 is multi-user with GUI. So you should change 5 to 3.

Ubuntu switched to upstart recently (they used to use inittab). Anyway, their runlevels were always messed up even when they used inittab - 1 was single user mode, 2 and up were multi-user w/ X.

Anyway, this got me thinking that the easiest way to disable X would probably be to modify the kernel options passed by GRUB.

In /etc/default/grub, there's a line like:
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
replace it with:
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash text"
and then run:
Code:
sudo update-grub

Then, at any time, you can simply run startx if you'd like to run X.

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
brunoshady
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 250

Dubs Get


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:05:43 PM
 #9

another question...



when I'm on ssh and start the miner, how can I get the screen again after close and open again?


for example:


I open ssh now and run some random miner, and then exits...

later the same day, I want to see how things are going, how can I open again and see the hashes? (echos/prints from the previous session)



Already tried the cat /dev/pts/2 but nothing happens, only black screen

😆
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:11:30 PM
 #10

another question...



when I'm on ssh and start the miner, how can I get the screen again after close and open again?


for example:


I open ssh now and run some random miner, and then exits...

later the same day, I want to see how things are going, how can I open again and see the hashes? (echos/prints from the previous session)



Already tried the cat /dev/pts/2 but nothing happens, only black screen

unless you use screen or something, starting a miner then closing that ssh session will end the miner.
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2011, 12:11:14 AM
 #11

when I'm on ssh and start the miner, how can I get the screen again after close and open again?

Use screen:

Code:
sudo apt-get install screen

Start your miners (assuming 2 GPUs) using:

Code:
/usr/bin/screen -dmS gpu0 phoenix.py -q 3 -v -u http://${MINERUSER}:${MINERPASS}@${MINERSERV} -k phatk WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=15 DEVICE=0
/usr/bin/screen -dmS gpu1 phoenix.py -q 3 -v -u http://${MINERUSER}:${MINERPASS}@${MINERSERV} -k phatk WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=15 DEVICE=1

Obviously, replace the variables with things that work for you.

Connect to a miner GPU0 using:
Code:
screen -r gpu0

To exit a miner screen and leave it running use:  CNTL-A, D



--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!