Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2018, 07:11:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help to upgrade old mining computers + other questions  (Read 104 times)
ccexperiment
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 05:19:28 PM
 #1

Hello everybody,

My last try with mining, was few years ago (exactly when Litecoin was released).
I was Mining Litecoin and Dogecoin but stopped for private reason.

I want to get back in the mining and i know everything has changed ...


Actually i have this configuration:

POWER: 1200 WATT GOLD
Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G45 (UP to 3 Video card)
CPU: Intel Core I3 - 3220 @ 3.30GHZ
Memory: 16GO DDR3
Video card: 2x SAPPHIRE DUAL R9 280X 3GO DDR5 OC
hard disk: 500 GB WD Greenpower (probably a 5400 round)

i understand this is too old (at least for the GPU).

so my questions ...

what do i have to change? everything or just video card? (i dont want to mine with the CPU)
Do i have to do somme upgrade (more ram?, what kind of hardware?, more power for the PSU?)
Wich coin to mine?
wich software? (Minergate? Claymore, Cgminer?)
Wich Pool to join?

actually with this configuration i'm minning XMR at arround 600 H/s


thank you for your help
1524813097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524813097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524813097
Reply with quote  #2

1524813097
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1179


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 06:52:56 PM
 #2

Hello everybody,

My last try with mining, was few years ago (exactly when Litecoin was released).
I was Mining Litecoin and Dogecoin but stopped for private reason.

I want to get back in the mining and i know everything has changed ...


Actually i have this configuration:

POWER: 1200 WATT GOLD
Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G45 (UP to 3 Video card)
CPU: Intel Core I3 - 3220 @ 3.30GHZ
Memory: 16GO DDR3
Video card: 2x SAPPHIRE DUAL R9 280X 3GO DDR5 OC
hard disk: 500 GB WD Greenpower (probably a 5400 round)

i understand this is too old (at least for the GPU).

so my questions ...

what do i have to change? everything or just video card? (i dont want to mine with the CPU)
Do i have to do somme upgrade (more ram?, what kind of hardware?, more power for the PSU?)
Wich coin to mine?
wich software? (Minergate? Claymore, Cgminer?)
Wich Pool to join?

actually with this configuration i'm minning XMR at arround 600 H/s


thank you for your help

You need new cards the rest will work

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1029


Use SegWit and enjoy lower fees


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 07:05:45 PM
 #3

1. You only need to get new GPU which is more efficient such as RX 470,480,570,580 or GTX 1060,1070. Dual R9 280X is still profitable if your electricity price is low.
2. You don't need to upgrade anything, in fact 1200W is overkill for 3 GPU.
3. Check this website https://whattomine.com
4. Mining software depends on which coin or coin algorithm you mine.
5. Do your own research, but i suggest pool with good hashrate percentage (between 5%-40%) and low fees.

    ▄████████▄
  ▄████████████▄
 ████████████████
██████████████████
██████████████████
██████████████████
 ████████████████
  ▀████████████▀
    ▀████████▀

    █ ███ ██ █
   █ ██ ██ ██ █
  █ ██ █  █ ██ █
      █    █
   ▄  ▄█▀
   ██▄▀▀
 ▄ ▀▀▄█▀
 ██ ▀▄
▄ ▀▄█▀
▀██▀▀▄
▄▄▄ ██
 ▀▀▀▀▄█
 ▀██ █▀▄█
   ▄▄▄▄▀█ █▄
    ▀▄▄▄▄ ▀█ █▄▄
      ▀▀▀█▄▄▄ ▀▀▀ ▄
        ▀▀▀▀▄███▀ ▀
▀█▄  ▄   
▀▀▄██   
▀█▄▀▀ ▄
▄▀ ██
▀█▄▀ ▄
▄▀▀██▀
██ ▄▄▄
█▄▀▀▀▀
█▄▀█ ██▀
▄█ █▀▄▄▄▄   
▄▄█ █▀ ▄▄▄▄▀   
▄ ▀▀▀ ▄▄▄█▀▀▀     
▀ ▀███▄▀▀▀▀       
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄███████████████▀▀▀█████▄
▄████████████▀▀     ██████▄
█████████▀▀   ▄▄▀   ███████
██████▄    ▄▄█▀    ████████
█████████▄██▀      ████████
▀██████████▄▄    ████████▀
 ▀████████▄█████▄████████▀
  ▀█████████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
.
.......ADD.......
yahoo62278
   ▄▄█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
█████████▀▀▀   ▀▀▀█████
███████            ▀████▄
██████     █████▄   █████▄
 █████▄     ▀▀▀▀██████████
 ███████▄          ▀██████
 ██████▀▀████▄▄▄▄   ▀█████
 ▀████    ▀██████    ██████
  ▀███▄     ▀▀▀▀    ███████
    █████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄█████████
      ▀██████████████████▀
          ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀
szafa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 02, 2018, 07:50:22 PM
 #4

This computer is ok,change only gpu and should be fine.Lbry price is almost stable ,nvidia have better gpu to mine this algo.


              ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████▀▀▀          ▀▀▀██████▄
   ▄████▀                      ▀████▄
 ▄███▀                            ▀███▄
 ███                                ███
▐██▌                                ▐██▌
▐██▌                                ▐██▌
 ███                                ███
 ▀███▄                            ▄███▀
 ▄ ▀████▄                      ▄████▀ ▄
 ▀█▄ ▀██████▄▄▄          ▄▄▄██████▀ ▄█▀
   ▀██▄▄ ▀████████████████████▀ ▄▄██▀
      ▀███▄▄▄▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▄▄▄▄███▀
          ▀▀▀██████████████▀▀▀
████
████
████





████
████
████
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
....Pay anywhere, buy anything with Crypto.....
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
ANN THREAD..WHITEPAPER..BOUNTY THREAD
████
████
████





████
████
████

              ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████▀▀▀          ▀▀▀██████▄
   ▄████▀                      ▀████▄
 ▄███▀             ▄███▌          ▀███▄
 ███               ██▀              ███
▐██▌             ██████             ▐██▌
▐██▌               ██               ▐██▌
 ███               ██               ███
 ▀███▄             ▀▀             ▄███▀
 ▄ ▀████▄                      ▄████▀ ▄
 ▀█▄ ▀██████▄▄▄          ▄▄▄██████▀ ▄█▀
   ▀██▄▄ ▀████████████████████▀ ▄▄██▀
      ▀███▄▄▄▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▄▄▄▄███▀
          ▀▀▀██████████████▀▀▀

              ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
     ▄██████▀▀▀          ▀▀▀██████▄
   ▄████▀             ▄▄▄ ▄    ▀████▄
 ▄███▀       █▄     ▄█████▄       ▀███▄
 ███         ▐███▄▄▄██████          ███
▐██▌          ▀███████████          ▐██▌
▐██▌           ▄█████████           ▐██▌
 ███            ▀█████▀▀            ███
 ▀███▄         ▀▀▀▀               ▄███▀
 ▄ ▀████▄                      ▄████▀ ▄
 ▀█▄ ▀██████▄▄▄          ▄▄▄██████▀ ▄█▀
   ▀██▄▄ ▀████████████████████▀ ▄▄██▀
      ▀███▄▄▄▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▄▄▄▄███▀
          ▀▀▀██████████████▀▀▀
Bansheetenin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 08:14:31 PM
 #5

Hello everybody,

My last try with mining, was few years ago (exactly when Litecoin was released).
I was Mining Litecoin and Dogecoin but stopped for private reason.

I want to get back in the mining and i know everything has changed ...


Actually i have this configuration:

POWER: 1200 WATT GOLD
Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G45 (UP to 3 Video card)
CPU: Intel Core I3 - 3220 @ 3.30GHZ
Memory: 16GO DDR3
Video card: 2x SAPPHIRE DUAL R9 280X 3GO DDR5 OC
hard disk: 500 GB WD Greenpower (probably a 5400 round)

i understand this is too old (at least for the GPU).

so my questions ...

what do i have to change? everything or just video card? (i dont want to mine with the CPU)
Do i have to do somme upgrade (more ram?, what kind of hardware?, more power for the PSU?)
Wich coin to mine?
wich software? (Minergate? Claymore, Cgminer?)
Wich Pool to join?

actually with this configuration i'm minning XMR at arround 600 H/s


thank you for your help
first step is change your GPU, buy the new one. just like "some old member said, use search button or google". we are same as a newcomer here.
the next step is try to adjust the hardware to get more efficient electricity (optimum usage).
software and pool, there are so many threads about it. try to read all of them first would be better for us  Wink
ccexperiment
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 08:46:30 PM
 #6

Thank you all for the reply!

i have 2 more question:

someone told nvidia better but from what i can see on whatomine with 3x RX 580 i got more money than with 3x NVIDIA 1060 Huh
What's the best to buy?

from what i can see the best for me is to buy 3x 1060 (for around 1200€) 1070 will cost me 2100€ and the difference is not significative enought
so for a start i think 1060 will be great

if i mine ETH actualy i can earn around 30€ by days

but i have one question. i have checked whatomine as it was told me in comment and they say : +150/+500 with 65% TDP  


what this the signification of this? +150/+500 with 65% TDP  



thank you
Undefined31415
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2018, 09:33:54 PM
 #7

Thank you all for the reply!

i have 2 more question:

someone told nvidia better but from what i can see on whatomine with 3x RX 580 i got more money than with 3x NVIDIA 1060 Huh
What's the best to buy?

from what i can see the best for me is to buy 3x 1060 (for around 1200€) 1070 will cost me 2100€ and the difference is not significative enought
so for a start i think 1060 will be great

if i mine ETH actualy i can earn around 30€ by days

but i have one question. i have checked whatomine as it was told me in comment and they say : +150/+500 with 65% TDP  


what this the signification of this? +150/+500 with 65% TDP  
thank you

Comparing AMD vs. Nvidia is still a rather general thing. You could have a more useful discussion when looking at certain algorithms, but it's usually better to compare GPUs by individual merit. (We've moved beyond the times when Nvidia cards were almost never used for mining, back when SHA256 and Scrypt dominated.)

Be sure to consider 3GB vs. 6GB 1060 cards. The amount of memory matters more now than it did back around 2013-2014. For example, 2GB cards are entirely obsolete (save for workarounds that are hit-and-miss and definitely not worth it at this point) for Ethereum mining. For the 3GB 1060, it can still mine ETH and should for quite a bit longer, but directly mining ETH is usually not the most profitable option for it, regardless. The 3GB 1060 tends to shine more on equihash coins (Zcash, ZEN, BTG, etc.), where the 6GB version only offers a marginal performance increase.

As for your last question, those are for the clock settings and power limit. Most overclocking utilities for recent Nvidia GPUs write the settings in terms of the increase from the base clocks, unlike AMD GPUs. Keep in mind that your mileage will vary due to the silicon lottery (in general, Samsung memory offers the best overclocking potential for memory clocks, with Micron being second, and Hynix being dead last). To be clear, that goes clock/mem/power.


           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   Anonymity Guaranteed
   Anonymous and Untraceable
   Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 11:10:07 PM
 #8

What OP needs is just another 7970/ 280X, PSU will handle it easily.

DO NOT buy NEW gpu's!!! No AMD no NVIDIA!!!

WTF is wrong with you guys?

OP can pm me if interested in how to do some profitable 280x mining.

edit: Sorry, I just hate to see these moon posts.
pickleburglar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 11:27:56 PM
 #9

The computer specs are far overkill for mining, most of my rigs run 5 cards on 2gb of ram and way weaker cpu's than a modern i3.

The 280x's are still good for mining, not the most profit you can pull out of a pcie slot but there's still no reason to sell them.

What you need is more cards, with 1x to 16x risers your motherboard can take 7 gpu's so get some risers and load those slots up. Your PSU can easily do 7x of rx580's or gtx1070's or vega's, whatever (you don't have to have the same type of card in every slot, you can mix), when power optimized, none of those cards drain over 120w.

Also you're gonna have a bad time looking for fresh cards to buy in a store right now, everything is sold out and preordered to hell. Look for second hand, local auction sites, facebook groups and whatever, I picked up 16 480's for €250 a pop just a few days ago and they move like that all the time, just gotta keep an eye out.
ccexperiment
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 11:15:39 AM
 #10

can you show me pics or name of kind of riser i need to have more pci-e slot on my computer?
only one i found seems to be just an extender not a multiplier.

i'm interested on extending my 3 slots to seven.

Actually i have 3 cards and 4 more are comming.


Thank you
Undefined31415
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2018, 07:05:31 AM
 #11

can you show me pics or name of kind of riser i need to have more pci-e slot on my computer?
only one i found seems to be just an extender not a multiplier.

i'm interested on extending my 3 slots to seven.

Actually i have 3 cards and 4 more are comming.


Thank you

Note that the PCIe "multiplier" devices are hit-and-miss. Even if you assume your unit has no defects, those devices cannot guarantee that all of the physically available slots will work. You may get all, some, or even none of the extra slots when using one of those.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   Anonymity Guaranteed
   Anonymous and Untraceable
   Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
ccexperiment
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 11:08:40 AM
 #12

i understand but can you show me what i need because i'm finding thinks called riser (to give more space probably) but they don't multiply my PCIE Slots
pickleburglar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 12:21:36 PM
 #13

you already have 7 PCIE slots, not 3
ccexperiment
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 12:59:30 PM
 #14

you already have 7 PCIE slots, not 3

indeed after a quick check

i have 3x PCI-E 16x and 4x PCI-E 1x

so only riser will be enought


thanks
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!