Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 08:00:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: USB Block erupter  (Read 1768 times)
JBT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 05:53:36 PM
 #1

my friend gave me his usb block erupters, i install the drivers and they show up as comm devices. how do i use guiminer with them as bfgminer just uses one pool for them all.

can someone at least point me in the right direction
1513281607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513281607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513281607
Reply with quote  #2

1513281607
Report to moderator
1513281607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513281607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513281607
Reply with quote  #2

1513281607
Report to moderator
1513281607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513281607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513281607
Reply with quote  #2

1513281607
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513281607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513281607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513281607
Reply with quote  #2

1513281607
Report to moderator
1513281607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513281607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513281607
Reply with quote  #2

1513281607
Report to moderator
1513281607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513281607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513281607
Reply with quote  #2

1513281607
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044



View Profile
September 03, 2013, 06:24:00 PM
 #2

guiminer doesn't seem to support USB block erupters. See topic: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3878.0

cgminer seems to be supported though (see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=220450.msg2321308#msg2321308), so you can mine on multiple pools with that.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
JBT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 06:34:21 PM
 #3

guiminer doesn't seem to support USB block erupters. See topic: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3878.0

cgminer seems to be supported though (see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=220450.msg2321308#msg2321308), so you can mine on multiple pools with that.

thanks going to lookl. i use bfgminer with a few shortcuts bit instead of using -S all  i used -S com8  and the other shortcut -S com9.   althou com10 and com 11 doesnt seem work.....   with -S all only uses one worker....messy

ed..... \\.\com10 works now got all miners in seperate windows.....not nice but hell it works
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 06:53:29 PM
 #4

I have seen where someone use -S erupter:all instead of -S all, dont know if that worked in bfgminer.  Also, you have to make sure you have the icarus options configured right, --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100"

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 848



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 12:48:47 AM
 #5

Also, be aware that for many setups, cgminer 3.1.1 works best with Erupters.

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 01:19:38 AM
 #6

Using the later CGMiner's with direct USB makes it really easy to run multiple instances with however many AMU's you want in each instance.

I use the command line --usb ICA:5 in each instance and have 5 devices pointed at multiple pools.  Makes it really easy to assess pool performance.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 01:51:23 AM
 #7

Using the later CGMiner's with direct USB makes it really easy to run multiple instances with however many AMU's you want in each instance.

I use the command line --usb ICA:5 in each instance and have 5 devices pointed at multiple pools.  Makes it really easy to assess pool performance.
Sam

really? it works like that? what if there is one gpu, will they fight over it? i was wondering what i was going to do when there were too many AMUs to fit in the bigest window i can make.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 02:38:55 AM
 #8

Using the later CGMiner's with direct USB makes it really easy to run multiple instances with however many AMU's you want in each instance.

I use the command line --usb ICA:5 in each instance and have 5 devices pointed at multiple pools.  Makes it really easy to assess pool performance.
Sam

really? it works like that? what if there is one gpu, will they fight over it? i was wondering what i was going to do when there were too many AMUs to fit in the bigest window i can make.

Yep, just like that.

I retired my GPU's so I use the cgminer-nogpu.exe.

So if you want to run one instance of cgmner.exe for your GPU's only use --usb ICA:0 and it won't use any AMU's.  Then run a separate instance with cgminer-nogpu.exe for all your AMU's, or any number of them you wish.

It's covered in the readme under "Advanced USB options:".
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 02:42:49 AM
 #9

i suppose that i could run one regular instance and one no gpu instance.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 02:49:34 AM
 #10

i suppose that i could run one regular instance and one no gpu instance.

Yep, or use -G to disable your GPU with regular cgminer.exe.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 07:15:57 AM
 #11

Install VCP drivers, run bfgminer with the -S eruper:all -G parameters, that'll mine with the Erupters and not the GPU.  Remove the -G to mine with GPU as well.  Simple.

Or you could use cgminer to do the GPU mining, and bfg for the Erupters.

Personally I find bfg to be far better for the Erupters - I still use cg for GPU mining (basically because it's working and I couldn't be bothered changing it).

| 
 
50
| 




                       ▄
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
▄▄▄▄█████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████

█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
▀▀▀▀█████  █████████████
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
                       ▀
| 
 
$1,5 M
|


        ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
      ▄█████▀▀███▀▀█████▄
    ▄███▀     ███     ▀███▄
   ████       ███       ████
  ███▀                   ▀███
 ███▀                     ▀███
▄██▀       █████████       ▀██▄
███                         ███
███        █████████        ███
███                         ███
▀██▄       █████████       ▄██▀
 ███▄                     ▄███
  ███▄                   ▄███
   ████       ███       ████
    ▀███▄     ███     ▄███▀
      ▀█████▄▄███▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀
 
|
 
<>
<>
<>
<>
 
GITHUB
TWITTER
YOUTUBE
FACEBOOK
JBT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 04:29:59 PM
 #12

Install VCP drivers, run bfgminer with the -S eruper:all -G parameters, that'll mine with the Erupters and not the GPU.  Remove the -G to mine with GPU as well.  Simple.

Or you could use cgminer to do the GPU mining, and bfg for the Erupters.

Personally I find bfg to be far better for the Erupters - I still use cg for GPU mining (basically because it's working and I couldn't be bothered changing it).

can i specify which erupter to use instead of all?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!