Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 09:04:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-Qt / bitcoind version 0.8.4 released, fixes critical DoS vulnerability  (Read 39529 times)
Boussac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1178


e-ducat.fr


View Profile WWW
September 05, 2013, 03:55:48 PM
 #61

Updated on OSX and Win7 without a glitch. Many thanks to the dev team.

1508792660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508792660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508792660
Reply with quote  #2

1508792660
Report to moderator
1508792660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508792660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508792660
Reply with quote  #2

1508792660
Report to moderator
1508792660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508792660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508792660
Reply with quote  #2

1508792660
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508792660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508792660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508792660
Reply with quote  #2

1508792660
Report to moderator
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 06:29:39 PM
 #62

I think the Ubuntu PPA is maintained by Matt, whose credibility and honesty is above question.
iamnightelf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 08:30:46 PM
 #63

I upgraded to 0.8.4 on OS X 10.8 without issue, no DB corruption or whatnot, HOWEVER, now I made my first transaction since upgrading and I can't get the transaction to confirm, it has been 1.5 hours since the transaction and NOTHING... ZERO confirmations. It says the following: Status: 0/unconfirmed, broadcast through 119 nodes
Date: 9/5/13 13:04
Debit: -0.35 BTC
Transaction fee: -0.00004 BTC
Net amount: -0.35004 BTC
Transaction ID: eb61f51fe142ff46958cf1f98d31a1a5cdbcab4a766b711fc9f2fb8e2cb4504f

The transaction was .35 btc and I payed a .00004 fee to the network and it is stuck... I look up the transaction id and it doesn't exist...
I just lost my bitcoin, what can I do?

I don't have anymore coins to try another transaction and I am really bummed out about this

Donate if my posts helped you, it's the right thing to do... 13PhzfsN2KATyY35TGjiVBsBhsGQjHzWdR
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 08:47:48 PM
 #64

I upgraded to 0.8.4 on OS X 10.8 without issue, no DB corruption or whatnot, HOWEVER, now I made my first transaction since upgrading and I can't get the transaction to confirm, it has been 1.5 hours since the transaction and NOTHING... ZERO confirmations. It says the following: Status: 0/unconfirmed, broadcast
Your transaction should be fine if you just leave your node running it will rebroadcast it periodically.

To be more sure about it, open up the debug console (help -> debug -> console) and type

getrawtransaction <txid> 1

e.g.

getrawtransaction eb61f51fe142ff46958cf1f98d31a1a5cdbcab4a766b711fc9f2fb8e2cb4504f 1

And paste the result and we can look at the transaction and potentially rebroadcast it.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
iamnightelf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:03:13 PM
 #65

I upgraded to 0.8.4 on OS X 10.8 without issue, no DB corruption or whatnot, HOWEVER, now I made my first transaction since upgrading and I can't get the transaction to confirm, it has been 1.5 hours since the transaction and NOTHING... ZERO confirmations. It says the following: Status: 0/unconfirmed, broadcast
Your transaction should be fine if you just leave your node running it will rebroadcast it periodically.

To be more sure about it, open up the debug console (help -> debug -> console) and type

getrawtransaction <txid> 1

e.g.

getrawtransaction eb61f51fe142ff46958cf1f98d31a1a5cdbcab4a766b711fc9f2fb8e2cb4504f 1

And paste the result and we can look at the transaction and potentially rebroadcast it.


Thank you for your assistance, I appreciate it immensely!

14:54:35

redacted to prevent any issues

Donate if my posts helped you, it's the right thing to do... 13PhzfsN2KATyY35TGjiVBsBhsGQjHzWdR
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:23:02 PM
 #66

Thank you for your assistance, I appreciate it immensely!
The transaction looks fine, I don't see any reason it wouldn't have been relayed by all nodes— perhaps you had a network burp at the wrong moment, and it would have handled it fine with a retransmission.

I went ahead and rebroadcasted your transaction... (by running sendrawtransaction <hex>) and see it on a couple nodes.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
BitDreams
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 500



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:51:37 PM
 #67

Crashes on Synchronizing. Using Win7 pro, when i install and run the application kills Security Essentials.

I purchased some block erupters and can't install the software for those either. At this point I've got no working wallet software and no working mining software.

Edit: uninstalled anything I could find bitcoin related. Cleaned up registry, rebooted and I'm back to Sync wallet. It crashed Microsoft Security Essentials again so I'm just leaving it off while the Wallet syncs up.
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
September 06, 2013, 07:33:23 AM
 #68

Crashes on Synchronizing. Using Win7 pro, when i install and run the application kills Security Essentials.
What does "kills Security Essentials" mean? Do you get a error message?

Bitcoin will not be compromised
QuantPlus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
September 06, 2013, 11:50:49 AM
 #69


Nice to see comprehensive upgrades of Bitcoin rolling out like clockwork.
BitDreams
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 500



View Profile
September 06, 2013, 02:46:42 PM
 #70

Crashes on Synchronizing. Using Win7 pro, when i install and run the application kills Security Essentials.
What does "kills Security Essentials" mean? Do you get a error message?


'Security Essentials has stopped working', after fiddling, it appears that SE didn't have the latest virus definitions and would stop working during any scans. This was coincident with installing the latest wallet as linked above. I've already removed anything I could find on this computer relating to bitcoin. I believe when I first DL Bitcoin Wallet and initialized the application it was about 7 weeks behind the network and during the synchronization, when I got the first message (Security Essentials has stopped working). Rebooted, the anti-virus started up normally, ran bitcoin the AV crashed - 'stopped working' again, but this time i was only 4 weeks behind synchronizing with network. Rebooted again, got SE to update virus definitions and I'm back attempting to synchronize with the network again.

Here's where I am with the Synchronizing now... 250723 of 256455 (estimated) 8 active connections to bitcoin network, version located in registry is 0.8.4, (i searched registry for 'bitcoin' and only find references to Bitcoin-qt.exe just to see if there's any remnants of previous installs)

Have to go out for a couple of hours and I'm leaving the wallet up to see if it will sync.

*corrected the estimated blocks. It's been an hour, synchronizing won't go past 250723. Uninstalling the application.
WhiteBeard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


BitBean - More Than a Digital Currency!


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2013, 04:32:21 PM
 #71

Thanks, guys!  Upgraded and running without a hitch... Grin

glassuser
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Co-Founder and CEO of Coingig.com


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2013, 12:42:58 AM
 #72

There seems to be a major bug in the Mac version, it keeps showing and error in the database and makes me re-download the blockchain everytime I try to open the client. I had to revert back to the old version to be able to download the blockchain and access my wallet.

polrpaul
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


Love the Bitcoin.


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2013, 12:56:29 AM
 #73

very nice and thank you very much!

BTC.sx - Leveraged Bitcoin Trading. Simply use Bitcoin to take advantage of a rising or falling Bitcoin price.
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2013, 01:55:31 AM
 #74

There seems to be a major bug in the Mac version, it keeps showing and error in the database and makes me re-download the blockchain everytime I try to open the client. I had to revert back to the old version to be able to download the blockchain and access my wallet.

Most likely explanation is one of your blockchain data files is corrupted, but the old version doesn't care. You might be serving up a corrupted blocks to anybody who downloads from you, but you wouldn't notice that either.

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
glassuser
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Co-Founder and CEO of Coingig.com


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2013, 01:59:50 AM
 #75

Oh I see, anything i can do fix this? Ive deleted the blockchain completely and redownloaded and still the same. anyway to know for sure if ive deleted it completely so I could download again?

Lucano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


‎"How people treat you is their karma"


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2013, 06:25:59 AM
 #76

Thank you Gavin !!  Wink Wink

Jinivij
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 04:37:59 AM
 #77

Upgraded on a OS X 10.8. No problems whatsoever.

Thanks to everyone involved
Jace
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 10:33:48 AM
 #78

Gavin or anyone else, still curious about this:
Checkpoint at block 250,000 to speed up initial block downloads
and make the progress indicator when downloading more accurate.
What does this mean? Does it contain or download a truncated version of the blockchain (well, the first 250K blocks) or...?

Feel free to send your life savings to 1JhrfA12dBMUhcgh85wYan6HL2uLQdB6z9
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 11:54:01 AM
 #79

Gavin or anyone else, still curious about this:
Checkpoint at block 250,000 to speed up initial block downloads
and make the progress indicator when downloading more accurate.
What does this mean? Does it contain or download a truncated version of the blockchain (well, the first 250K blocks) or...?

See http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/1797/what-are-checkpoints


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Boussac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1178


e-ducat.fr


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 03:21:31 PM
 #80

For the sake of completeness, I should mention that my upgrade on OSX 10.7.5 from the 0.8.3 version to this new 0.8.4 triggered a re-indexation of my blockchain files (OP mentioned only 0.7.2 or earlier).

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!