Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 12:21:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-Qt / bitcoind version 0.8.4 released, fixes critical DoS vulnerability  (Read 40049 times)
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 09:47:56 PM
 #81

For the sake of completeness, I should mention that my upgrade on OSX 10.7.5 from the 0.8.3 version to this new 0.8.4 triggered a re-indexation of my blockchain files (OP mentioned only 0.7.2 or earlier).

Same.  Unfortunately the re-index has been going on for two days.  I have an i5 CPU and 8gb ram,  tons of free disk space so I am really surprised it is taking this long.  It looks like another day to go. 

Anything I can do to make this go faster?

1513556467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513556467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513556467
Reply with quote  #2

1513556467
Report to moderator
1513556467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513556467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513556467
Reply with quote  #2

1513556467
Report to moderator
1513556467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513556467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513556467
Reply with quote  #2

1513556467
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513556467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513556467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513556467
Reply with quote  #2

1513556467
Report to moderator
1513556467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513556467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513556467
Reply with quote  #2

1513556467
Report to moderator
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 10:58:54 PM
 #82

For the sake of completeness, I should mention that my upgrade on OSX 10.7.5 from the 0.8.3 version to this new 0.8.4 triggered a re-indexation of my blockchain files (OP mentioned only 0.7.2 or earlier).

Same.  Unfortunately the re-index has been going on for two days.  I have an i5 CPU and 8gb ram,  tons of free disk space so I am really surprised it is taking this long.  It looks like another day to go. 

Anything I can do to make this go faster?

See other threads.  re-run with "-checklevel=2"


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366



View Profile
September 11, 2013, 04:53:21 AM
 #83

See other threads.  re-run with "-checklevel=2"
Here is the aforementioned other threads.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2013, 01:15:45 PM
 #84

For the sake of completeness, I should mention that my upgrade on OSX 10.7.5 from the 0.8.3 version to this new 0.8.4 triggered a re-indexation of my blockchain files (OP mentioned only 0.7.2 or earlier).

Same.  Unfortunately the re-index has been going on for two days.  I have an i5 CPU and 8gb ram,  tons of free disk space so I am really surprised it is taking this long.  It looks like another day to go. 

Anything I can do to make this go faster?

See other threads.  re-run with "-checklevel=2"



Ok.  This prevents it from failing but does not seem to make it go faster.  Now at three days running machine non-stop.  15 weeks left to go. 

gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366



View Profile
September 11, 2013, 01:52:06 PM
 #85

Ok.  This prevents it from failing but does not seem to make it go faster.  Now at three days running machine non-stop.  15 weeks left to go. 
It isn't expected to make it faster. The checklevel refers to only the brief startup sanity check that covers a few hundred blocks.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2013, 05:17:44 PM
 #86

Ok.  This prevents it from failing but does not seem to make it go faster.  Now at three days running machine non-stop.  15 weeks left to go. 
It isn't expected to make it faster. The checklevel refers to only the brief startup sanity check that covers a few hundred blocks.


A shame.  I can deal with waiting four days to access my coins or move my wallet to an uber fast machine if needed, but not everyone can.  If my I5 machine is taking this long, how long would this take on a core 2 duo with 2GB ram? 

Would deleting everything and downloading a torrented blockchain be faster or would it still need to re-index?


gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366



View Profile
September 11, 2013, 07:37:13 PM
 #87

A shame.  I can deal with waiting four days to access my coins or move my wallet to an uber fast machine if needed, but not everyone can.  If my I5 machine is taking this long, how long would this take on a core 2 duo with 2GB ram? 
Hm? reindex shouldn't take longer than an hour or two.  What kind of media is this on?

Bitcoin will not be compromised
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2013, 08:15:02 PM
 #88

A shame.  I can deal with waiting four days to access my coins or move my wallet to an uber fast machine if needed, but not everyone can.  If my I5 machine is taking this long, how long would this take on a core 2 duo with 2GB ram? 
Hm? reindex shouldn't take longer than an hour or two.  What kind of media is this on?

1 TB 5400 rpm laptop hard drive.  System is not sluggish otherwise.  I am not the only one reporting very long re-index times.

The 4ner
aka newbitcoinqtuser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


R.I.P Silk Road 1.0


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 09:54:38 PM
 #89

I'm getting this message from the client: "Corrupted block database detected.
Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Anyone know what's going on? I don't want to have to re-download the entire blockchain :/
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2013, 05:30:05 AM
 #90

I'm getting this message from the client: "Corrupted block database detected.
Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Anyone know what's going on? I don't want to have to re-download the entire blockchain :/

Add

Code:
checklevel=2

To your bitcoin conf file

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_id=31380906

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
The 4ner
aka newbitcoinqtuser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


R.I.P Silk Road 1.0


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 02:51:44 PM
 #91

I'm getting this message from the client: "Corrupted block database detected.
Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Anyone know what's going on? I don't want to have to re-download the entire blockchain :/

Add

Code:
checklevel=2

To your bitcoin conf file

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_id=31380906

Thanks! However, how exactly do I go about doing that? I'm not a coder.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2013, 04:15:13 PM
 #92

I'm getting this message from the client: "Corrupted block database detected.
Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Anyone know what's going on? I don't want to have to re-download the entire blockchain :/

Add

Code:
checklevel=2

To your bitcoin conf file

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_id=31380906

Thanks! However, how exactly do I go about doing that? I'm not a coder.

Shutdown your bitcoin-qt then go to the directory which is based on your operating system...
Code:
Windows %APPDATA%\Bitcoin\ (XP) C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
(Vista, 7) C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
Linux $HOME/.bitcoin/ /home/username/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
Mac OSX $HOME/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/ /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

Then open or create bitcoin.conf, add the
Code:
checklevel=2

to file save it.

Then start up bitcoin-qt

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
The 4ner
aka newbitcoinqtuser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


R.I.P Silk Road 1.0


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 06:41:50 PM
 #93

I'm getting this message from the client: "Corrupted block database detected.
Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Anyone know what's going on? I don't want to have to re-download the entire blockchain :/

Add

Code:
checklevel=2

To your bitcoin conf file

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_id=31380906

Thanks! However, how exactly do I go about doing that? I'm not a coder.

Shutdown your bitcoin-qt then go to the directory which is based on your operating system...
Code:
Windows %APPDATA%\Bitcoin\ (XP) C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
(Vista, 7) C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
Linux $HOME/.bitcoin/ /home/username/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
Mac OSX $HOME/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/ /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

Then open or create bitcoin.conf, add the
Code:
checklevel=2

to file save it.

Then start up bitcoin-qt

Do I type that in the terminal or in the finder after first executing 'SHIFT COMMAND G'?

I know that to get into the Bitcoin data files I first execute SHIFT COMMAND G in the finder and then type in ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/
and that takes me to the data files but I don't see andy conf. files.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2013, 08:05:12 PM
 #94

I'm getting this message from the client: "Corrupted block database detected.
Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Anyone know what's going on? I don't want to have to re-download the entire blockchain :/

Add

Code:
checklevel=2

To your bitcoin conf file

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_id=31380906

Thanks! However, how exactly do I go about doing that? I'm not a coder.

Shutdown your bitcoin-qt then go to the directory which is based on your operating system...
Code:
Windows %APPDATA%\Bitcoin\ (XP) C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
(Vista, 7) C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
Linux $HOME/.bitcoin/ /home/username/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
Mac OSX $HOME/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/ /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

Then open or create bitcoin.conf, add the
Code:
checklevel=2

to file save it.

Then start up bitcoin-qt

Do I type that in the terminal or in the finder after first executing 'SHIFT COMMAND G'?

I know that to get into the Bitcoin data files I first execute SHIFT COMMAND G in the finder and then type in ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/
and that takes me to the data files but I don't see andy conf. files.

Then create the file bitcoin.conf and add that line to it.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Alpaca Bob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 09:38:37 PM
 #95

So I've only just started using Ubuntu very recently. I basically have no idea what I am doing, and I definitely don't know how to install this new version of bitcoin. (Ubuntu software centre apparently still has the older version.)

Anyone care to give me an ELI5? Would be much appreciated.

(I prefer not losing my coins over losing my coins.)

The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!