Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:41:15 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't Overclock Sapphire Xtreme HD 5830  (Read 2066 times)
IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 01:47:36 PM
 #1

I have tried several applications and even just uploading a new bios to the card and I still can't adjus the frequencys beyond what CCC will let me do.  If anyone can help that would be great. Currently mining at 235 mhash/s
I have tried:
MSI Afterburn
Trixx (keep getting ulps settings not turned off even though I selected off in settings)
Winflash

MSI 785GM-E51 motherboard
8GB ram
Phenom II X4
1481143275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143275
Reply with quote  #2

1481143275
Report to moderator
1481143275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143275
Reply with quote  #2

1481143275
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481143275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143275
Reply with quote  #2

1481143275
Report to moderator
1481143275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143275
Reply with quote  #2

1481143275
Report to moderator
1481143275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143275
Reply with quote  #2

1481143275
Report to moderator
badfrog
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 01:51:30 PM
 #2

You have to change Settings in MSI Afterburner:

Go to MSIAfterburner.cfg located in MSI Afterburner Directory.
Open It.

replace

[ATIADLHAL]
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   =
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 0

with

[ATIADLHAL]
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 1

also search  for

UnlockVoltageControl           = 0
UnlockVoltageMonitoring      = 0

and replace with
UnlockVoltageControl           = 1
UnlockVoltageMonitoring      = 1

And now have fun with Overclocking Wink

Greetings,
Frog

IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:07:02 PM
 #3

Still doesn't work.  It will let me adjust the two clock speeds but only down to 500 on the mem and up to 1000 on the core. I'm trying to go up to 975/300.

I also forgot to mention that I have windows 7 ultimate 64bit. Just in case that makes a difference.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:09:04 PM
 #4

Drop the Memory clock down to 600.
Apply the changes.
close Afterburner
Re-open Afterburner
Drop the memory clock down to 300.
Apply the changes.

Increase GPU to 975
Increase Fan Speed to what you need.
Apply changes.

close afterburner or keep it open to monitor
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:10:59 PM
 #5

To reset memory back to 1000 (for stable game play of BFBC2 [the only game worth playing to date]), reboot the computer.
Don't try increasing memory through afterburner.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:11:58 PM
 #6

Sapphire 5830's are mostly unstable with memory clocks between 400-599.
lemonginger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


firstbits: 121vnq


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:17:30 PM
 #7

Try

UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2

(instead of 1)

to override powerplay
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:26:34 PM
 #8

I also recommend AOCLBF with the Pheonix miner

Also do a search for the 3% trick with Pheonix.

My Sapphire 5830 miners hash STABLE at ~320 MH/s with the following afterburner settings:

70% fan
68 C
975/300

Pheonix 1.5 with 3% trick
AOCLBF 1.71
Vectors
HD5xxx+
phatk
Agression 7
workload 128
BFI_INIT

Closing Afterburner when using AOCLBF will make the miners work at 323 MH/s
With Afterburner open they work at 307 MH/s
The_JMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:38:52 PM
 #9

Keeping an eye on this thread so when my 5830s arrive.

IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:50:06 PM
 #10

I also recommend AOCLBF with the Pheonix miner

Also do a search for the 3% trick with Pheonix.

My Sapphire 5830 miners hash STABLE at ~320 MH/s with the following afterburner settings:

70% fan
68 C
975/300

Pheonix 1.5 with 3% trick
AOCLBF 1.71
Vectors
HD5xxx+
phatk
Agression 7
workload 128
BFI_INIT

Closing Afterburner when using AOCLBF will make the miners work at 323 MH/s
With Afterburner open they work at 307 MH/s

So what do you put in to the command prompt when you run phoenix?
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:02:04 PM
 #11

I also recommend AOCLBF with the Pheonix miner

Also do a search for the 3% trick with Pheonix.

My Sapphire 5830 miners hash STABLE at ~320 MH/s with the following afterburner settings:

70% fan
68 C
975/300

Pheonix 1.5 with 3% trick
AOCLBF 1.71
Vectors
HD5xxx+
phatk
Agression 7
workload 128
BFI_INIT

Closing Afterburner when using AOCLBF will make the miners work at 323 MH/s
With Afterburner open they work at 307 MH/s

So what do you put in to the command prompt when you run phoenix?

I don't use the cmd prompt.  I use the windows interface called AOCLBF.
Its WAAAY better than the DOS prompt.
It will pause your miner if it starts overheating and restart the miner when the temperature drops.
IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:03:29 PM
 #12

How do you see your mhash/s?
I can't see it when I run AOCLBF
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:08:41 PM
 #13

There is a setting at the bottom called "Color of the text on On Screen Display:"

Change that to Green or some other color.

It usually show up as a bunch of colored text at the top left corner of your monitor (on top of your desktop icons).  you can move it around.
IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:14:09 PM
 #14

The text only shows for a second when I hit stop.  Thanks for all your help though.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:14:57 PM
 #15

It only shows up when you click on the "Run" button.

Can you post a screen shot of your AOCLBF ?
IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:16:51 PM
 #16

I'm just going to run phoenix for now.  It has worked well for me so far and I have been able to get 290 out of it.  Thank you for your help.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:19:04 PM
 #17

carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:23:06 PM
 #18

carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:39:04 PM
 #19

Now you just need the 3% trick...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=22965.0

browse inside your AOCLBF folder:
C:\aoclbf\kernels\phatk\  (or wherever you put it on your PC)

make a backup copy of the kernel.cl file
Now edit the kernel.cl file using notepad.exe

find this line using Notepad.exe to modify the file:

  #define Ma(x, y, z) amd_bytealign((y), (x | z), (z & x))

and change it to this line

  #define Ma(x, y, z) amd_bytealign( (z^x), (y), (x) )

Once you've done it, save the file, restart the miner.
BTCPOOLMINING
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 03:56:41 PM
 #20

Hi,

I run 8 of the HD5830's, I can log in and assist you if you would like, we use www.teamviewer.com, they are a great card.

Please PM me if you would like Assistance or email contact@btcpoolmining.com , we are more than happy to assist you!

BTC Pool Mining

www.btcpoolmining.com

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!