philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 14, 2011, 06:30:11 PM |
|
I'm a PHP developer(1 year experience) looking to learn how to work with BitCoin.
I don't have that much experience with APIs.
Any suggestions appreciated.
|
|
|
|
SgtSpike
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1005
|
|
July 14, 2011, 06:55:33 PM |
|
Google bitcoin-php, and then ask any questions you have about it. I have a decent amount of experience with the library now.
|
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 14, 2011, 07:36:51 PM |
|
I'm taking a look the following post http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9304.0Can you explain the following variables $rpcUser = "username"; $rpcPass = "password"; $url = "http://localhost:8332"; Do you set this up to access an online BitCoin Client? Existing at what ever url you choose?
|
|
|
|
SgtSpike
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1005
|
|
July 14, 2011, 08:23:57 PM |
|
I'm taking a look the following post http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9304.0Can you explain the following variables $rpcUser = "username"; $rpcPass = "password"; $url = "http://localhost:8332"; Do you set this up to access an online BitCoin Client? Existing at what ever url you choose? Close, but no. You have to have a bitcoind instance running. Go to bitcoin.org, and download the client for whatever OS you are using. Inside one of the subfolders, you'll find bitcoind. In the same folder as bitcoind, you need to create a file called bitcoin.conf, and in it place: rpcuser=user rpcpassword=password Also, to allow external access via PHP, you'll have to add the IP address of the PHP server (wildcard * allowed). If bitcoind is running on your PHP server, you shouldn't have to do anything (as 127.0.0.1 is allowed by default). rpcallowip=1.1.1.1 Then, in your PHP file, change "username" and "password" to whatever un/pw you wrote in the .conf. Leave $url alone if bitcoind is running on your PHP server, or change the localhost to your external bitcoind IP. Start up bitcoind, then you should be able to connect to it via PHP.
|
|
|
|
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 2506
Merit: 1010
|
|
July 15, 2011, 10:43:49 AM |
|
I'm a PHP developer(1 year experience) looking to learn how to work with BitCoin.
I don't have that much experience with APIs.
Any suggestions appreciated. For reference: - http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/PHP_developer_intro
|
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 19, 2011, 03:06:53 PM |
|
Still having problems right for the starts. I have the bitcoin application running. Then I go to terminal and input ./bitcoind No such file or directory
|
|
|
|
SgtSpike
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1005
|
|
July 19, 2011, 03:09:45 PM |
|
Still having problems right for the starts. I have the bitcoin application running. Then I go to terminal and input ./bitcoind No such file or directory If you already have it running, why are you trying to start it again?
|
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 19, 2011, 03:13:45 PM |
|
I am just trying to follow the instructions but I have tried it running and not running.
Same results.
|
|
|
|
SgtSpike
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1005
|
|
July 19, 2011, 04:07:11 PM |
|
If you were on windows, I could tell you exactly what to do... but I'll try to explain what needs to be done on linux.
You need to run the GUI client with the -server switch OR run bitcoind. They both do the same thing. I liked to run the GUI while I was developing, because I could easily see the transactions I was making in realtime.
If you want to run bitcoind from the terminal, instead of the GUI client with the -server switch, then you'll have to navigate to the directory where bitcoind is stored. It should be /yourbitcoindirectory/bin/32, if I remember correctly.
|
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 19, 2011, 05:04:56 PM |
|
On a Mac. Library/Application Support/Bitcoin __db.001 __db.004 addr.dat blkindex.dat debug.log __db.002 __db.005 bitcoin.conf database wallet.dat __db.003 __db.006 blk0001.dat db.log Philip-Kirkbrides-MacBook-Pro:Bitcoin philipkirkbride$ Doesn't seem to be a 'bitcoind' file anywhere on my computer. Have tried running the app and don't see any options or switches to do with server interaction. Any ideas?
|
|
|
|
SgtSpike
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1005
|
|
July 19, 2011, 05:14:34 PM |
|
Ah, sorry, I thought you were on linux. I'm even more unfamiliar with a Mac.
A switch, at least on Windows, is where you add "-server" after the target path in the shortcut properties. I have no idea what the equivalent is on a mac, or how to use it. Someone else will have to jump in here...
|
|
|
|
pent
|
|
July 19, 2011, 07:48:26 PM |
|
Still having problems right for the starts. I have the bitcoin application running. Then I go to terminal and input ./bitcoind No such file or directory Is there any file named 'bitcoind' in a current directory? )) You have to change directory where bitcoind is located first. not familiar with mac's too... but it is a general unix command "./somescript" = run a somescript, located in current dir.
|
|
|
|
error
|
|
July 19, 2011, 10:42:25 PM |
|
Still having problems right for the starts. I have the bitcoin application running. Then I go to terminal and input ./bitcoind No such file or directory Provide the full path to wherever you installed bitcoind.
|
3KzNGwzRZ6SimWuFAgh4TnXzHpruHMZmV8
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 20, 2011, 12:36:36 AM |
|
I have looked in all bitcoin related folders. As well as a system wide search for "bitcoind".
It doesn't exist on the computer.
|
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 20, 2011, 12:50:26 AM |
|
I will make another thread titled "How to Use BitCoin on local server with Mac OSX". But in this thread lets move on. If I can't play around with BitCoin on my local server what about installing it on my live server? I use GoDaddy and usually only interact via FTP & MySQL.
|
|
|
|
error
|
|
July 20, 2011, 01:26:07 AM |
|
I have looked in all bitcoin related folders. As well as a system wide search for "bitcoind".
It doesn't exist on the computer.
Very strange. Did you use the official Mac OS X build or did you build it yourself? I will make another thread titled "How to Use BitCoin on local server with Mac OSX". But in this thread lets move on. If I can't play around with BitCoin on my local server what about installing it on my live server? I use GoDaddy and usually only interact via FTP & MySQL. Shared hosting providers rarely permit running background processes. GoDaddy is no exception. Now if you have a VPS or a dedicated server, you are fine and you can run pretty much whatever you want.
|
3KzNGwzRZ6SimWuFAgh4TnXzHpruHMZmV8
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 20, 2011, 02:03:35 AM |
|
Using "bitcoin-v0.3.23".
I have Grid Hosting with GoDaddy. Its suppost to let you run Rails Apps which isn't standard with the lower end hosting.
Assuming I have a hosting service that will let me run a process. Do I just upload a folder and run a script?
|
|
|
|
error
|
|
July 20, 2011, 02:12:56 AM |
|
Using "bitcoin-v0.3.23".
Did you use the official Mac OS X build or did you build it yourself? I have Grid Hosting with GoDaddy. Its suppost to let you run Rails Apps which isn't standard with the lower end hosting.
Assuming I have a hosting service that will let me run a process. Do I just upload a folder and run a script?
Is that what they call "4GH" now? If so, then bitcoind is still not permitted.
|
3KzNGwzRZ6SimWuFAgh4TnXzHpruHMZmV8
|
|
|
philipk (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
|
|
July 20, 2011, 01:01:43 PM |
|
Yes its the official build.
As for hosting your probably right.
'Hosting - Web - Deluxe - Linux - 1 year (recurring)'
I still want to know what service I need to run Bitcoin on server. I have had good luck calling them in the past for upgrades.
|
|
|
|
Xenland
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 980
Merit: 1003
I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man
|
|
July 24, 2011, 06:14:37 AM |
|
Yes its the official build.
As for hosting your probably right.
'Hosting - Web - Deluxe - Linux - 1 year (recurring)'
I still want to know what service I need to run Bitcoin on server. I have had good luck calling them in the past for upgrades.
You need Root Access to a hosting server, usually Virtual Private Server hosting or Dedicated Hosting comes standard with this... I don't know why you can't find the bitcoin application but you will need Root Access enabled on your hosting in order to run basically anything bitcoin related.
|
|
|
|
|