Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:52:46 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Install Radeon HD5830 in Dell Optiplex 980??  (Read 1016 times)
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 06:31:27 PM
 #1

Hello,

I'm looking at buying a new ATI card to put in my computer to mine 24/7. I've built dozens of computers but the "high end" (double stack?) video card area is new to me.

Here are the specs of my computer: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/op980/en/sm/MT/specs.htm

Here is the card I'm looking to buy: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0039YOMZI?ie=UTF8&seller=AOOH0DF4QWOOO&sn=SOLD%20LLC

Can someone help me figure out if this card will fit in my computer? Is there enough power, connectors, slots, and physical room? I have the "Mini tower" case which is the biggest case they offer.

Thanks for any help,

AKminer
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480765966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480765966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480765966
Reply with quote  #2

1480765966
Report to moderator
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:00:32 PM
 #2

Your going to need a power supply.

That 250W is way to under-powered.

I'm running a 6970 and a 5830 on a 600W power supply.

I had a 350W PS and the motherboard wouldn't boot.  It display a message on screen that said there wasn't enough power.
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:35:38 PM
 #3

Thanks for the reply.

Dang! I was afraid of that! Now I've got to find a power supply that will not only accomodate that card, but will fit into this dell case.....

Any ideas?
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:53:23 PM
 #4

Is there an ATI card that has decent "bang for your buck" that will fit in this Dell without having to upgrade the PS? I'm pretty sure that it has a 305W power supply in it now.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:08:00 PM
 #5

I would say no.

Any card you buy will require an updated PS.

You can get them pretty cheap on newegg.com
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:09:52 PM
 #6

Let me re-interate.

When I had my 350W, I was just trying to run an ATI 4890.  Not a 5830.  I had to upgrade my PS just to power the single 4890.  That is a 100 MH/s card.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:12:30 PM
 #7

All ATX power supplies are standard size.  They will fit in your case.
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 09:16:35 PM
 #8

Okay, thanks again for your help and info!
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 03:57:20 AM
 #9

I have a Sapphire Vapor-X running in a 980. (I don;t recall the number) It has one molex connector on the card it is stable and overclocked in the 980 getting 200+ Mhash/s. It will not fit in the 16x slot due to the case but works in the 4x slot just fine with the piddly PS. 

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!