Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2017, 12:38:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Install Radeon HD5830 in Dell Optiplex 980??  (Read 1101 times)
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 06:31:27 PM
 #1

Hello,

I'm looking at buying a new ATI card to put in my computer to mine 24/7. I've built dozens of computers but the "high end" (double stack?) video card area is new to me.

Here are the specs of my computer: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/op980/en/sm/MT/specs.htm

Here is the card I'm looking to buy: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0039YOMZI?ie=UTF8&seller=AOOH0DF4QWOOO&sn=SOLD%20LLC

Can someone help me figure out if this card will fit in my computer? Is there enough power, connectors, slots, and physical room? I have the "Mini tower" case which is the biggest case they offer.

Thanks for any help,

AKminer
1506256738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506256738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506256738
Reply with quote  #2

1506256738
Report to moderator
1506256738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506256738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506256738
Reply with quote  #2

1506256738
Report to moderator
1506256738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506256738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506256738
Reply with quote  #2

1506256738
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506256738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506256738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506256738
Reply with quote  #2

1506256738
Report to moderator
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:00:32 PM
 #2

Your going to need a power supply.

That 250W is way to under-powered.

I'm running a 6970 and a 5830 on a 600W power supply.

I had a 350W PS and the motherboard wouldn't boot.  It display a message on screen that said there wasn't enough power.
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:35:38 PM
 #3

Thanks for the reply.

Dang! I was afraid of that! Now I've got to find a power supply that will not only accomodate that card, but will fit into this dell case.....

Any ideas?
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:53:23 PM
 #4

Is there an ATI card that has decent "bang for your buck" that will fit in this Dell without having to upgrade the PS? I'm pretty sure that it has a 305W power supply in it now.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:08:00 PM
 #5

I would say no.

Any card you buy will require an updated PS.

You can get them pretty cheap on newegg.com
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:09:52 PM
 #6

Let me re-interate.

When I had my 350W, I was just trying to run an ATI 4890.  Not a 5830.  I had to upgrade my PS just to power the single 4890.  That is a 100 MH/s card.
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:12:30 PM
 #7

All ATX power supplies are standard size.  They will fit in your case.
akminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 09:16:35 PM
 #8

Okay, thanks again for your help and info!
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 03:57:20 AM
 #9

I have a Sapphire Vapor-X running in a 980. (I don;t recall the number) It has one molex connector on the card it is stable and overclocked in the 980 getting 200+ Mhash/s. It will not fit in the 16x slot due to the case but works in the 4x slot just fine with the piddly PS. 

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!