Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:23:21 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: XKCD bitcoin problems communicating with bitcoin rpc  (Read 1357 times)
TheGreyJedi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 07:55:06 PM
 #1

I'm hoping this is the right forum for this.

I've seen there is a bitcoin pool being run by xkcd fans (and possibly creator).  I'd like to join this pool, versus mining solo or any other pool. I've visited their page, signed up on the page.  I've set GUIminer as suggested in the getting started section.  but I'm getting an error "problem communicating with bitcoin rpc" when trying to connect.

I have Windows 7 64 bit.  I use GUIminer v2011-07-01, Bitcoin 0.3.24.  Bitcoin and GUIminer have both been added as exceptions for my firewall (Windows firewall) and the ports required have been opened up in my router.  My bitcoin.conf file has my user name and password set and the ip address tag set to all.

Any help would be appreciated.  I've looked up my issue on google, but found mostly unhelpful posts with a similar connection issue and no resolution unless I wanted to solo mine.
1481318601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318601
Reply with quote  #2

1481318601
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
evileric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:17:03 PM
 #2

First question: Does it work when mining for another pool?
BitcoinPorn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2011, 08:39:55 PM
 #3

Try #xkcd-bitcoin channel on the IRC server irc.foonetic.net ?

Also, I will put the question here http://www.reddit.com/r/bitcoinmining since I see you are a Newbie and can't go the Mining sections of these forums yet.

TeraPool
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 09:44:08 PM
 #4

I spotted this from r/BitcoinMining - thanks BP.

You most likely have to register a "worker" with the pool you are mining for.

After you sign up, you then need to register a "worker" which will be the username you use to connect to the mining pool.

Confusing, I know Tongue

TheGreyJedi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:36:08 PM
 #5

I'm a registered worker for the pool, I get the same issue when selecting other pools, but I can solo mine just fine.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!