Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2017, 11:16:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: windows like batch files on linux?  (Read 1519 times)
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:06:43 AM
 #1

So I am still new to Linux. I have created a file using leafpad to run phoenix miner for me. I made it an executable, and it does run, but I do not see it, there is no terminal window, and I would like one to be there so I can see the progress...

What do I have to do to run it with the terminal window open?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490829370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490829370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490829370
Reply with quote  #2

1490829370
Report to moderator
1490829370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490829370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490829370
Reply with quote  #2

1490829370
Report to moderator
Tasty Champa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 09:51:31 AM
 #2

bash scripts.

http://bashscripts.org/forum/

wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 09:53:37 AM
 #3

Be sure to check "run in terminal" when creating the launcher icon

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
talpan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 09:54:42 AM
 #4

you can create a new file for example miner.sh
within that you type

/path/to/miner/minername.py -option -option

save that file.
mark the file as executable and doubleclick the file,
select run in terminal.

now everythings fine Smiley.

regards, talpan
Maxim Gladkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2011, 09:54:53 AM
 #5

So I am still new to Linux. I have created a file using leafpad to run phoenix miner for me. I made it an executable, and it does run, but I do not see it, there is no terminal window, and I would like one to be there so I can see the progress...

What do I have to do to run it with the terminal window open?

How do you start your scripts?
What linux distrib do you have?
Do you run a GUI?

max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 03:39:39 PM
 #6

you can create a new file for example miner.sh
within that you type

/path/to/miner/minername.py -option -option

save that file.
mark the file as executable and doubleclick the file,
select run in terminal.

now everythings fine Smiley.

regards, talpan

Yes I tried this, but the terminal does not open.
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 03:44:31 PM
 #7

How do you start your scripts?
What linux distrib do you have?
Do you run a GUI?

I am using Linuxcoin, latest version.
I created a text file in leafpad, made it an executable in the properties, and then double click on it.
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 03:45:54 PM
 #8

Be sure to check "run in terminal" when creating the launcher icon


Tried this, still a no go... Huh
Maxim Gladkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2011, 04:16:00 PM
 #9

Hmm, if you are using LinuxCoin with GUI, then you must open Terminal window to start miners...
I cannot imagine other ways of doing this Tongue

max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:10:37 PM
 #10

Code:
cd /opt/miners/phoenix

python ./phoenix.py -u http://maxinmontreal.122:pass@api.bitcoin.cz:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT


this works, but i cannot see the terminal.
talpan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:23:35 PM
 #11

open the script via terminal
type ./scriptname.sh
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:27:51 PM
 #12

Code:
cd /opt/miners/phoenix

lxterminal -e "python ./phoenix.py -u http://maxinmontreal.122:pass@api.bitcoin.cz:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=7 FASTLOOP=false WORKSIZE=128 DEVICE=0"

this works, thanks for the replies!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!