Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:06:09 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Some questions need answering.  (Read 510 times)
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 12:38:35 PM
 #1

I am new to bitcoin.

I've installed the bitcoin client 0.3.24-beta. I have an SSD for OS so I made a junction Instructions found here for it to use my HDD.

Now the Bitcoin client is eating the crap out of my HDD, my internet and nearly an entire core of my processor out of 4 cores.

I've taken a look at the client and seeing Block Counts climbing. Whats going on, why is it going crazy on my hardware and internet?

-------

Mining, I tried posting at the proper thread but I guess nimrods ruined it for new members like myself. So From here I ran the guiminer for my cypress card but I don't see my gfx card utilizing at all. I've got OpenCL installed, 5800 series card. I've created an account, inserted my info into the miner etc.

What should I do?

-------
1481285169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481285169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481285169
Reply with quote  #2

1481285169
Report to moderator
1481285169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481285169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481285169
Reply with quote  #2

1481285169
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481285169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481285169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481285169
Reply with quote  #2

1481285169
Report to moderator
1481285169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481285169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481285169
Reply with quote  #2

1481285169
Report to moderator
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 12:46:46 PM
 #2

Now the Bitcoin client is eating the crap out of my HDD, my internet and nearly an entire core of my processor out of 4 cores.

After a fresh install, the Bitcoin client download the block chain for a while. There are actually 136568 blocks, so the Bitcoin client will download all informations to 136568 blocks (and more).
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 12:51:38 PM
 #3

Now the Bitcoin client is eating the crap out of my HDD, my internet and nearly an entire core of my processor out of 4 cores.

After a fresh install, the Bitcoin client download the block chain for a while. There are actually 136568 blocks, so the Bitcoin client will download all informations to 136568 blocks (and more).

Fantastic. Thanks.

--------

I've got an error during login, new database lookup in "amount of seconds" on the guiminer client.

It will not mine and giving an login error. I've created an account with this website http://mining.bitcoin.cz/

stating [If you see connection errors, please point your miners to new URL: api2.bitcoin.cz] How do I do this?

Edit:
oic, found this perfectly explained guide, I guess i have to wait for all the blocks to download before mining.
kinlo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 263


Pool operator of Triplemining.com


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 03:02:32 PM
 #4

I guess i have to wait for all the blocks to download before mining.

If you're mining on a pool, you do not need to wait until your client has downloaded all blocks.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!