Bitcoin Forum
February 25, 2021, 05:19:54 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Odd 7970 behavior (throttling)  (Read 792 times)
JCviggen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 505


Oikos.cash | Decentralized Finance on Tron


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 07:10:38 AM
 #1

One of my 7970s has developed a rather annoying trait, after a few hours it will drop to 1/2 to 1/3rd the normal hash rate. If I open up MSI AB, move the "power target" slider and hit apply the hash rate will go back to normal for a few hours. Doesn't matter if it's at +1%, +10% or +25%, after a while the card will throttle again. This is at 62C core temp at 0.98V undervolted by the way. Not like it matters, it does the same at any speed and voltage. The other cards in the same rig keep hashing on just fine without needing the power target reset.

It's a non-ref Sapphire card (blue PCB) anyone ever had something like this?


█▀█ █ █▄▀ █▀█ █▀ ░ █▀▀ ▄▀█ █▀ █░█
█▄█ █ █░█ █▄█ ▄█ ▄ █▄▄ █▀█ ▄█ █▀█



DeFi on Tron
and trustless token exchange
█████











█████

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

JOIN OIKOS

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

█████
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
█████
1614273594
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614273594

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614273594
Reply with quote  #2

1614273594
Report to moderator
1614273594
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614273594

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614273594
Reply with quote  #2

1614273594
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1614273594
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614273594

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614273594
Reply with quote  #2

1614273594
Report to moderator
1614273594
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614273594

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614273594
Reply with quote  #2

1614273594
Report to moderator
1614273594
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614273594

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614273594
Reply with quote  #2

1614273594
Report to moderator
kuusj98
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000


I <3 VW Beetles


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 06:09:00 PM
 #2

Have this problem with 2 HD7850's and a Cooler Master 620W PS, if I OC the cards one throttles becouse the PS can't deliver the power needed (~400W, PS has not gotten cool air for a year, so it kinda got "broken")
I advise you to take a look at your PS...
JCviggen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 505


Oikos.cash | Decentralized Finance on Tron


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 09:24:43 AM
 #3

Have this problem with 2 HD7850's and a Cooler Master 620W PS, if I OC the cards one throttles becouse the PS can't deliver the power needed (~400W, PS has not gotten cool air for a year, so it kinda got "broken")
I advise you to take a look at your PS...

Thanks...PSU is 850W though and i'm well below that with 3 cards. Also this is on a PSU with a single 12V rail and the other cards are happy.


█▀█ █ █▄▀ █▀█ █▀ ░ █▀▀ ▄▀█ █▀ █░█
█▄█ █ █░█ █▄█ ▄█ ▄ █▄▄ █▀█ ▄█ █▀█



DeFi on Tron
and trustless token exchange
█████











█████

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

JOIN OIKOS

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

█████
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
█████
Janmix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 05:17:40 AM
 #4

Add --gpu-engine xxxx   (xxxx being GPU MHZ)  to cgminer so it can constantly use that frequency. Mine also varied a lot in gpu utilization but after adding that line it worked great.
firefly4322
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 06:09:01 AM
 #5

Try making sure your drivers are upto date.  Mine was doing that for a while then I updated the BIOS and it runs like a champ now.   Grin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!