Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2016, 07:40:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.12.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Qt - Blockchain often corrupting?  (Read 778 times)
Boelens
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 09:36:42 AM
 #1

Hey there. I think I'm on v. 0.8.4 now, as I recently updated. My blockchain keeps corrupting and I have to re-index it, which takes a bit and is annoying. I can't seem to find out what causes it, although I feel like it may have to with 'Malwarebytes - Anti Malware', a anti-virus program, because everytime I run that it corrupts. Could be pure coincidence though. Has anyone else had issues with this / knows a possible solution? Thanks a bunch in advance!
1466883642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1466883642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1466883642
Reply with quote  #2

1466883642
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1466883642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1466883642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1466883642
Reply with quote  #2

1466883642
Report to moderator
1466883642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1466883642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1466883642
Reply with quote  #2

1466883642
Report to moderator
1466883642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1466883642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1466883642
Reply with quote  #2

1466883642
Report to moderator
astutiumRob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 10:08:09 AM
 #2

upgrade to 0.8.5, the need to reindex was a fault in 0.8.4 of the app.

www.astutium.com - domains | hosting | vps | servers | cloud - proud to accept bitcoins. UK colocation for BFL and KNC ASICs in Tier3+ DC
Register Domains with BTC
Want to make some bitcoins ? Miner on ebay | Buy GH/s
bitcoinchecker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


Provider of Bitcoin products and services


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 10:11:45 AM
 #3

To upgrade, do I need to just shut down the client and then download the new version?

Quality Bitcoin T-shirts for sale http://thevillageidiotme.ipage.com/shop.html
Boelens
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 10:27:54 AM
 #4

Ah, okay, thanks!


To upgrade, do I need to just shut down the client and then download the new version?

Yes. That works for me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!