Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:33:05 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help, cannot get phoenix or poclbm to work using hd6970  (Read 1279 times)
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 07:35:53 AM
 #1

Hi,
I was mining with 2 hd5970 cards and phoenix and poclbm where working fine, I added a third card an hd6970 and now both miners do not work, I tested without the hd5970 and the hd6970 still did not work.

the accelerated graphics display is working fine using the hd6970, so the video drivers are fine.

Also the command
aticonfig --list-adapters
displays all the adapters properly like this:
* 0. 10:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
  1. 0f:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  2. 0e:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  3. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  4. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

* - Default adapter

However when trying to run the 5th miner, I run into this problem:
No device specified or device not found, use DEVICE=ID to specify one of the following

   
  • AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor
  • [1] Cypress                       
        [2] Cypress                       
        [3] Cypress                       
        [4] Cypress             

    The device for the hd6970 is not listed, even though the aticonfig --list-adapters can see the card.

    I was running ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64, but I updated to the latest which is  AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64, and the catalyst software driver is 11.6.

    I did reconfigure X, and it seems to work fine, since both hd5970 are mining fine both with both cores, and the hd6970 is being used for the display, also the catalyst control center can see the hd6970 when it is the first card.

    I tried with phoenix 1.4 and 1.5 and I got the same problem.

    The only problem seems that I can not mine with the hd6970.
    Any help will be highly appreciated.
    What am I doing wrong ?





1481333585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333585
Reply with quote  #2

1481333585
Report to moderator
1481333585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333585
Reply with quote  #2

1481333585
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481333585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333585
Reply with quote  #2

1481333585
Report to moderator
1481333585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333585
Reply with quote  #2

1481333585
Report to moderator
1481333585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333585
Reply with quote  #2

1481333585
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2011, 04:04:18 PM
 #2

When I installed a second AMD card, I had to reinstall the drivers before it would work. That was on Windows 7 though. Dunno if it is the same on Linux, but it might be worth a shot.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2011, 06:46:52 AM
 #3

I tried that and it did not work.

But before I continue to try to get the hd6970 I will get some pci extender riser cards to relocate the card, locating 3 cards in a row it is a bad idea when they are air cooled, they get extremely hot.

Can anyone recommend a pci-e16 extender riser card that uses a round cable instead of a ribbon cable.
The reason for trying to avoid a ribbon cable, is that the round cable is more flexible and will make relocation of card easier  for best airflow, and possibly I could use up to 4 cards per motherboard.


sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 07:50:37 AM
 #4

I found what is causing the problem, it seems phoenix is using the older ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64, but now the newer
AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64, even though SDK 2.4 is supposed to be installed.

Since SDK v2.1 does not support the hd6970 that explains why the hd6970 does not work, the the hd5970 works fine.

Do you guys have a link to where I can find out how to migrate to the newer SDK v2.4 since when I remove the SDK 2.1 and only have the SDK 2.4 nothing works.

Any help on the migration from AMD SDK 2.1 to SDK V2.4 will really help.

I probably have some package or something missing that is required when using SDK V2.4, but that is not required for SDK V2.1, all help will be greatly appreciated.

Sideways
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 08:23:51 AM
 #5


Any help on the migration from AMD SDK 2.1 to SDK V2.4 will really help.


Prolly by easier to grab your run commands and start with a new copy of linux coin... write to USB, boot and start mining.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!