Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:32:12 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I use WIFI that resets every hour (Have to log in every hour)  (Read 77686 times)
ultrasonicsite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 12, 2010, 08:14:21 PM
 #1

Is bitcoins useless for me?

1QKPmWSpvsau25p8CSubYs9xA2WPn96S1d
1481297532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297532
Reply with quote  #2

1481297532
Report to moderator
1481297532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297532
Reply with quote  #2

1481297532
Report to moderator
1481297532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297532
Reply with quote  #2

1481297532
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481297532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297532
Reply with quote  #2

1481297532
Report to moderator
Strofcon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 12, 2010, 08:25:50 PM
 #2

From what I've been reading on the forums and the FAQ, it appears that BitCoin will simply pick up where it left off if the client is shutdown or can't communicate with the network.

In fact, it may even be that it will continue to calculate, but just won't be able to retrieve the most up-to-date information from other nodes, nor communicate out to those nodes. So if you forget to log in and stay offline for a while, then yea... you'd probably be hosed. Smiley
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
July 12, 2010, 08:44:41 PM
 #3

You will not be able to generate if you're not connected.  Generation will stop until at least one connection is made and the most up to date block is received - it is a block chain after all so you can't insert links in the middle, you always are adding to the end.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 12, 2010, 09:42:20 PM
 #4

However, just because you can't generate doesn't mean Bitcoin is useless! Bitcoin is primarily about exchanging coins, not generating them. You can still send Bitcoins when your network is up, and your client will still get coins sent to you even if it happens to be offline when they are sent. When you download the newest blocks from other nodes upon coming back online, your client will get those transactions.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!