Bitcoin Forum
October 15, 2018, 12:07:11 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: pywallet bal check question  (Read 57 times)
MikeJ_NpC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 04:02:36 AM
 #1

Is it possible to take the text dump of a scan and re-import to check for balances etc?
i have 800 entries and dont really want to do it by hand. Any help is appreciated.
thx
1539605231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539605231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539605231
Reply with quote  #2

1539605231
Report to moderator
1539605231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539605231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539605231
Reply with quote  #2

1539605231
Report to moderator
1539605231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539605231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539605231
Reply with quote  #2

1539605231
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Hybrid server-assisted clients like Electrum get a lot of their network information from centralized servers, but they also check the server's results using blockchain header data. This is perhaps somewhat more secure than either server-assisted clients or header-only clients.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539605231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539605231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539605231
Reply with quote  #2

1539605231
Report to moderator
1539605231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539605231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539605231
Reply with quote  #2

1539605231
Report to moderator
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 932

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 07:09:48 AM
 #2

A simple script should be able to parse whatever textdump you have, extract the addresses and then pass them into bitcoin-cli via the "importaddress" address to build a watching only wallet of all the addresses that have been dumped... restarting bitcoin-qt with the -rescan option would then ensure that any UTXO's belonging to the addresses in that wallet would be found and you could easily determine which addresses hold coins... and then just sweep those private keys into the address/wallet of your choice to get the coins.

You could also, just import all the privkeys instead of the addresses which would speed up the collecting the coins as you wouldn't need to match addresses/private keys... but I don't like messing about with private keys unless absolutely necessary Wink

ncsupanda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 20, 2018, 06:51:26 PM
 #3

Is it possible to take the text dump of a scan and re-import to check for balances etc?
i have 800 entries and dont really want to do it by hand. Any help is appreciated.
thx

If you use pywallet's --web option, there is a box you can check to dump your wallet with balances.
This would be the easiest way to see what you are asking for.
MikeJ_NpC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 05:05:39 PM
 #4

the only reason i ask this is when i run the  pywallet.py --balance=KEY_BALANCE =C:\pywallet\recovered_wallet_123456.dat   it throws a illegal character _ at position 3  - which is the initial command ..


another lame question .. how do i open the bitcoind terminal emulation? Is that just a reference to the console within the client? or is there a specific bat i need to execute?
I have armory or bitcore x64..... should i be using bitcore-qt instead as it as the bitcore-cli and bitcored exes? .... too many choices on platforms lol


bah illl just use the web console, pffffft .. taking forever tho on 2000 keys ...
ncsupanda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 26, 2018, 05:29:23 PM
 #5

the only reason i ask this is when i run the  pywallet.py --balance=KEY_BALANCE =C:\pywallet\recovered_wallet_123456.dat   it throws a illegal character _ at position 3  - which is the initial command ..


another lame question .. how do i open the bitcoind terminal emulation? Is that just a reference to the console within the client? or is there a specific bat i need to execute?
I have armory or bitcore x64..... should i be using bitcore-qt instead as it as the bitcore-cli and bitcored exes? .... too many choices on platforms lol

Inside your Bitcoin folder where your bitcoin-qt.exe sits, there will be a daemon folder with the bitcoind inside of it. The more friendly way is to use the console like you are describing.

The underscore at position 3 - what are you using in place of KEY_BALANCE?
MikeJ_NpC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 05:34:27 PM
 #6

im not using anything but the standard command ... as outlined above... lol. i can type ya know Smiley
its not just one one system either,,... here ill throw up a screenshot..


edit on the web interface, if i use that function, is it suppose to wait and then populate when completed, or output per instance within the file...
its just sitting on 2000 keys not sure if its all at once or will lag and wait until completed as a batch job,...
MikeJ_NpC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 05:41:40 PM
 #7

the only reason i ask this is when i run the  pywallet.py --balance=KEY_BALANCE =C:\pywallet\recovered_wallet_123456.dat   it throws a illegal character _ at position 3  - which is the initial command ..


another lame question .. how do i open the bitcoind terminal emulation? Is that just a reference to the console within the client? or is there a specific bat i need to execute?
I have armory or bitcore x64..... should i be using bitcore-qt instead as it as the bitcore-cli and bitcored exes? .... too many choices on platforms lol

Inside your Bitcoin folder where your bitcoin-qt.exe sits, there will be a daemon folder with the bitcoind inside of it. The more friendly way is to use the console like you are describing.

The underscore at position 3 - what are you using in place of KEY_BALANCE?


ah i see thank you for clarifying that.. thought i was missing something, .. everyone refers to it in some other way....
i just want one flavor, to the point and console based  Smiley
ncsupanda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 26, 2018, 05:43:28 PM
 #8

If you watch your command window you will see it update as pywallet is doing the work you requested.

Using --balance=KEY_BALANCE, you have to put the key that you want the balance of, not the actual words KEY_BALANCE.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!