Bitcoin Forum
February 20, 2017, 01:43:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this any good?  (Read 813 times)
SgtMunky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 08:18:06 PM
 #1

Hi all, newbie as you can tell so go easy on me.

Anyway, I just set up mining and it went ok, now I haven't done anything except install the guiminer and register on slush's pool etc

The GUI is reporting between 300-310Mhash/s.  Is this good?

The cpu was lame compared to that stat of course, but the gpu is a ATI6950 flashed to 6970 BIOS and the voltage raised 20%.  Not overclocked apart from the extra shader unlocks. 50% fan speed (can't hear over my speakers, so not loud really) is keeping the card between 52-56 Celsius

Hows that sound?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1487555030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487555030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487555030
Reply with quote  #2

1487555030
Report to moderator
1487555030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487555030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487555030
Reply with quote  #2

1487555030
Report to moderator
jagminer2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 08:21:46 PM
 #2

I'm a noob but try flag:   -v -w128


Should give you more if you aren't using a flag.
SgtMunky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 08:24:51 PM
 #3

I'm a noob but try flag:   -v -w128


Should give you more if you aren't using a flag.

Nice one, I just noticed if I hover over the flag box it says to use that for 5xxx series gpu's for better performance, but that still put me up to nearly 340Mhash/s so thanks

How is that doing though?  Too low or decent?
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
July 18, 2011, 08:29:44 PM
 #4

If you're using the latest guiminer you should have the option to use the phoenix miner; phatk kernel gives you some good improvements over the old poclbm kernel.

The non-technical version: create a new phoenix miner and use these flags:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=11

Of course if you're using this computer for anything other than mining you'll want to set AGGRESSION to something a bit more sane, like say 7 Smiley

SgtMunky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 08:41:55 PM
 #5

If you're using the latest guiminer you should have the option to use the phoenix miner; phatk kernel gives you some good improvements over the old poclbm kernel.

The non-technical version: create a new phoenix miner and use these flags:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=11

Of course if you're using this computer for anything other than mining you'll want to set AGGRESSION to something a bit more sane, like say 7 Smiley

Tried but it just says FATAL kernal error: Failed to compile OpenCL kernal!
SgtMunky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 09:00:45 PM
 #6

So is 320Mhash/s good?

How do I lower the gpu usage? Its on 98% but I would like to know how to lower it maybe 15% just so it is more stable, or maybe 10% etc
bitcon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


www.bit-exo.com


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2011, 09:26:05 PM
 #7

So is 320Mhash/s good?

depends what you mean by "good".  if bitcoins fall to a $10 or even less, you could be mining a while to see any kind of profit..... if you are predicting that the price goes back up to $30 or more then you should be able to make a profit. For only 1 card 340Mhash is good.  But as difficulty increases you will soon notice that 340 just doesnt cut it like it used to.  with prices where they are now, youre better off buying bitcoins and saving electricity.

eraziel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 10:55:02 PM
 #8

Are you experiencing any crashes while mining?
If not just stay @ the settings you are.
If you get random hangs/restarts/display driver crashes etc. just lower your gpu clock a bit.
Also, use afterburner* or whatever overclocking tool you use and lower your Mem frequency to 300Mhz, it should drop the temps a couple of degrees more...

*to get them so low with msi afterburner you'd need to unlock it, there's a thread about it on the forums, just search for "msi afterburner eula" it should pop out
SgtMunky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 05:53:11 AM
 #9

It is fine at the mo, but If I could lower it to 85% activity I'd be more happy leaving it on all day

Also, this is mainly as an experiment, there is no profit to be had as I don't pay the electricity and I built the pc months ago for other reasons than this, so this is a nice bonus if it works

Wonder how much I could look at pulling in a week
xylidya
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 06:00:19 AM
 #10

I think lowering usage would just drop the performance of mining. I'm pretty sure everyone's cards that are used for mining use 90-100%, though.
Not entirely sure.

1MtZhD6jZUkPFCSKs5BQNYkNMskxt2jxG7
SgtMunky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 10:15:30 PM
 #11

Well its been about 14 hours mining and on my pool site it say's 0.001966 BTC confirmed reward

So I assume once it hit's 1 BTC, I get a BTc in my wallet and I earn about £6 xD

Please tell me I'm wrong
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 08:44:56 PM
 #12

Well its been about 14 hours mining and on my pool site it say's 0.001966 BTC confirmed reward

So I assume once it hit's 1 BTC, I get a BTc in my wallet and I earn about £6 xD

Please tell me I'm wrong

Right, once you got 1 BTC in your wallet confirmed go to an exchange create and account, send them your 1 BTC and once confirmed then you can sell it at whatever price you deem fit. Then you can withdraw from the exchange however you want it.

All the exchanges take different percentages per transaction and deposits / withdraws are different as well per exchange.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!