Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 12:28:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ASICMiner Blade - Communication & Control Board Substitution  (Read 2610 times)
dbkeys
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200


View Profile
September 23, 2013, 06:12:14 PM
 #1

Is there information which would enable someone to replace the comm/control module, which only speaks getwork() with another unit ? Say, something programmed to understand Stratum protocol, without the need for an intermediate proxy.   Or, can the same module be re-programmed ( I believe it's a 18x serier Microchip PIC processor) ?
1511483323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483323
Reply with quote  #2

1511483323
Report to moderator
1511483323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483323
Reply with quote  #2

1511483323
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511483323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483323
Reply with quote  #2

1511483323
Report to moderator
1511483323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483323
Reply with quote  #2

1511483323
Report to moderator
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 620


View Profile
September 23, 2013, 07:32:49 PM
 #2

The module can be reprogrammed (there's a PICKIT header on the controller PCB).  It just can't be read (code protect bit is set).  If someone wanted to write something from scratch, I suppose they could.  That sounds like a lot of unnecessary work though compared to just running a stratum proxy.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
dbkeys
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200


View Profile
September 24, 2013, 06:54:06 PM
 #3

The module can be reprogrammed (there's a PICKIT header on the controller PCB).  It just can't be read (code protect bit is set).  If someone wanted to write something from scratch, I suppose they could.  That sounds like a lot of unnecessary work though compared to just running a stratum proxy.

Would ASICMiner release the code ? What it's doing is not like a trade secret, it's calculating hashes .... open sourcing it could breathe some measure of life into these blades.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!