Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:34:39 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HD6xxx memory underclocking to 300mhz possible?  (Read 1168 times)
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 01:31:58 AM
 #1

i have a HD6570 and i get almost 100mhash/s out of it after overclocking. however when i set the memory clocks to like 200-300mhz, the memory settings don't "stick" and just reverts back. i had this same experience with the 6950 i use to have. is this one of the characteristics of the HD6000 series? or am i doing something wrong?

1481207679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207679
Reply with quote  #2

1481207679
Report to moderator
1481207679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207679
Reply with quote  #2

1481207679
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481207679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207679
Reply with quote  #2

1481207679
Report to moderator
1481207679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207679
Reply with quote  #2

1481207679
Report to moderator
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 03:49:38 AM
 #2

every card is different even though the 58xx cards are known to run at 300mhz memory my 5870 balks at anything less than 400 and is much more stable at 500.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
xurious
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 03:03:12 AM
 #3

What are you using to underclock it?

SiaMining.com -- First PPS SiaMining Pool! 3%, VarDiff, Stratum Support
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 03:24:20 AM
 #4

i used trixx on my 5870 i would hope haploid is using that or MSI afterburner

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 04:27:29 AM
 #5

when i set the memory clocks to like 200-300mhz, the memory settings don't "stick" and just reverts back

Take with a grain of salt, I mine in linux and haven't tried any of the Windows OC tools.

My experience is that the 6xxx series cannot underclock the memory further than CPU clock minus 125mhz in software.  Attempting to do so will set the 'peaks' properly, but the card simply reverts to the default memory clock. 

I run mine at 885 GPU / 760 RAM for example, and can't push the memory clock any lower with software.

I believe a BIOS flash should allow underclocking the memory further. I attempted this but stopped after a failed attempt when I was short on time.  I set the default clocks to 885/300, it seemed to boot fine, but got immediate BSOD rebooting into to Windows.  This indicates to me that a) the flash probably worked fine, and b) ATI drivers in Windows took a dump upon seeing the weird out-of-spec clocks.  I didn't have time then (or now unfortunately) to see if the linux drivers would accept the new clocks.

Perhaps someone with experience flashing alternate clocks / voltages to 6xxx series cards can chime in?

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 06:14:37 PM
 #6

i used trixx on my 5870 i would hope haploid is using that or MSI afterburner
yes, ALL the HD5xxx cards works fine when underclocking the memory, but NONE of the 6xxx cards can get to the 300mhz memory range. i used MSI afterburner for both series

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!