Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 10:58:14 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Error opening block database  (Read 317 times)
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1302
Merit: 2262


Self-made Legendary!


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2018, 07:14:54 PM
 #21

Code:
2018-03-01 22:53:18 IO error: d:\Bitcoin\blocks\index/000419.dbtmp: Could not rename file.
2018-03-01 22:53:18 Database I/O error
Could this be a file system limitation? Which file system do you use?

I think I will abandon this on Windows and look into running a node on Linux instead as this is just way too unreliable
May I suggest installing a "Linux file system" on your external drive? Ext4 is a good default choice.

1542495494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542495494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542495494
Reply with quote  #2

1542495494
Report to moderator
1542495494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542495494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542495494
Reply with quote  #2

1542495494
Report to moderator
1542495494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542495494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542495494
Reply with quote  #2

1542495494
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542495494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542495494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542495494
Reply with quote  #2

1542495494
Report to moderator
1542495494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542495494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542495494
Reply with quote  #2

1542495494
Report to moderator
Sellingaccs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 49

Ask me for Pools, Nodes and Explorers.


View Profile
April 03, 2018, 06:39:40 AM
 #22

Code:
2018-03-01 22:53:18 IO error: d:\Bitcoin\blocks\index/000419.dbtmp: Could not rename file.
2018-03-01 22:53:18 Database I/O error
Could this be a file system limitation? Which file system do you use?

I think I will abandon this on Windows and look into running a node on Linux instead as this is just way too unreliable
May I suggest installing a "Linux file system" on your external drive? Ext4 is a good default choice.

That is a great suggestion! I'd personally recommend Minitool Partition Wizard to use for creating partition, IF you wish to create partitions via Windows OS. That tool is easy to use and very reliable. It is very similar to Gparted IMO.



However creating partitions is usually safer on GNU/Linux OS and i think that he should create the partition from installation of Xubuntu or liveCD. Xubuntu is lightweight, as it features XFCE instead of Gnome3 as DE.

themossinator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 02:18:12 PM
 #23

hey thanks for replies - I am now running on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - so far so good, blockchain syncing now but its taking quite a while, not sure why, it seemed to sync a hell of a lot faster on Windows

Anyway, my final problem (i hope) is that I cannot open port 8333, have seen suggestions that ISPs may block this port but I think its probably more something on my end

If i use one of those port checking websites it says 8333 is Open but https://bitnodes.earn.com/ says Not Reachable

does anyone know what Im missing here? I am only getting 8 active connections on my Bitcoin Core

thanks
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1302
Merit: 2262


Self-made Legendary!


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2018, 04:52:14 PM
 #24

If i use one of those port checking websites it says 8333 is Open but https://bitnodes.earn.com/ says Not Reachable

does anyone know what Im missing here?
Let's start with the obvious: did you portforward port 8333 in your modem settings to the IP address of your Ubuntu?

themossinator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 18, 2018, 04:20:57 PM
 #25

If i use one of those port checking websites it says 8333 is Open but https://bitnodes.earn.com/ says Not Reachable

does anyone know what Im missing here?
Let's start with the obvious: did you portforward port 8333 in your modem settings to the IP address of your Ubuntu?

yes
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1132



View Profile
April 18, 2018, 04:46:03 PM
 #26

If i use one of those port checking websites it says 8333 is Open but https://bitnodes.earn.com/ says Not Reachable

does anyone know what Im missing here?
Let's start with the obvious: did you portforward port 8333 in your modem settings to the IP address of your Ubuntu?

yes

Do you use a VPN or have a service that monitors your network traffic (a "physical firewall" for outbound/inbound data).

Since you're still getting connections, what does it say at the bottom? Is it still syncing or is there another error. 8 perrs seems about right.

If you're still stuck after this, I'd suggest you try and change the port to something else (22 would be my suggestion - it's usually for SSH so should be available unless your router already uses that port).

themossinator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2018, 06:08:01 PM
 #27

If i use one of those port checking websites it says 8333 is Open but https://bitnodes.earn.com/ says Not Reachable

does anyone know what Im missing here?
Let's start with the obvious: did you portforward port 8333 in your modem settings to the IP address of your Ubuntu?

yes

Do you use a VPN or have a service that monitors your network traffic (a "physical firewall" for outbound/inbound data).

Since you're still getting connections, what does it say at the bottom? Is it still syncing or is there another error. 8 perrs seems about right.

If you're still stuck after this, I'd suggest you try and change the port to something else (22 would be my suggestion - it's usually for SSH so should be available unless your router already uses that port).

says its syncing with network, only 2 active connections Sad

how to change the default port?

thanks
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1132



View Profile
April 21, 2018, 08:39:00 PM
 #28

For ALL OSes, locate the bitcoin-qt script (for microsoft windows it's bitcoin-qt.exe for linux, you can probably jsut type bitcoin-qt into the console).

FOR WINDOWS:
Open command prompt and type Path_You_Just_Found+"\bitcoin-qt.exe -port=22"

For Linux:
Open command prompt and type "bitcoin-qt -port=22".

Hopefully that should work correctly. If not, try installing TOR and forcing your packets through it.

themossinator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 07:38:04 PM
 #29

Its actually ok, when my wallet finished syncing it's working!! thanks to everyone for helping me!  Smiley
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!