Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:40:52 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Linuxcoin  (Read 1173 times)
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 07:59:48 PM
 #1

Thought I'd try linuxcoin for jollies, but after booting from a USB I get "Cannot Display This Video Mode"
I guess I have to get in and edit the xorg.conf file, but how?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480725652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725652
Reply with quote  #2

1480725652
Report to moderator
1480725652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725652
Reply with quote  #2

1480725652
Report to moderator
1480725652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725652
Reply with quote  #2

1480725652
Report to moderator
Ang3lus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 11:43:38 AM
 #2

Thought I'd try linuxcoin for jollies, but after booting from a USB I get "Cannot Display This Video Mode"
I guess I have to get in and edit the xorg.conf file, but how?

Linuxcoin is debian-based so try:
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
And configure Your X server.

If You are not in console then press CRTL+ALT+F1, probably You must provide user and pass and i don't know if Linuxcoin is providing it to the public Smiley

1F3eeYHigivgL4KXSFA3uXzzBztSHu3Z3p
StrangeLoop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:44:20 PM
 #3

If You are not in console then press CRTL+ALT+F1, probably You must provide user and pass and i don't know if Linuxcoin is providing it to the public Smiley

For a default LinuxCoin setup:

user = user
pass = live
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:04:20 AM
 #4

Thanks, but it doesn't get that far. I get a splash screen, a few boot up messages, then the error.
Anyway, I've given up on that.
KBundy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 12:20:06 AM
 #5

Hello, I am trying to get linuxcoin to work on my rig and the default user name you have here don't seem to be working, have they been changed?  Using linuxcoin-v0.2-final persistence installed on a USB drive if that helps?

Thanks,

-KBundy

- Welcome to the new free economy
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 12:28:52 AM
 #6

You guys should try BAMT.  It is actively developed (LinuxCoin has been abandoned for a while now) and makes for a really simple set-and-forget miner.  It has far better management utilities, too.

KBundy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 05:37:41 AM
 #7

Red Emerald,

I may be interested in trying it out, right now i am just using windows 7 with phoenix miner, but if this makes this either faster or easier I'm down to give it a try, do you know what thread would be best to follow?

-KBundy

- Welcome to the new free economy
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 06:24:53 AM
 #8

Well hopefully you have some linux knowledge.  If not, it's worth learning.

http://bamter.org/redmine/projects/bamt

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!