Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 09:58:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 4x5830 Rig - always 1 gpu idling after starting mining  (Read 1213 times)
cam02003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 08:25:24 PM
 #1

After I fire up phoenix on my 4gpus, 1 gpu will always stop mining and idle while the other 3 work properly.  The miner stops loading work while the other 3 miners continue load new work.
What is causing this and how can I fix it?

phoenix flags: worksize=256 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=6


Trade stocks and forex, referral: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=1236
https://nitrogensports.eu/r/48496

Bitrated user: cam02003.
1508320683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508320683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508320683
Reply with quote  #2

1508320683
Report to moderator
1508320683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508320683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508320683
Reply with quote  #2

1508320683
Report to moderator
You can see the statistics of your reports to moderators on the "Report to moderator" pages.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 10:31:06 PM
 #2

overclock less, if not overclocked increase fan speed
bigcoiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:27:52 PM
 #3

Did you fix the issue? 
What systems are you using?

I just set up a rig with 4 x 5830 on Win 7, 64bit using guiMiner and one of the GPUs won't connect to the pool.  If I stop a GPU, then I can connect the one that was not connecting.  I am using 1000W power supply.  Is that enough to run 4x 5830s?
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 635


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:57:42 PM
 #4

  I am using 1000W power supply.  Is that enough to run 4x 5830s?


I am using a 1000watt psu for 4x 5830s fine but i have a another for the cooling system 8 fans.

It should be fine to say 300watts for the mobo and 200watts for each card but that is over kill with overvolting and overclocking
300watts(mobo) +200watts x4(5830s)=1100watts

to be 100 percent safe i would lean towards the 1200watt psu to power everything.
sven
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 01:13:27 AM
 #5

if your psu isn't powerful enough you'd get crashes and/or power losses
so that can't be it if one gpu simply idles
bigcoiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 05:35:56 PM
 #6

Okay, I got them all to work.  It's not b/c of enough power.  It's b/c they are placed so close to one another it's causing some kind of short.  I have to put a plastic piece between the cards and all is working now.
cam02003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile WWW
July 21, 2011, 09:17:26 PM
 #7

My 850watt psu might be the issue. downclocked from 1000 to 960 and all 4 cards are running stable now.

Trade stocks and forex, referral: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=1236
https://nitrogensports.eu/r/48496

Bitrated user: cam02003.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!