Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:06:31 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 4x5830 Rig - always 1 gpu idling after starting mining  (Read 1142 times)
cam02003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 08:25:24 PM
 #1

After I fire up phoenix on my 4gpus, 1 gpu will always stop mining and idle while the other 3 work properly.  The miner stops loading work while the other 3 miners continue load new work.
What is causing this and how can I fix it?

phoenix flags: worksize=256 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=6


Trade stocks and forex, referral: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=1236
https://nitrogensports.eu/r/48496

Bitrated user: cam02003.
1481040391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040391
Reply with quote  #2

1481040391
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 10:31:06 PM
 #2

overclock less, if not overclocked increase fan speed
bigcoiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:27:52 PM
 #3

Did you fix the issue? 
What systems are you using?

I just set up a rig with 4 x 5830 on Win 7, 64bit using guiMiner and one of the GPUs won't connect to the pool.  If I stop a GPU, then I can connect the one that was not connecting.  I am using 1000W power supply.  Is that enough to run 4x 5830s?
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:57:42 PM
 #4

  I am using 1000W power supply.  Is that enough to run 4x 5830s?


I am using a 1000watt psu for 4x 5830s fine but i have a another for the cooling system 8 fans.

It should be fine to say 300watts for the mobo and 200watts for each card but that is over kill with overvolting and overclocking
300watts(mobo) +200watts x4(5830s)=1100watts

to be 100 percent safe i would lean towards the 1200watt psu to power everything.
sven
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 01:13:27 AM
 #5

if your psu isn't powerful enough you'd get crashes and/or power losses
so that can't be it if one gpu simply idles
bigcoiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 05:35:56 PM
 #6

Okay, I got them all to work.  It's not b/c of enough power.  It's b/c they are placed so close to one another it's causing some kind of short.  I have to put a plastic piece between the cards and all is working now.
cam02003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile WWW
July 21, 2011, 09:17:26 PM
 #7

My 850watt psu might be the issue. downclocked from 1000 to 960 and all 4 cards are running stable now.

Trade stocks and forex, referral: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=1236
https://nitrogensports.eu/r/48496

Bitrated user: cam02003.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!