Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:13:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Solo Mining help/Introduction  (Read 1115 times)
crazykid2145
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 03:33:30 AM
 #1

Hello, I am wondering if I have to set the current difficulty on GUI Miner when solo mining?  I just set it up and it works although it is finding blocks like crazy.  I am only getting 303Mhash/s and I know it is not this easy to find these blocks.  Do I have to set the difficulty manually?   Undecided  Thanks for the help!
1481055235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055235
Reply with quote  #2

1481055235
Report to moderator
1481055235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055235
Reply with quote  #2

1481055235
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481055235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055235
Reply with quote  #2

1481055235
Report to moderator
1481055235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055235
Reply with quote  #2

1481055235
Report to moderator
1481055235
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055235

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055235
Reply with quote  #2

1481055235
Report to moderator
crazykid2145
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 03:42:00 AM
 #2

I think it happened because I switched from pool to solo.  I dont think it connects to the server but just calculated anyway.  I will have to figure out how to get solo mining to work.  I tried downloading earlier GUIMiner but it didnt work either.  Any other suggestions?
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:00:07 PM
 #3

I think it happened because I switched from pool to solo.  I dont think it connects to the server but just calculated anyway.  I will have to figure out how to get solo mining to work.  I tried downloading earlier GUIMiner but it didnt work either.  Any other suggestions?


3xx Mhashs you should stick with the pool, people with rigs that do multiple Ghashs still take potentially a week or more to get a block and thats with a setup with some serious investment in the thousands of dollars.

You don't decide the difficulty, difficulty is automatically determined, read more on how bitcoins work.

If you can't get GUIMiner to work search the forums for Phoenix + Phatk or poclbm. Those are command line mining scripts.

With 3xx Mhashs please make sure you are still profitable including subtracting cost of electricity. Based on bitcoinx.com you will make: Coins per 24h at these conditions (1690906 difficulty): 0.178 BTC, so it takes you about 6 days to make 1 BTC, 1 BTC sells for 13.70 right now...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!