Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:01:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Miner  (Read 2518 times)
coolmike81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 07:15:34 AM
 #1

Removed
1481374869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374869
Reply with quote  #2

1481374869
Report to moderator
1481374869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374869
Reply with quote  #2

1481374869
Report to moderator
1481374869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374869
Reply with quote  #2

1481374869
Report to moderator
Even if you use Bitcoin through Tor, the way transactions are handled by the network makes anonymity difficult to achieve. Do not expect your transactions to be anonymous unless you really know what you're doing.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481374869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374869
Reply with quote  #2

1481374869
Report to moderator
1481374869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374869
Reply with quote  #2

1481374869
Report to moderator
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 08:28:44 AM
 #2

Lol, if I was you I hope the ambient temp is always fresh and the ceil is isolated a bit for noise, for co-workers.. And I hope for you you will don't have problems for the electricity. I think someone will have a great surprise when s/he will see the bill.
coolmike81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 08:40:53 AM
 #3

The temperature is not bad.  The hottest I have seen the GPUs get up to is 84c.  There is no noise what-so-ever.  I ran the power through the ceiling and plugged it into a storage closet across the building.  The only problem that I am having right now is that one of the cards seems to have gone out and I can't fix it without taking it down.  Also, the ceiling looks like it might cave in at some point.  I'm having a difficult time finding opportunities to work on this thing without anyone noticing.
Ryu.Hayabusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:10:16 AM
 #4

lmao, that has to be the greatest thing I've seen in awhile.  I might have to try this myself.

What is that connector on those cards laying on top called and where could you get some? 

If I was able to help you out, please consider donating.  Any amount is greatly appreciated! Smiley         
LTC LYxUfCXVHVkBv2S8H21NK6UnFnXmNaVqv6   XRP rHAYiZ3f7QGLa4qsVPjLsVEmwUQ9nSMq86
coolmike81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:15:30 AM
 #5

I have the connector on all 8 of the cards.  It is just a regular DVI to VGA adapter with resistors in them.  Why?  Well they are there to trick the computer into thinking that a monitor is plugged in.  Otherwise the cards don't show up in windows.  I use Logmein Free to remote into the computers to start / stop the servers.  They are set to turn on on power failure, so I can always restart them by unplugging them from the wall and plugging them back in.
Ryu.Hayabusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:21:23 AM
 #6

Sorry, should have been more specific.  I was referring to the PCI-E connector. 

I used to do F@H on multiple cards, so I know those dummy plugs well.  I actually found you only need 1 resistor in either B or G (never tried R) on the VGA side.

Might look into an APC remote reboot/power thing if you're not able to easily reset the power yourself.

If I was able to help you out, please consider donating.  Any amount is greatly appreciated! Smiley         
LTC LYxUfCXVHVkBv2S8H21NK6UnFnXmNaVqv6   XRP rHAYiZ3f7QGLa4qsVPjLsVEmwUQ9nSMq86
coolmike81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:26:10 AM
 #7

This is the 1x connector that I am using.  http://cgi.ebay.com/PCI-Express-Card-Extension-Cable-PCI-E-1X-Riser-Bitcoin-/260820187941?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cba183b25

Ryu.Hayabusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:32:01 AM
 #8

Thanks for the link!  Lower priced than I expected.

If I was able to help you out, please consider donating.  Any amount is greatly appreciated! Smiley         
LTC LYxUfCXVHVkBv2S8H21NK6UnFnXmNaVqv6   XRP rHAYiZ3f7QGLa4qsVPjLsVEmwUQ9nSMq86
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:58:53 AM
 #9

Crazy crazy man  Grin

cepler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:04:53 PM
 #10

1) Yer gonna get fired (Not good in these economic times)
2) Hope you don't have a surprise fire inspection by the fire marshall, he'll have a field day
3) Sweet!  :-P
4) Get some wire from Home Depot (It's about as thick as the wire a hangar is made of) and add additional support to carry the load, having that fall on someone's head is bound to get you into double trouble.
swordv2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:06:50 PM
 #11

LMAO crazy man

114dRPd3N4NtoP6KLPWEmL4zNpzTjd4iqo
ttk2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:27:01 PM
 #12

Would they fire you if they found this? As for the support issue you seem to be having why not screw some pvc pipes onto the bottom the the plywood and use them to spread the load out. Of course they would be hard to get up there, you would need to attach them once the rig was already up there, but its better than your roof collapsing.

Just in case i do something worthwhile: 12YXLzbi4hfLaUxyPswRbKW92C6h5KsVnX
coolmike81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 02:41:10 PM
 #13

1) Yer gonna get fired (Not good in these economic times)
2) Hope you don't have a surprise fire inspection by the fire marshall, he'll have a field day
3) Sweet!  :-P
4) Get some wire from Home Depot (It's about as thick as the wire a hangar is made of) and add additional support to carry the load, having that fall on someone's head is bound to get you into double trouble.

1) I hope not!!
2) I would not have put it up in the ceiling if I thought there was a chance that it could burst into flames.  If it got too hot, I would assume that it would simply shut off.  I also used a very heavy gage extension cord for that reason.
3) Thanks!
4) I was actually thinking of doing that.  I was going to screw some wire into the plywood that the computers are mounted to and attempt to suspend it from the rafters above the drop ceiling.  Although it's harder than you might expect to accomplish all of this with the small amount of access space I have.
bitcoinukguide
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 02:46:15 PM
 #14

haha, brilliant. Reduces your outlay for electricity!

You should water cool it - silent and efficient..
bigb159
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 02:50:20 PM
 #15

You're nuts. I'm jealous.

Trade your Litecoin, Namecoin, Terracoin, Devcoin and IXcoin for Bitcoin: Vircurex
JuanPabloCuervo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 04:11:20 PM
 #16


pcie x1 riser?
i dont get it.
why not x16 riser?

where do you live?
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 04:23:55 PM
 #17

lol DROP CEILING when it falls on someone just be like
"BITCH YOU JUST GOT DROPPED BY BITCOINS"

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 04:28:51 PM
 #18


You dont get it because you dont understand how mining works, You only need pci-e x1 slots. It' is completetly uneccessary to use Pci-eX16 slots

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
xaxik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:53:13 PM
 #19

http://dibbz.net/pictures/

8x Sapphire Radeon 5830

Oh, these power hungry 5830s.
The geeky "will work for bandwidth" should be "will work for kilowatthours" nowadays...  Grin



hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 07:06:52 PM
 #20

Great BTC miner, but is a bit of a fire hazard dont you think?
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!