Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2024, 02:19:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] g++: internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus)  (Read 62730 times)
vual (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 29, 2013, 04:16:32 AM
Last edit: September 29, 2013, 06:11:51 AM by vual
 #1

SOLVED: Not enough ram, make sure to run the command "free -m" and check your ram, turns our 256 isnt enough even with all the swap space in the world.

Hi guys ,

I have tried everything, swap space fix, building dependencys from scratch, ... reinstalling os.. everything.
Anyway i keep getting this error:


http://pastebin.com/w14BVNAL

g++: internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus)
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <file:///usr/share/doc/gcc-4.7/README.Bugs> for instructions.
make: *** [obj/alert.o] Error 4


All dependencys are fine, its just this strange error im getting, i tried to check dmsg and there was no info about running out of memory and i tried to give it 1g of swapspace before build.. still same error.

I offer a 0.1BTC bounty to any linux wizard that can jump on my home windows box via team-view and use my ssh connection threw that to get it to compile.

Bounty's on the table,
MSG me if you are interested.
-Scott
1714313985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714313985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714313985
Reply with quote  #2

1714313985
Report to moderator
1714313985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714313985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714313985
Reply with quote  #2

1714313985
Report to moderator
You get merit points when someone likes your post enough to give you some. And for every 2 merit points you receive, you can send 1 merit point to someone else!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714313985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714313985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714313985
Reply with quote  #2

1714313985
Report to moderator
GoldenWings91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 29, 2013, 04:36:14 AM
 #2

Sounds as if your out of memory try adding even more swap space.

Support The Bitcoin Network By Running A Full Node
Node Stats     GPG Key-ID: 0x445DF2D8     Monetary Freedom Is A Basic Human Right
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1012


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2013, 04:42:40 AM
 #3

I agree with GoldenWings91. How much swap space and memory do you have? Make sure you're only compiling one file at a time. You can watch with 'top' as it compiles. See how many compilers it's starting and how big the RSS of the compiler process gets. Determine, for sure, whether it's virtual memory exhaustion or not.

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
vual (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 29, 2013, 06:01:53 AM
 #4

I tried adding a extra 1g swap space, still had problems.
I just bought some more ram.... ill keep you posted.
vual (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 29, 2013, 06:10:44 AM
 #5

OK solved i build on a 4g ram system no worrys, turns out 256 is to low Wink
For others stuck here, make sure you do a "free -m" and see how much ram you have.
twistedtrick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 09:04:10 PM
 #6

Currently having this issue as well - going to try and boost my RAM and see if it solves the issue. Thank you for the topic/solution!
headsex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 04:39:39 AM
 #7

turns out 512mb of ram is not enough either Cheesy, you need 1gb ram

GoldSeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 06:20:18 AM
Merited by JimmyCoin (1)
 #8

I had the same problem ona  digital ocean $5 VPS. Couldn't compile a client to save my life. The fix was to do the following:

Code:
free
dd if=/dev/zero of=/var/swap.img bs=1024k count=1000
mkswap /var/swap.img
swapon /var/swap.img
free
make -f makefile.unix

Regardless of what the first poster said. Swap will overcome this problem.

Moving to Puerto Rico...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!