Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2018, 05:26:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: easyminer vs BFGminer hashing variation with BFL little single  (Read 2284 times)
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 01, 2013, 12:07:04 AM
 #1

Hey everybody!

I'm running a BFL little single that runs at about 30gh/s. I'm running through Eclipse MC and am getting strange variations when I use bfgminer vs easyminer.

In easyminer, I'm averaging 33gh/s on the pool side, 30.5gh/s on the miner side.
In bfgminer, I'm getting about 28.5gh/s at the pool and about the same on the miner.

I realize that I'm likely getting a max of 30.5gh/s but I'm wondering why there's a 2gh/s difference in bfgminer vs easyminer.

Any suggestions?
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544549205
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544549205

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544549205
Reply with quote  #2

1544549205
Report to moderator
1544549205
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544549205

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544549205
Reply with quote  #2

1544549205
Report to moderator
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
October 01, 2013, 01:03:49 PM
 #2

Probably not since Easyminer really is just a pretty GUI interface that runs BFG in the background.  As for the pool side, thats just an estimate on your hashrate depending on the amount of shares you submit during a snapshot time period (usually like 15 minutes). So if you turn out some lucky shares/solve some higher difficulty shares/the pool isnt reporting shares and needs to catch up then that can be affected (I have had my Jalapeno clock in at nearly 20GH before because the pool took a while to record all of my shares that when it did it seemed as though I was hashing at a much higher rate).

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 01, 2013, 07:27:13 PM
 #3

I think it's more than that though. When I run the same pool on easyminer, it shows a relatively steady 30.4gh/s and the pool reflects that. When I run the same pool in bfgminer, it shows as being all over. The last time I ran it it was showing 25gh/s. The pool was showing 29.3 or something. Still, there's a large difference and I'm not sure how to optimize bfgminer.
TR4L
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10



View Profile
October 12, 2013, 04:02:16 AM
 #4

Probably not since Easyminer really is just a pretty GUI interface that runs BFG in the background.  As for the pool side, thats just an estimate on your hashrate depending on the amount of shares you submit during a snapshot time period (usually like 15 minutes). So if you turn out some lucky shares/solve some higher difficulty shares/the pool isnt reporting shares and needs to catch up then that can be affected (I have had my Jalapeno clock in at nearly 20GH before because the pool took a while to record all of my shares that when it did it seemed as though I was hashing at a much higher rate).

Dude, totally unrelated but:  I LOVE your profile pick.  Akuma is awesome.  Done...
ly2xxx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2014, 04:10:50 PM
 #5

I am seeing the same problem too, and wondering if someone has found the answer why the ASIC miner achieves higher rate in Easyminer than BFGminer?
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
February 17, 2014, 04:13:38 PM
 #6

Have you tried putting your unit in the freezer for 15 minutes before firing up BFGMiner? Sometimes different numbers of chips can come up, that might be it.

C
ly2xxx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2014, 04:31:14 PM
 #7

Are you serious about putting it in freezer? Tongue
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
February 17, 2014, 04:44:18 PM
 #8

Yes. But I don't know why. Cooling the unit can sometimes cause more engines to come online, likewise power cycling a hot unit can cause chips to come up again at slightly lower speeds.

Ergo, 15 mins in the freezer if things are odd. This fixes a lot of types of hw stuff.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!