Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 05:54:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question on coin frequency.  (Read 1262 times)
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
January 31, 2011, 12:09:17 AM
 #1

I'm running my 5970, and the first 2 days I ran it I netted 200 coins.
The last day I got a coin was the 25th. I'm using the Python miner (newest version.)

I've been doing 530khash/s at least for several days now and this seems longer than I would expect and longer than the calculator would suggest on avg.

Just wondering if the difficulty has gone up or if there is anything I should check.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
1480787695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787695
Reply with quote  #2

1480787695
Report to moderator
1480787695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787695
Reply with quote  #2

1480787695
Report to moderator
1480787695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787695
Reply with quote  #2

1480787695
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480787695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787695
Reply with quote  #2

1480787695
Report to moderator
1480787695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787695
Reply with quote  #2

1480787695
Report to moderator
1480787695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787695
Reply with quote  #2

1480787695
Report to moderator
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2011, 12:24:11 AM
 #2

I've been doing 530khash/s at least for several days now and this seems longer than I would expect and longer than the calculator would suggest on avg.

Just wondering if the difficulty has gone up or if there is anything I should check.

The difficulty is 22012 since Januari 27th. At that difficulty and hash speed, the chance of not finding a block in 5 days, is almost 8.9%. So you've had bad luck, but it's far from impossible.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
February 06, 2011, 09:28:54 PM
 #3

I'm really wondering what's going on... can anyone review with me what I might try?

I'm using the python opencl miner with a combined 630khash/s. I seem to find blocks in 2 chunks at once but the last time this happened was JUST after I made this post on the 31st...

It's now the 6th, I've been running almost 24/7 and haven't found anything else

I thought the low end of the spectrum was supposed to be in the 5+ day range?

If I have to reboot my computer from time to time or shut down for a few minutes in testing, am I chancing "missing" finds?

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
February 06, 2011, 09:42:50 PM
 #4

My 5970 + 5770 setup hasn't generated a block since the 2nd, so it isn't just you.

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
February 06, 2011, 10:48:09 PM
 #5

My 5970 + 5770 setup hasn't generated a block since the 2nd, so it isn't just you.

Man there must be some invisible wizard controlling this because I just generated a block...I guess if you complain enough on the forums the wizard grants you your wish!

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
February 06, 2011, 11:55:32 PM
 #6

If I logout or reboot do I basically lose the accumulated work up till that point?

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
February 07, 2011, 12:15:51 AM
 #7

There is no accumulated work - every second you're running X amount of hashes, if one of them matches then you have found a block, otherwise you just keep looking.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!