Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2017, 11:09:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone ever try SPARC procs for mining ?  (Read 3560 times)
Sideways
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 12:52:07 AM
 #1

Out of pure curiosity, has anyone tried some old sun sparc procs and mining ? Even though Sun is dead (god rest her soul, don't bother to try to tel me otherwise Wink I know there's lots of boxes still hiding in datacenters and basements.. so has anyone thrown a miner on one just to see the mash rate? The whole sparc arch is a risc processor, so it does work differently than x86 chips.. just wonder how they stacked up to today's intel procs.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495537785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495537785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495537785
Reply with quote  #2

1495537785
Report to moderator
1495537785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495537785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495537785
Reply with quote  #2

1495537785
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:01:34 AM
 #2

Related:
 - http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28924.0

Darka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
July 24, 2011, 02:36:27 PM
 #3

cpuminer work fine on sun4v

ИМХО самая удобная биржа - http://goo.gl/2zUkIO
Децентрализованной валюте, децентрализованную сеть - http://cjdns.ru
LTC пул 0% - http://ltc.pool.om.gs
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 02:44:43 PM
 #4

cpuminer work fine on sun4v

But how effective is it?

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Darka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
July 24, 2011, 03:57:22 PM
 #5

About 40Kh per virtual core on Niagara. I think non CoolThreads CPU working faster.

ИМХО самая удобная биржа - http://goo.gl/2zUkIO
Децентрализованной валюте, децентрализованную сеть - http://cjdns.ru
LTC пул 0% - http://ltc.pool.om.gs
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 04:20:23 PM
 #6

40 kh? per core? ouch intel atom will outrun that i get ~2mh total on an old atom 330(the system is on 24/7 anyway i figured it was better than not getting the extra 2mh)

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Darka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
July 24, 2011, 04:27:36 PM
 #7

I think is problem of T1 design, it's only have one FPU for all cores. I think regular UltraSPARC is faster then your x86 CPU on equal MHz.

ИМХО самая удобная биржа - http://goo.gl/2zUkIO
Децентрализованной валюте, децентрализованную сеть - http://cjdns.ru
LTC пул 0% - http://ltc.pool.om.gs
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!