Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:30:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone ever try SPARC procs for mining ?  (Read 3343 times)
Sideways
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 12:52:07 AM
 #1

Out of pure curiosity, has anyone tried some old sun sparc procs and mining ? Even though Sun is dead (god rest her soul, don't bother to try to tel me otherwise Wink I know there's lots of boxes still hiding in datacenters and basements.. so has anyone thrown a miner on one just to see the mash rate? The whole sparc arch is a risc processor, so it does work differently than x86 chips.. just wonder how they stacked up to today's intel procs.
1481326217
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326217

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326217
Reply with quote  #2

1481326217
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481326217
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326217

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326217
Reply with quote  #2

1481326217
Report to moderator
1481326217
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326217

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326217
Reply with quote  #2

1481326217
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:01:34 AM
 #2

Related:
 - http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28924.0

Darka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
July 24, 2011, 02:36:27 PM
 #3

cpuminer work fine on sun4v

ИМХО самая удобная биржа - http://goo.gl/2zUkIO
Децентрализованной валюте, децентрализованную сеть - http://cjdns.ru
LTC пул 0% - http://ltc.pool.om.gs
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 02:44:43 PM
 #4

cpuminer work fine on sun4v

But how effective is it?

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Darka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
July 24, 2011, 03:57:22 PM
 #5

About 40Kh per virtual core on Niagara. I think non CoolThreads CPU working faster.

ИМХО самая удобная биржа - http://goo.gl/2zUkIO
Децентрализованной валюте, децентрализованную сеть - http://cjdns.ru
LTC пул 0% - http://ltc.pool.om.gs
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 04:20:23 PM
 #6

40 kh? per core? ouch intel atom will outrun that i get ~2mh total on an old atom 330(the system is on 24/7 anyway i figured it was better than not getting the extra 2mh)

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Darka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
July 24, 2011, 04:27:36 PM
 #7

I think is problem of T1 design, it's only have one FPU for all cores. I think regular UltraSPARC is faster then your x86 CPU on equal MHz.

ИМХО самая удобная биржа - http://goo.gl/2zUkIO
Децентрализованной валюте, децентрализованную сеть - http://cjdns.ru
LTC пул 0% - http://ltc.pool.om.gs
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!